We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The inkeepers are amazing. The property is clean, bright and well appointed. Close to all the wonderful shops and fantastic restaurants. And just when you think it could not get any better - it's time for breakfast! Great stuff and we will be planning another trip with friends in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Thomas Shepherd Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a terrific little inn in a charming town. My husband and I stayed here for one night for a quick weekend getaway and loved it. The owners were very welcoming and our room (#2) extremely clean and well-appointed, with a separate sitting area and an electric fireplace (which we didn't use since it was August, but would be great in the winter). We loved that the rooms were charming without being overly twee. Breakfast was great and we had fun chatting with other couples. The back porch was a lovely place to sit and read. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

B&B owners ourselves living in rural PA, we rarely find a B&B that we feel lives up to what a B&B should be, but this place exceeded hopes and expectations. The owners are friendly but not intrusive, offered suggestions for restaurants and other activities when asked, and served a wonderful breakfast including fresh fruit and a hot egg entree that was delicious. Our rooms on the second floor were clean, spacious and well-appointed. There was plenty of hot water for showers that had great pressure and the mattresses were a dream to sleep on. The decor was of the period - antiques, oriental rugs, tasteful bed clothing, no frou frou lacey tchotchkes that we find so annoying. Though we have friends and relatives in the area who offer free places to stay, we'll be happy to pay to stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn. It's that wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review - we love to pamper our fellow innkeepers when we have the chance, as we know what a challenging job it can be! We hope to make a trip to your place some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a good one. More amenities than we've seen anywhere else. Rooms very clean and neat, spacious, comfortable, well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Check out their website and believe what you read. Easy walking distance to the main street of town. And you really do meet nice, interesting people at a B&B. This place is conducive to congeniality. Jeanne and Jim are most friendly and helpful, but not in the least bit intrusive. As someone else has said, a good balance. High marks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banjobwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a beautiful, peaceful Inn. The Inn Keepers were so hospitable. The room was beautiful and the second floor porch was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and good conversation and just relaxing at the end of the day. A delicious breakfast served in the lovely dining room was wonderful. The Inn is walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants Shepherdstown has to offer. A beautiful little town.

Room Tip: This is Inn has 1 room with 2 double beds, which not all B&B's offer. This was perfect for...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a very nice one night stay while biking the C&O. Innkeepers were very friendly and low-key and helpful when we asked; we've experienced other personalities as innkeepers who are a bit overbearing so this was the right balance. Inn was lovely, room was very nice and spacious, comfy bed, roomy bathroom. Breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the upstairs back porch as a quiet space to read a little. Very nice to just park car and walk down the hill into the town and dinner.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was very nice but also at the front of the house which has 4-way stop signs...
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LinnyKTakomaPark_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

As the route planner for three 60-something guys on a bike trip, I picked the Thomas Shepherd Inn mostly on the basis of its location in Shepherdstown. Adequate arrangements would have been enough for us, but our stay was outstanding. Jeanne and Jim were flexible with respect to our breakfast time, breakfast menu, sleeping arrangements, and storing bicycles safely outside. Jim had some specific and helpful route suggestions for us as well. The room and breakfast were great and the location is extremely convenient to the town center. I would definitely stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

We do enjoy our intrepid bicycling guests here at the Inn - thanks for your nice review! With bike racks in the back yard and most of our wonderful restaurants within walking distance, staying less than 1 mile away from the C&O Canal in Shepherdstown makes things easy for you. The construction near the bridge has finally completed so if you make a return trip you will find navigation easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.6 mi away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range: £112 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing