We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half and Half”
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Baxarian Inn. We had eaten at the resyaurant several times but had never stayed over night. The food and service at the restauant were very good. The reception desk staff were also efficient and hospitable. However the room was a disappointmnet. Upon entring the room it looked fine. However when we went to use the bath sink there were long dark brown hairs in the sink and also in the bath tub. The carpet needed to be cleaned and there were crumbs on the floor from a previous occupant. The lever that controls the water in the tub loose. The caulking around the tub was falling off. It did not look as the room was maintained. We were very dissappointed.
We mentioned the conditions to the desk clerk upon check out and the mamager made an adjustment on our bill. It was kind of sad because the property is in a lovely setting.
We would definitely go back to the restaurant but we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a trin that comes thru at 11PM and 3 am that iwakes you up. We had a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pensione2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I am so sorry to hear of your experience with the room. This is certainly out of the norm for us, and I will absolutely look into what happened here. We do hope that you will stay with us again, so we can show your the true Bavarian Inn experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

River view, great room, really friendly staff. Looking forward to returning in the near future. the new infinity pool under construction should be a great addition. The Rathskellar has the same menu as the main dining room but is more relaxed and has live music on
Friday and Saturday nights. Only place I've ever been that had Pappy Van Winkle available at the bar!

Room Tip: always choose the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Roger S.,
Thank you for your comments. We too are excited about the new pool. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It took us quite a while to find Pappy Van Winkle, but we jumped on it when we did! Glad we were able to share it with you!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed there recently and it was our first night alone in 3 years ! We couldn't have picked a better place to go . The staff was amazing and the accommodations were spectacular! They made it seem like we were the most important people there . It was like our birthdays , Christmas , and our anniversary in one day ! I have recommended this place to everyone I know . It's worth every penny and then some !!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for joining us, and for your kind review. I understand the importance of an "alone" get-away, and we are so happy it was enjoyable. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have been visiting The Bavarian Inn since the 1980's and it is still a favorite place for a weekend away from home just to relax and be pampered. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished with every amenity you can think of, including bathrobes. The chalet's are located on a cliff overlooking the Potomac River just over a bridge from MD. The restaurant is fantastic and the staff well trained. The food is one of the reasons for visiting The Bavarian Inn and has stayed way above average ever since we started visiting. You can't miss if you are looking for a quiet few days away from the stress of everyday life.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are very appreciative of your patronage over the past 30 years. I will happily pass on your comments to our hard working staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We first visited the Bavarian Inn back in September and had an amazing stay. The room was perfect and dinner in The Rathskeller was fabulous! We saw on their facebook page that they werew offering a special in January. We immediately booked a room. We had an even better room this time and the four course dinner with beer tasting was unbelievable. Our waitress was very attentive and very nice. We will defintely be returning soon. Thank you for two wonderful stays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugs1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for your recent stays with us. We are so happy you also took advantage of our recent facebook promotion. We hope to welcome you back many times in the future.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a terrific weekend stay. The reservation was easy to make and the price reasonable. Every member of the staff was a consummate professional. The dining room was excellent, both food quality and service. The room was great, we really enjoyed the fireplace and whirlpool tub. The robes are a nice touch. Shepherdstown offers plenty of things to do for a weekend, with lots more within an easy drive.

Room Tip: WE enjoyed the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind remarks with us and trip advisor. I will happily pass on your comments to our hard working staff. We hope to welcome you back to Shepherdstown and the Bavarian Inn soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at The Bavarian Inn this past weekend on our way to Washington DC. We were so happy we made the decision to stay and eat at this lovely venue. Everyone who works there...front desk..hostess..bar tender...wait staff in the dining room.....gave outstanding service. The food is simply delicious and served in an elegant setting. Our room had a beautiful view and was clean, comfortable, and quite spacious. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. We take great pride in offering a quality product with professional service. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to deliver on your stay. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
144 reviews
8.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 2 in Shepherdstown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4601
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range: £83 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing