We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet, comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Shepherd Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quiet, comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

A nice get-a-way weekend. Attractive room, pleasant guests, good breakfast...just what one wants in a bed and breakfast.
Screened in porch, computer, books to read, a nice town in which to stroll and proximity to the C&O canal for walking, jogging, biking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baltlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
87
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is an historic home walking distance from the shops, restaurants and most of the sites in Shepherdstown. My room (Room 3) was very comfortable and nicely decorated - and I didn't mind that I had to cross the hall to the bathroom (only for my room). I really liked the back porch overlooking the yard and the complementary sherry in the living room. The breakfast was excellent! There is free parking either on the street or in a lot behind the house. The only major draw back is that the house is on a very busy corner with a surprising amount of traffic for such a small town. There is simply no way to escape the traffic noise (a police siren woke me up at 4:30am even though I was wearing earplugs).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, WV
Level Contributor
204 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The innkeepers treated us more like friends and we hated when the time came for us to leave. The inn was attractively decorated and welcoming. Our room was roomy, cheery and quite comfortable. What great attention to detail! They thought of everything one might need or want in order to have a great stay. Breakfast was very delicious, served in a beautiful dining room by smiling innkeepers. The inn is conveniently located within easy walking distance of downtown Shepherdstown where there are lots of little shops and restaurants. I highly recommend the Thomas Shepherd Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Friends had given us a Gift Certificate to utilize at any one of the Select Registry Inns/B &Bs across the US to provide an 'escape' from our loss. We chose the Thomas Shepherd Inn because of the location- a quick 4 hour drive from our home-perfect distance for a long weekend, and because their website contained so much information, we were able to really enjoy all that Sheperdstown and the surrounding areas had to offer. We stayed in Room 1.I only gave a 3 for sleep quality b/c the Inn is located at a very busy intersection. However, the owners are cognizant of this fact and provide an Ambient noise CD (in the welcome packet) which helps to block some of the traffic noise. We utilized it and it did help. If you choose to stay here and have a hard time falling asleep- I recommend staying at the back of the house away from the road. The owners provided excellent assistance with driving directions, restaurant suggestions and were helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. It was a welcome respite. I especially liked the additional touches- cookies in the afternoon- Sherry for a nightcap or prequel to your evening's events. The location of the B& B allowed for walking to the local restaurants which gave us the freedom to have a drink or two without worry. If we ever get back to Sheperdstown, we will definitely be looking to stay here again.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, choose rooms at back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Harbour, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn for one evening, and the hospitality and ambience, combined with beautiful, comfortable rooms and a succulent breakfast, made our sejourn one of the best. Jeannie and Jim are the consummate hosts and they bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was most memorable. They are the total package and we would highly recommend anyone traveling to Shepherdstown, W. Virginia to stay at their lovely B&B.

Harry and Carol

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabber69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My wife and I went up to Shepherdstown for the Halloween contra dance and were delighted to stay just two blocks from the dance hall. The hosts were very helpful, the accommodations were delightful and roomy. We had the room with a private bath across the hall, which was fine. The only thing I would caution people about is that it is a creaky, noisy house. If anyone walks in the hallways, you will hear it. The B&B was full, and I didn't hear any noise from any other rooms, but we heard every door that opened and every step in the hall. Still, for a full house on a Saturday night on Halloween it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnapolisKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I went to Shepherdstown, WV to ride the C&O Canal Towpath and to simply relax in a charming town. We chose the Thomas Shepherd Inn Bread & Breakfast based on what was written on this website (TripAdvisor.com). We were delighted with our accommodations.

The Inn is nicely setup with lots of places to socialize with your company, with a lovely porch off the back (the moment you sit down in the porch, you relax), a library, a large living room with several seating areas. It’s well located which meant that we could stroll around the town and simply walk to restaurants/shopping and it's an easy and short bike ride to the C&O Canal Towpath.

Our room was quiet, beautiful, and the beds were comfortable. Our morning breakfast was delicious and the owners of the Inn were pleasant. The Inn’s owners, Jeanne and Jim, were happy to answer questions, give suggestions, but were not “in your face” which we appreciated.

We look forward to our next visit to Shepherdstown, WV and staying at this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenofArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Property: Thomas Shepherd Inn
Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing