We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and quality”
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb service and quality”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a terrific weekend stay. The reservation was easy to make and the price reasonable. Every member of the staff was a consummate professional. The dining room was excellent, both food quality and service. The room was great, we really enjoyed the fireplace and whirlpool tub. The robes are a nice touch. Shepherdstown offers plenty of things to do for a weekend, with lots more within an easy drive.

Room Tip: WE enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks with us and trip advisor. I will happily pass on your comments to our hard working staff. We hope to welcome you back to Shepherdstown and the Bavarian Inn soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    209
    113
    35
    25
See reviews for
111
530
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Bavarian Inn this past weekend on our way to Washington DC. We were so happy we made the decision to stay and eat at this lovely venue. Everyone who works there...front desk..hostess..bar tender...wait staff in the dining room.....gave outstanding service. The food is simply delicious and served in an elegant setting. Our room had a beautiful view and was clean, comfortable, and quite spacious. We will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. We take great pride in offering a quality product with professional service. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to deliver on your stay. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a one night stay in November 2013. It was OK, the room appeared like no one had been there in awhile so was musty and dusty. I think if housekeeping had visited before it would have been much better as it had a REALLY nice view of the Potomac and nice fireplace and whirlpool tub. Much construction going on which made the parking lot a bit tight.

The only thing that irked me a little was that we had to wait 15 minutes for someone to show up at the front desk so we could check out. I finally got to the point where I was writing the clerk a note to attach the keys to. She did finally show up.

All in all, it was not a spectacular stay, but I would go back and give it another try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Scott f.
Thank you for your review. Our construction of the new infinity edge pool has an end in sight, and we are looking forward to enjoying it in early Spring. I'm sorry these improvements limited parking during your stay. I will also work with housekeeping and the front desk on the areas mentioned. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope to share our wonderful new amenities and improvements with you soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We took advantage of your January 2014 special and we were not disappointed. The view was awesome. The room was spotless and delightful. Plenty of towels, pillows, etc. Check in was smooth as was the check out. The staff was so kind and helpful. The four course dinner was awesome as was the server Darla. Everything was so relaxing for our mother/daughter visit. We will be back. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable. I did not want to leave.

Room Tip: The Riverside rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennysgoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. I will happily pass them onto our hard working staff, especially Darla. We are so happy the 2014 promotion was enjoyable. We also wish you could have stayed longer, but will look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I pretty much like all-things German, so when I found out about this place I had to go. I booked the cheapest room I could (about $100). The room was a good size, and very comfortable. It was a cold November weekend, and the pool was under construction, so the grounds were not as spectacular as I imagine they will be in the spring, but the late autumn views were still nice. I ate dinner in the rathskeller and had one of the best jaegerschnitzels I've ever had. The inn was also ideally situated to tour Antietam battlefield, and to walk around Shepherdstown - a nice gem of a town.

As for the hospitality, I would suggest a bit more friendliness and information from the check-in folks, such as pointing out the different buildings on the grounds, where to park, and where the restaurant/rathskeller are. A basic orientation.

I am looking forward to returning in May via biking from DC along the canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us. I will work with the front desk to help promote a better and more informative welcome for our guests. Thank you for this suggestion. We look forward to your return, where you'll also hopefully be able to take advantage of our new pool facility!
Sincerely
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My relatives dine here frequently and invest heavily in the region. We stayed in a stink bug filled bed and room. Front desk manager told me to get over it and get a life. We have disputed the stay with our credit card company. Owner was to call, still no call. Bed bug bites all over our body as well. Disgusting stay! Lack of follow up. Really disappointing. If an owner reads this feel free to pick up the phone. 3046207484!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Curt W.,
I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment. We have tried numerous times to contact you, yet each time the number goes straight to voicemail. We always attempt to provide a great experience for all our guests, and we are sorry that we could not satisfy you. We care greatly about all our guests and treat them each with all due respect and considerations. We truly hope that the rest of your New Year 2014 improves.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked a deluxe room for a one-night stay to visit with friends in the area and dine in Shepherdstown. When we returned from dinner, we found the room occupied by stink bugs! Not just one or two, but a constant stream-- on the bed, in the bathroom, on the ceiling, and by the balcony door. If it hadn't been so late at night, we would have gone somewhere else. When we expressed our dismay while checking out, we we told "sorry" and that they had a problem trying to rid the premises of the pests. The desk clerk, while sympathetic, did not have the authority to knock more than the taxes off the room rate. I asked to speak to a manager but was told to call on Monday--after the weekend. I did, and have not received a return call. Hardly a deluxe experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sue L,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As everyone in the widespread area is aware, we are in constant battle with the pesky stink bugs. As weather changes dramatically, they manage to get into the smallest of crevices. I am greatly sorry that this detracted from your stay with us. We promise to continue to fight the good fight, and eventually win the war against these critters.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
8.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
289 reviews
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Property: Bavarian Inn
Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4601
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing