We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT TIME BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME BUT...”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We just returned from snowshoe/rimfire yesterday, we had fun as did the kids ages 9 and 10. The room was avg and we booked the deluxe 1 bed room so i wouldnt spend the extra money on the deluxe room and the beds were avg not all that comfortable. rooms clean/good service. The staff was awesome we switched our room after the first night because we wanted the mtn view no problems! We also have a 1 yr old and the services by the girls for babysitting were great and only 60/day in our room (ask the reservation pple when you call about babysitting). My main issues are the slopes and cost! The resort is at the top of the mtn so every trail you go down you ski all the way down no matter what, the greens are steep and not beginner friendly at all. thurs it snowed a foot which made the trails much more managable for the kids and us. If you have kids I would advise staying in the village area where everything is close, I am glad we didnt book the ones out of the village. alligande springs (something like that) was across the path and looked very nice with the inside pool. not crowded at all when we went. the food is expenisve "theme park priced" 4.00 for a bottle of water. the pizza place was great as well. we most likely will not be returning because the cost was just as expensive as crested butte CO (where we have been) and wasnt very complimenting for beginner skiers, there was not a lot of activites for the kids and it was a very "college like" setting. however it would be very nice for a couples getaway. MAKE SURE you stop for food before you go the closest food mart was 1hr away and walmart 1.5 hrs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Had a great experience staying in a Junior Suite at Rimfire. Found it to be a great location close to everything that we needed in the Village and the access to Starbucks was a plus! Checked in at Top of the World - took a while but it was pretty busy. Limited underground carparking - you don't know that there's no room until you are in there and then it's a pain to get out if another car has come in looking for space. A 4 night stay and the fire alarm went off twice - first morning and last morning (apparently it's a common occurrence??) but both were false alarms. My daughter was sleeping on pull out sofa and for some reason housekeeping made her bed the first morning and never again - never questioned why though. Agree with other reviewers about the beds being extremely hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We arrived late Friday evening and used top of the world check in. What a breeze! The room was cozy. It has a small kitchenette with everything you need for a few days stay. We stayed in a junior suite. It has a murphy bed and a pull out couch. We had a great view of the slopes and the village from our room. Everything was in walking distance. The room was clean and the heater was working when we got in. Staff was friendly and curteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcb626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Rooms are really cozy with the fireplace.They have a outdoor hot tub looking towards the valley.Room are with all amenities and pots and pans if you wish to cook .Only place with underground limited parking and lockers for your ski's.50 yards away from the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvmykid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed at the Rimfire at the very beginning of the skiing season and we loved it. The indoor parking is an incredible perk. We rented a 1 bedroom standard condo which was small but very testefully decorated. The bedroom was indeed VERY small and there was about 1 foot clearance between one of the corners of the queen bed and the wall which was diagonal to the head of the bed. The kitchenette and living room were also small but we are not into large hotel rooms anyhow. The kitchenette was very well stocked, with lots of pans and pots. The gas fireplace did not work when we arrived as the pilot flame had extinguished but we called maintenance (on a Sunday) and they arrived within a couple of hours and fixed it. The room opened to the village with the balcony facing the street. This can be quaint as you feel you are in the midst of the action but I guess the noise in the high season will be an issue if you are a light sleeper and go there to relax. The rooms that overlook the parking in the back have great views of the mountains and the sunset. The common areas such as the hearth room are beautiful and cozy. The outdoor hot water bath was thoroughy enjoyable and also overlooking the mountains. There were only 3 exercise machines but this was not an issue as the place was semi deserted. You can access the locker room to store your skis directly from the street which is convenient although the lockers are small. The indoor connection to Starbucks is also great if there is a snowstorm outside and you want to get there in your sleepwear (not that I would though). Cons are lack of wireless, which is a problem in a town with almost no cellphone reception, only partially mitigated by the fact you can get wireless at Starbucks and that there is a wired connection in the room, thin partition wall between bedroom and living room and a nasty foul odor in the basement areas that give access to the garage. I have no idea where this was coming from. Overall, if you are going to Snowshoe, it is a great advantage to be in the village, as the slopes are only a few yeards away and the Rimfire is a great choice unless you are a light sleeper and you book in high season. We will definitely return there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We had a two bedroom unit, which is really two one bedroom units linked together by unlocking the inner separating door. Most of the condos at Snowshoe are small, and this is no exception. Also, you have to walk some to get to the slopes, but the ski locker room really helps with gear storage. The underground parking is great for your car as it can get extremely cold and windy on the mountain top. The place is generally clean and well-kept for the most part, and it is centrally located to all the village has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I specifically chose Rimfire for a snowboarding weekend with my husband because of its central location in the Village and ultimately because the title of our specific condo (top floor, end of the hallway) described the property as "very quiet." Note that this review is for the Rimfire condos only - we loved Snowshoe in general!

What we liked: The check-in process through Snowshoe Properties Management was completely painless, simple, and quick. The condo was very clean, seemed to be well-maintained and was fairly comfortable overall. The location of Rimfire is perfect for easy access to everything - it's right in the middle of the Village and just minutes away from all of the main shops and restaurants, and steps from the slopes. The storage locker on the first floor was convenient and just barely large enough to hold our two snowboards with bindings. (Note: lockers are assigned by condo number, and some of the lockers were half the size of ours.) We appreciated the secure, underground parking - we were able to park our car and just leave it all weekend. Entry to the building, garage, storage lockers and the condo itself was secure. The Starbucks downstairs was a nice bonus. Yes, there's only one elevator as other reviewers pointed out, but we're pretty patient and the wait didn't seem that bad. It's true that the stairwells reek of cigarette smoke, so we did tend to wait for the one slow elevator.

What we didn't like: During our stay, our neighbors were incredibly loud and the noise went well into what anyone would consider normal quiet hours. Their partying, shouting, slamming doors, and loud music lasted continuously until after 3am. We were right next door so of course we were affected (the music was so loud that our walls were shaking), but the noise could be heard from several rooms down, and surely from below. I'm certain we were not the only guests that suffered loss of sleep. The property management company or the building management/security did NOT remedy the situation even after we notified them twice. There's no front desk or anyone on-site to assist, either. Note that this noise was in addition to the general noise from people in the Village below. There were loud people outside pretty much all hours of the night. I'm glad people had fun, but we didn't get ANY sleep either of the two nights that we were there. That said, at least we were on the top floor and were not also listening to heavy-booted feet walking above.

So it's a nice location if you want to be in the middle of everything with easy access to the slopes, but just know that if you have any issues (such as excessive noise) there may not be anyone to assist you, and that being in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle of the Village means hearing the hustle-and-bustle all night.

Room Tip: The top floor condo at the end of the hallway facing AWAY from the Village is probably the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sesmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#19 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#14 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#21 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treetop Townhomes
Treetop Townhomes
#15 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Property: Rimfire Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Region: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Standard Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens, Internet connections and full daily maid service, unique among most condominium units. Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing