We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$179
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn(Shepherdstown)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Kearneysville)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
29
54
41
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
54
41
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood liondonutseggs and sausagecars in the parking lotantietam battlefieldfree breakfasttwo queen size bedsclose to townconvenient locationenglish muffinshotel is locatedstayed one nightstay there againfirst floorthe wi fienjoyed our staynight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I just stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn in Shepherdstown. It's a relatively small franchised hotel about a mile and a half from the center of town. It was an okay place. I found the staff to be helpful and the location convenient. Overall, however, the hotel feels a little confining. The lobby is very small, as is the breakfast room and the gym. All are serviceable, but you will be on top of others in the space. I had a double queen room; I also found it to be very tight on space.

My biggest issue with this hotel was the AC unit in the room. It was VERY loud and badly needed service. Around 2 am, I opted to simply turn it off so I could sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issue you had with the ac unit in your room. We will have our maintenance department look into these units to ensure it does not happen to a future guest. If you would be so kind as to call the hotel to let us know what room you occupied, it would help us greatly as these reviews are anonymous and this would ensure the quickest resolution. We can be reached at 304.876.3160. Again, I apologize that you had these issues and I hope that we get another chance to impress you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My son and I were on a bicycle ride from Pittsburgh to DC, We stayed at the Shepherdstown Best Western on 9/4/13. We had just traveled 52 miles, arived tired and hungry. Our reservation made check in a breeze, cleaned up and enjoyed a nice meal. The staff and room were excellent. They knew we would arive by bicycle, so they had a first floor room for us, showed where we could clean our bikes so we could secure overnignt in our room. The comp breakfast we experience the next morning was very plentiful and delicious. We ate our fill before departing.The convienence of the stores around the hotel made it easy for us to purchase some last minute supplies. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay there next summer when we ride to DC again next summer. Thank you for a excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown! We are glad that you chose our hotel, glad that you enjoyed it and especially glad that you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Being so close to the C&O Canal and Towpath, we value the business of those who travel on bicycle and do everything we can to make them feel welcome. We take great pride in the product we offer and are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We received early check in as requested. This hotel was very quiet, extremely clean and the beds outstanding. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Even had a shower cap, which are seldom found in hotels, it seems.Nice breakfast - great bold coffee!!! Great experience! We'll return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiHeidiH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests! We always try to accommodate guest's request for early check in and I am glad to hear that you were treated so well by our staff. They are our greatest asset and they always make our guests feel like family. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is not in the town center and is located about 1/2-1 mile out of town.

Small franchise chain hotel with limited service capability. Got stuck with a smoking room (#312) - and you could tell. The beds were fine, room was quiet, and the shower nice, with good pressure.Nice view looking out on the parking lot and the McD's next door.

Prices are high - relative to what you get, but reflects scarcity of other options. Arrived about 2:30 in the afternoon. Rooms were not ready for check in - as the "sheets were still drying." The front desk seemed unconcerned with getting an estimate of when the room would be ready, and seemed put out when asked to find out. In fact, when the room was ready (around 3PM) , the room cleaner complained to me that they only had one person cleaning and one dryer for sheets. Seems like they need to invest in people and equipment to manage the routine.

Room Tip: It is what it is. I'd stay elswhere next time.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was sub par. Most days early arrivals are not an issue, but unfortunately, it sounds as though we were ill prepared that day. Your feedback is taken seriously and measures will be taken to ensure that future guests do not have the same issues. If you would like to discuss your concerns directly, please feel free to call. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you return and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Desk and maid spent most of their time sitting on a bench out the front door, with the door open, smoking. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke, even though rooms marked no smoking. The smoke smell, coupled with the chemicals they use to cover it up, makes the hotel uninhabital. We left after the first night of coughing and choking. This hotel should be closed until a professional company comes in and gets the smell out. If not, burn the upholstery, clean the walls, throw out the carpet, etc..

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was upset to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. What you experienced is unacceptable and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss it with you personally. Please call the hotel if you would be willing to do so. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. We hope that if your travel plans find you back in our town, that you would consider giving us another chance to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews