We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and funky and non-generic motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seneca Rocks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yokum's Vacationland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca Rocks
washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and funky and non-generic motel”
Reviewed 6 October 2008

yokum's has a wide variety of accomodations, so you need to read all these reviews to get the mix! i stayed at the old motel down the road from the central command, and it certainly was not generic! It was a mix of good and poor, so it depends on your needs whether you loke it or not-- my friend and i actually ended up liking it, but we had low expectations! Some good things--the price $45 was very affordable, the checkin and checkout was a breeze, the location near seneca rocks and lots to see and do was excellent, and the pepole who run it are characterful and opinionated and make you feel far away from generic america! But there were poor things too--that low price does show up in the funky quality of the room and its furnishings, so don't stay here if you expect modern motel standards, and while the location is great you do hear the cars zooming by on the road in front. But if you can take a funky place with low prices and local aura, then i recommend it. We did have breakfast there, which was ok, with lots of local chatter!? the manager was friendly and very casual, with some great advice and some terrible advice!? Finally, the location near the rocks, the old store, the front porch restaurant, the new coffee shop, all in seneca rocks, combined with the loacal feel, makes you feel far away from ordinaryland.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some ragged linens
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    16
    9
    34
See reviews for
29
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at Yokum's during Labor Day Weekend to do some local hiking and a caving trip (recommend http://wildguyde.com).

The cabins were already booked, and I wasn't very confident in the motel rooms, so my girlfriend and I decided to stay at their campground, although the other couple we went with stayed at a motel room. Good decision.

The other couple had a bad experience in the cheap motel rooms ($40-45). It was in dire need of renovation. The comforter was ripped and threadbare, the water would sporatically turn burning hot (making a shower very uncomfortable, combined with the weak shower pressure), and the room smelled like cigarette smoke and overpowering air freshener. One of them ended up sleeping in the car. The 2nd night they moved to the new motel rooms above the general store, and they were fine with it, indicating it was a standard motel room.

We stayed at the campground behind the main reception building. It was rather large and alongside a pleasant creek. Even though it was Labor Day weekend, it did not feel overcrowded. The bathhouse was above average, with rather private shower stalls and hot water. There were plenty of fire pits, and someone regularly drove around selling firewood. We were near a large party of young adults the first night, and they were a bit loud rather late (after midnight?), which made a less than great sleep, but that's a risk you take with camping, and they were gone the second night.

The location was great, near Seneca Rocks, a good restaurant (Front Porch), and a convenient Yokom's General Store.

  • Liked — Spacious campground, good location
  • Disliked — Avoid older motel rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The cabin was new and nice (workmanship had a little to be desired). If you are renting it for the hot tub, ask them to change the water or at least make sure the water is clear. The water in the hot tub was too cloudy for us. We stayed in the new cabin #3 - it is the most private. We enjoyed our horse trail to the top of Seneca. You don't have to have any experience with horses to do this - the horses were wonderful. The service was friendly. There were just two of us, so if we go back, we'll stay somewhere else. If we go back with a group of people, we would stay here again (if the hot tub is clear!).

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — cloudy water in hot tub
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HollysGotSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We were in WV for the Chriatian Sport Bike Assocation National Rally. After our orginal accomodations were forced to be cancelled by Smoke Hole Caverns/Lodge (DON'T STAY THERE!), we found Yokum's Vacation Land just down the road. Yokums has serval motel/cabin and camping options. We originally were going to stay in the older motel but after seeing the room decided not to. It smelled of cig smoke and was swormed with flies. We then checked out a cabin and it was GREAT! The newer motel at the store is supposed to be good also. The store/restaurant and gas station are all nice and the people couldn't be any more friendly or helpful. This is a nice place to stay, espicially if you want to be in Seneca Rocks area and not have to travel in, it's about an hour in either direction to name brand lodging.

  • Liked — Rustic Cabin
  • Disliked — Hot tub didn't work.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floppyhat996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This July we wanted to hike Seneca Rocks and the Potomac Highlands together with our dog, so our choice for lodging was a bit limited. The Yokum's cabin sounded great and I felt on the safe side when I heard they cost $130/night. I thought it couldn't be too bad if they charge over $100. Wrong idea.

We arrived Friday afternoon after having driven past the Smokey Hole Log Cabins which looked very pretty.... Yokum's Vacationland is a property between the highway and the river which lays deep in his bed, so no running around for younger kids, I would guess. They have a little indoor pool similar to the ones you find in cheaper motels, just to mention that.

The cabins itself are semiattached and close to the river (down there, no view). The one we could have used was #22 - dark, old, smelling like the inside of a fireplace. I entered the place and was deeply dissapointed, but up to give the stay a change by checking the beds. Unfortunately, the linens were a least dusty and when I got the pillow out of the grey-green pillowcase, it looked very old to me, unwashed for a long time of its live, mostly a yellowish brown color.... I couldn't sleep in this place so we cancelled the reservation. My husband offered to drive an hour back to the next Walmart and buy new linens (and we better had....). So we had to go back to Winchester just to find a place who would take us and the dog for a night. The cabins we passed were booked or, like the Smokey Hole Cabin, only accept pets to a kind of hunter's cabin, very moldy with a freezer like an oversized coffin.

On Saturday we had better luck with finding a very clean place for $35/night in Mt.Storm - a place not keen on taking dogs and allowing them only to one of the five rooms. I have to admit that I would have never booked this $35-room, guessing the worst. But it turned out to be a neat place, close to lots of State Parks, the heated lake, Thomas etc.

Bottom line: I would only reccommend Yokum's Vacationland for horseback riding.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sannador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davisville,Wv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We reserved by phone a 2 night stay in what sounded to be a very nice cabin w/ indoor pool facilty within a mile. An indoor heated pool was a must because we had a small child who loved to swim. We had asked alot of questions about the area and the facility before we arrived and the pool was described as "very nice" , so we decided that this stay in our own cabin would be perfect !! It was the dead of winter---20 degrees outside--we went to the office to check-in and were horrified that the pool was half drained and green---needless to say it hadnt been in any working order for a very very long time. ( we were told the week before it was beautiful). When I asked about it the lady said that it was only open during the summer ! (Not what I was told about the HEATED indoor pool on each call I made to them.) We complained, but paid for our room in cash and headed down the road about half a mile to our cabin. It was absolutely wonderful, everything we had hoped for inside and out, BUT it was also about 20 degrees inside when we walked in !!! Nice fireplace BUT NO FIREWOOD ! The jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom was also very nice, but stained horribly with a dark brown cast over the entire inside of it. The kitchen was nice thank goodness because we had to use the oven on 500 degrees for the first 5 or 6 hours to heat the place up. The small propane wall unit had been SHUT OFF and hadnt been on in days ! No phone---so we had to get back in the car and drive to the office to complain about no heat. They said they would give us firewood for free to heat the place up , but that during the rest of our stay----WE WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR IT ! I complained about the jacuzzi---they blamed it on "dark mountain" water stains. Not true----the water in the other places we have stayed in this area is fresh water---NOT DARK OR DIRTY !! We were also told that satelite TV was offered in each cabin, but we had 4 channels all of which were FUZZY. I was told that they were having problems with the service. I now know why this place was so easy to get reservations at----during the winter they are extremely hard to come by due to the ski resorts nearby---NO ONE WANTED TO STAY THERE !!! By the way, the jacuzzi came clean FOR ME and looked brand new when we left !! Of all the issues we had and others that I dont have the space to mention, we were given the state tax back on each night of our stay...which totalled $25. Absolutely poor business and alot of talk about a place that just wasnt all that ! The cabin was nice and would be nice for along time to come if taken care of . I realize that the elderly couple who own this place are only trying to make a living, but lieing about your establishment in order to drum up business of people who are traveling there from out of town JUST ISNT MORAL !! I would be embarrassed to recommend this place to anyone I know !

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank tarakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 August 2004

the cabin we stayed in was great .very beautiful,great fishing close to the most popular ,and beautiful sites in wv. its well worth the low prices we paid .great place to take family. would be great for family gatherings or even a cozy little honeymoon. had a great time vic and vickie

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seneca Rocks
13.4 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
23.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkins
Hampton Inn Elkins
#1 of 8 in Elkins
542 reviews
24.4 mi away
Isaac Jackson Hotel
Isaac Jackson Hotel
#2 of 8 in Elkins
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
53 reviews
15.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
81 reviews
19.4 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yokum's Vacationland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yokum's Vacationland

Property: Yokum's Vacationland
Address: Hc 59, Box 3, Seneca Rocks, WV 26884
Region: United States > West Virginia > Seneca Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Seneca Rocks
Number of rooms: 316
Also Known As:
Yokum`s Vacationland Hotel Seneca Rocks
Yokums Vacationland Seneca Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing