We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonewall Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Weston)(Great Value!)
US$76
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centennial Motel(Buckhannon)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bridgeport)
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
650
389
156
68
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
650
389
156
68
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursefire pittj muskiespaddle boatsarnold palmeroutdoor activitiesbeautiful lakebreakfast buffethiking trailswest virginiastate parkthe cottagesactivity centerhot tubgift shoprelaxing weekendspa services
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at Stonewall Resort. I was a little nervous based on some of the previous reviews but my husband and I both found it to be a great place. Rooms are spacious, and so is the bathroom. Very clean. Staff is very friendly. We went with the breakfast buffet and found it really great. Scrambled eggs, omelet, frittata, bisquits and sausage gravy, fresh fruit, bacon, pancakes, pastries, and really great homemade granola. The resort includes a lot of activities too. We hung out one afternoon at the pool. Tried the paddle boards, bicycles, gym, and the complimentary evening boat ride on the lake. Lightburns restaurant has amazing views. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: The windows on ground floor rooms on one side of the hotel overlook a walking path. Might have been a little better on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The grounds are very nice. Lake, golf course, trails etc are what make this place great.
The food and servers are good. The room walls are to thin. You can hear people peeing in the bathroom on the floor above you. Management is very helpful if there are any issues. Lots of kids running around with no supervision, I mean parents not caring what they do, not resorts fault. Having a boat or skis is a bonus. If you try it, II think you'll like it!

Room Tip: take top floor so you don't hear people above you
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creteowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Our visit to stonewall State Park Resort was overall very nice. The park the lake the resort and golf course were all beautiful. The expression Almost Heaven West Virginia certainly applies to the Stonewall area.
Check in was easy, the bell service was outstanding especially a gentleman by the name of William. We had an occasion to eat in all three dining facilities. The night of arrival we ate in the bar it was extremely noisy food was very good the wait staff was cordial but inefficient
The next day we ate on the hill at the golf complex for lunch. The food was again very good outstanding view but the wait staff once again inefficient
That evening we ate in the main dining room unfortunately this experience fell way short in our opinion. The wait staff was slow and the place was not busy. Our waitress was cordial but by the time we got our food it was served to us cold
That evening around the fire pit roasting smores was just extremely pleasant. There was entertainment also.
The next morning sunday check out went very smoothly again I cannot say enough good about the Bell service and front desk staff excellent. In fact the entire housekeeping staff was pleasant and always asking if there was anything we needed as we traveled around the hotel.
I took the opportunity to get a cup of coffee at the coffee shop for the road this experience was bad. The coffee was good but the young lady was totally self consumed and gave the impression she could care less about who she was taking care of
All in all we will go back I hope the resort takes the opportunity for some coaching of their food service staff it is a beautiful place

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SkinnyMoneyDupree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It is a beautiful property with a variety of enjoyable options. The rooms are very nice. The front desk managers were exceptionally kind and helpful. The Muskies food was very good even though it took a bit to find the host. Price for breakfast buffet at Stillwaters was too high for quality and offerings (no waffles). Some of the younger staff seemed apathetic and unknowledgeable at times. Walls, especially bathroom, seemed paper thin. Lobby way too cold! Also some parts of the trails were overgrown by nearly 3ft. tall weeds. I would not have thought $200+ per night including resort fees would have been worth the price, but our discounted rate made our stay worth the money. Overall, one of the best resorts I have visited. Great care has obviously been taken to train staff and make the property as clean, inviting, and manicured as possible. Tour boat captain and general manager gets A+ for going above and beyond.

Room Tip: Wait for 50% weekday deals
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bessie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just back from five days at Stonewall Resort. My husband said he'd like to go back. We felt as though it was a good deal with all the activities and the package with breakfast included. The
setting is beautiful. WeI'd recommend!

Room Tip: The third floor is a great choice. Relatively quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyndyinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews