We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Resort”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stopped by Stonewall on the way to Pittsburgh for Easter with family. Played golf, a must play course if you can. Palmer course is a great golfing experience, beautiful vistas and we had a sunny, 60 degree day to boot.

Happy hour at Muskies and breakfast at Stillwaters. This is a must stay for me 2-3 times a year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great "upscale/lowkey" resort that is a delightful discovery among the interstate hotels on a long trip. It's an affordable Grove Park Inn--lovely setting, great place for family retreat. We stay there every chance we get and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stonewall resort is a very nice place to get away for the weekend. I love the indoor pool for the cold months and in the summer there are a lot of outdoor activities. TJ Muskies is a small bar/café but the food and service is great. Stillwaters makes for a very nice dining experience and the Breakfast buffet is delicious.

Room Tip: King rooms have loads of space and the couch is great for extra seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at Stonewall Jackson Resort for two nights last week for a state math teachers' conference. The room was your average hotel room, but the bathroom was quite spacious, which was nice. We got room service for breakfast, and the food portion was huge. I needed a map of the hotel and the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. The lobby and the surroundings of the hotel are gorgeous... I plan to return to this conference and this hotel in the future!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank FHSmathteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Friendly, capable, efficient staff ... beautiful surroundings ... quiet rooms ... great food ... conference area is exceptional. Stonewall Resort offers a truly relaxing experience even when you're there for business. I have only been there for work related experiences, but very much want to go purely for pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I took are daughters who are freshmen in college home on spring break to the resort for a girls SPA over night. We lucked out and had 60 degree weather in March! We took advantage of all the resort offered in off season months. I recommend getting a map to help locate trail heads we did walk the golf course and spotted lots of wildlife. We spent the afternoon on the out door seating area and enjoyed the beautiful lake views. We Loved the out door pool and hot tube espically the hot tube after the sun went down. The room was spacious ( we had 4 in our room) and comfortable. The burgers at TJ Muskies are great and the breakfast buffet was more the wonderful.
Before we left we went to Mt Laurel SPA and I highly recommend the body scrub and moisturizer service. I wish the SPA had a quiet sitting area with in the SPA to relax a but after your service had to wait in their lobby until my friend was finished. Take advantage of the sauna and steam room before your SPA service as it is downstairs from the massage room. This may become our annual Mom's get away as well
What a wonderful place

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkcimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from another wonderful Culinary Weekend at Stonewall. Dine around Friday night was wonderful!!!! Classes on Saturday ...educational and interesting ( great wines). Dinner Saturday night..exceptional!!!! Outstanding gift baskets!! Already signed up for next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
147 reviews
19.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
312 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
447 reviews
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: £114 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Ebookers so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke
Stonewall Resort West Virginia/Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing