We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yokum's Vacationland
Nearby Hotels
Canaan Valley Resort(Davis)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Motel(Petersburg)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Elkins(Elkins)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
10
14
16
11
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
16
11
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewcanaan valleyrock climbingporchrentingopportunitiessouvenirs
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2008

yokum's has a wide variety of accomodations, so you need to read all these reviews to get the mix! i stayed at the old motel down the road from the central command, and it certainly was not generic! It was a mix of good and poor, so it depends on your needs whether you loke it or not-- my friend and i actually ended up liking it, but we had low expectations! Some good things--the price $45 was very affordable, the checkin and checkout was a breeze, the location near seneca rocks and lots to see and do was excellent, and the pepole who run it are characterful and opinionated and make you feel far away from generic america! But there were poor things too--that low price does show up in the funky quality of the room and its furnishings, so don't stay here if you expect modern motel standards, and while the location is great you do hear the cars zooming by on the road in front. But if you can take a funky place with low prices and local aura, then i recommend it. We did have breakfast there, which was ok, with lots of local chatter!? the manager was friendly and very casual, with some great advice and some terrible advice!? Finally, the location near the rocks, the old store, the front porch restaurant, the new coffee shop, all in seneca rocks, combined with the loacal feel, makes you feel far away from ordinaryland.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vistacruiser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at Yokum's during Labor Day Weekend to do some local hiking and a caving trip (recommend http://wildguyde.com).

The cabins were already booked, and I wasn't very confident in the motel rooms, so my girlfriend and I decided to stay at their campground, although the other couple we went with stayed at a motel room. Good decision.

The other couple had a bad experience in the cheap motel rooms ($40-45). It was in dire need of renovation. The comforter was ripped and threadbare, the water would sporatically turn burning hot (making a shower very uncomfortable, combined with the weak shower pressure), and the room smelled like cigarette smoke and overpowering air freshener. One of them ended up sleeping in the car. The 2nd night they moved to the new motel rooms above the general store, and they were fine with it, indicating it was a standard motel room.

We stayed at the campground behind the main reception building. It was rather large and alongside a pleasant creek. Even though it was Labor Day weekend, it did not feel overcrowded. The bathhouse was above average, with rather private shower stalls and hot water. There were plenty of fire pits, and someone regularly drove around selling firewood. We were near a large party of young adults the first night, and they were a bit loud rather late (after midnight?), which made a less than great sleep, but that's a risk you take with camping, and they were gone the second night.

The location was great, near Seneca Rocks, a good restaurant (Front Porch), and a convenient Yokom's General Store.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The cabin was new and nice (workmanship had a little to be desired). If you are renting it for the hot tub, ask them to change the water or at least make sure the water is clear. The water in the hot tub was too cloudy for us. We stayed in the new cabin #3 - it is the most private. We enjoyed our horse trail to the top of Seneca. You don't have to have any experience with horses to do this - the horses were wonderful. The service was friendly. There were just two of us, so if we go back, we'll stay somewhere else. If we go back with a group of people, we would stay here again (if the hot tub is clear!).

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HollysGotSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We were in WV for the Chriatian Sport Bike Assocation National Rally. After our orginal accomodations were forced to be cancelled by Smoke Hole Caverns/Lodge (DON'T STAY THERE!), we found Yokum's Vacation Land just down the road. Yokums has serval motel/cabin and camping options. We originally were going to stay in the older motel but after seeing the room decided not to. It smelled of cig smoke and was swormed with flies. We then checked out a cabin and it was GREAT! The newer motel at the store is supposed to be good also. The store/restaurant and gas station are all nice and the people couldn't be any more friendly or helpful. This is a nice place to stay, espicially if you want to be in Seneca Rocks area and not have to travel in, it's about an hour in either direction to name brand lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floppyhat996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This July we wanted to hike Seneca Rocks and the Potomac Highlands together with our dog, so our choice for lodging was a bit limited. The Yokum's cabin sounded great and I felt on the safe side when I heard they cost $130/night. I thought it couldn't be too bad if they charge over $100. Wrong idea.

We arrived Friday afternoon after having driven past the Smokey Hole Log Cabins which looked very pretty.... Yokum's Vacationland is a property between the highway and the river which lays deep in his bed, so no running around for younger kids, I would guess. They have a little indoor pool similar to the ones you find in cheaper motels, just to mention that.

The cabins itself are semiattached and close to the river (down there, no view). The one we could have used was #22 - dark, old, smelling like the inside of a fireplace. I entered the place and was deeply dissapointed, but up to give the stay a change by checking the beds. Unfortunately, the linens were a least dusty and when I got the pillow out of the grey-green pillowcase, it looked very old to me, unwashed for a long time of its live, mostly a yellowish brown color.... I couldn't sleep in this place so we cancelled the reservation. My husband offered to drive an hour back to the next Walmart and buy new linens (and we better had....). So we had to go back to Winchester just to find a place who would take us and the dog for a night. The cabins we passed were booked or, like the Smokey Hole Cabin, only accept pets to a kind of hunter's cabin, very moldy with a freezer like an oversized coffin.

On Saturday we had better luck with finding a very clean place for $35/night in Mt.Storm - a place not keen on taking dogs and allowing them only to one of the five rooms. I have to admit that I would have never booked this $35-room, guessing the worst. But it turned out to be a neat place, close to lots of State Parks, the heated lake, Thomas etc.

Bottom line: I would only reccommend Yokum's Vacationland for horseback riding.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sannador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews