We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activities”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We recently decided to take a day trip to Stonewall Resort. Checking on the resort website it mentioned a boat that was free to guests staying at the lodge. Our plan for the day was to eat at the restaurant, take a walk on some trails and then the boat ride on the lake. However, when we tried to board the boat we were informed that it was for guests staying at the hotel only. We were very willing to wait to see if the guests filled the boat and if not then pay a fee to ride. There was PLENTY of room for the afternoon boat ride and yet we still couldn't ride. Warning to all - the many activities listed at the resort are for guests staying at the resort only!!! We think others making it a day trip destination would pay a fee to ride if room available so maybe the resort should consider it rather than taking the boat out half full.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from 2 night stay at Stonewall resort in mountains of WV, right off of Interstate 79. Resort offers many amenities including boat rentals, kayaks, fishing, etc. There is also a nightly sightseeing cruise. Lake was quiet and relaxing. Kids could be better supervised around pool area, but that's parents issues, not resort. Food at restaurants was OK. I wouldn't call it gourmet. Beautiful views from Lightburn's restaurant at golf course. Lots of activiites for kids and families. We had an ADA room with lots of space. Was very clean with nice view of the lake and pool. Room on third floor was quiet. Staff at the resort couldn't do enough for you. Bell hops were great! Overall, nice quiet and relaxing stay for a few days. Next time we will try the spa and maybe a girls weekend. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachtyme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem located right off of 79 in West Virginia. It's a short drive from Pittsburgh but you feel far away from home and work. I've stayed here several times before but this was the first trip with my small kids. We had a wonderful time! The resort is beautiful and the staff work hard to make your experience memorable. There is so much to do. We had drinks by the pool, enjoyed a boat ride, a cooking demonstration and wine tasting by the lake, the kids loved the movie night, along with many more activities. One of my favorite parts about Stonewall, is when you pay to stay, you are allowed to use their paddle boats, kayaks, canoes, bikes, etc without extra charge. It's a great way to try many different activities and you don't feel like you have to canoe for two hours just to get your money's worth. The spa was also wonderful. My mother-in-law and I enjoyed a massage. It was a little pricey but seemed right on par for resort spa prices. The service was great. The rooms were very nice and seemed to be up to date. There is way too much to list. You must go and try this for yourself! I would give five stars; however, I was slightly disappointed in the lack of vegetarian food choices. The buffet meals were great, but the other two restaurants could've had more to offer. When you go to stonewall, enjoy ALL of it's amenities and don't miss out on the s'mores and music by the campfire.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cwelshonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at Stonewall Resort. I was a little nervous based on some of the previous reviews but my husband and I both found it to be a great place. Rooms are spacious, and so is the bathroom. Very clean. Staff is very friendly. We went with the breakfast buffet and found it really great. Scrambled eggs, omelet, frittata, bisquits and sausage gravy, fresh fruit, bacon, pancakes, pastries, and really great homemade granola. The resort includes a lot of activities too. We hung out one afternoon at the pool. Tried the paddle boards, bicycles, gym, and the complimentary evening boat ride on the lake. Lightburns restaurant has amazing views. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: The windows on ground floor rooms on one side of the hotel overlook a walking path. Might have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The grounds are very nice. Lake, golf course, trails etc are what make this place great.
The food and servers are good. The room walls are to thin. You can hear people peeing in the bathroom on the floor above you. Management is very helpful if there are any issues. Lots of kids running around with no supervision, I mean parents not caring what they do, not resorts fault. Having a boat or skis is a bonus. If you try it, II think you'll like it!

Room Tip: take top floor so you don't hear people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creteowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Our visit to stonewall State Park Resort was overall very nice. The park the lake the resort and golf course were all beautiful. The expression Almost Heaven West Virginia certainly applies to the Stonewall area.
Check in was easy, the bell service was outstanding especially a gentleman by the name of William. We had an occasion to eat in all three dining facilities. The night of arrival we ate in the bar it was extremely noisy food was very good the wait staff was cordial but inefficient
The next day we ate on the hill at the golf complex for lunch. The food was again very good outstanding view but the wait staff once again inefficient
That evening we ate in the main dining room unfortunately this experience fell way short in our opinion. The wait staff was slow and the place was not busy. Our waitress was cordial but by the time we got our food it was served to us cold
That evening around the fire pit roasting smores was just extremely pleasant. There was entertainment also.
The next morning sunday check out went very smoothly again I cannot say enough good about the Bell service and front desk staff excellent. In fact the entire housekeeping staff was pleasant and always asking if there was anything we needed as we traveled around the hotel.
I took the opportunity to get a cup of coffee at the coffee shop for the road this experience was bad. The coffee was good but the young lady was totally self consumed and gave the impression she could care less about who she was taking care of
All in all we will go back I hope the resort takes the opportunity for some coaching of their food service staff it is a beautiful place

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SkinnyMoneyDupree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It is a beautiful property with a variety of enjoyable options. The rooms are very nice. The front desk managers were exceptionally kind and helpful. The Muskies food was very good even though it took a bit to find the host. Price for breakfast buffet at Stillwaters was too high for quality and offerings (no waffles). Some of the younger staff seemed apathetic and unknowledgeable at times. Walls, especially bathroom, seemed paper thin. Lobby way too cold! Also some parts of the trails were overgrown by nearly 3ft. tall weeds. I would not have thought $200+ per night including resort fees would have been worth the price, but our discounted rate made our stay worth the money. Overall, one of the best resorts I have visited. Great care has obviously been taken to train staff and make the property as clean, inviting, and manicured as possible. Tour boat captain and general manager gets A+ for going above and beyond.

Room Tip: Wait for 50% weekday deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bessie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
19.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
24.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Buckhannon
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
154 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: £92 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke
Stonewall Resort West Virginia/Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing