We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a family to crash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good place for a family to crash”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in Mountain Lodge over the weekend AFTER MLK week. That was key, as it wasn't all that crowded since there wasn't a holiday. You've probably all seen the reviews of Mountain Lodge, and most are quite accurate. I'd sum it up like many others - NOT a really, really nice place, but roomy with an awesome location. You can't beat hopping off the Ballhooter lift and into the back door for lunch, and you can't beat walking just a couple hundred feet to Starbucks or other Village stuff.

Here are some of my favorite and least-favorite things:
I liked the actual condo - A very roomy 2 bedroom.
I didn't like that the master bedroom had a window to the interior hallway. I had to hang up blankets (in addition to the drapery) to keep the hallway light out.

I liked the proximity to the slopes.
I didn't like my location in the building. Tip: Ask for one of the units with lower number to be on the wing of the building next to the slope (e.g. number x01-x39 or so). Your feet will thank you if you wear ski boots.

I liked the balcony. It's small, but it's a nice place to keep skis overnight and see how the weather really is before heading out.

The kids' play area was great. Mine are 6 and under, and the little playground was a welcome indoor distraction while it rained one morning.
Don't count on the exercise equipment that they show in all the pictures. There are two or three tired machines that aren't plugged in. Better idea - ski harder instead. :-)

I really liked the common areas. They have some cool areas in the corner of the main lobby with high-top tables surrounded by windows, overlooking the slopes. Good spot to have a cold one if you happen to come off the slopes a little early.

Overall, stay at ML if you want a ski-in/ski-out spot with easy access to the Village. But, don't expect the Ritz-Carlton.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the wing of the building that's closest to the Ballhooter lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SegundoLunadeMiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
46
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Bad wifi connection. Some rooms need to be updated. But great location and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Ten feet outside the door of mountain lodge you can drop your skis and head down the hill from the top of ballhooter lift. This is a great location to begin and end your ski day. Mountain lodge is more of a budget facility with some weird quirks. They have a stone fireplace but they do not light the fire until 5 p.m. The bedrooms have a sliding glass window to the outside hallway the purpose of which remains a mystery. These windows do provide complete access to the conversations of boisterous drunks and rowdy children. The water tastes terrible but overall the accommodations are fine for family use. The staff is especially friendly and helpful and the room is convenient to the village, the church, and the pool.

Room Tip: Check out reviews on Vacation Rental by Owner (VRBO.com). Mountain Lodge is a big property so ask ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irmo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

BEWARE we had our ipod touch stolen from our room at Mountain Lodge on 12/22/11. There was no forced entry. We feel the thief had to have had access to our room. And the incident took place just shortly after the maid service entered our room. It was the only item stolen and it happened to be sitting out on the bed in plain view. So if you stay here, don't bring anything of any value. The management acted almost comatose and offered us no help nor compensation. They really could not have cared less.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here over Christmas break with my husband and two kids in a 1 BR. Furnishings and renovations depend on each unit, like at every ski resort. The kitchen was just a kitchenette, small but usable. Everything worked and it was clean. Our room was right across from the arcade, but there was surprisingly no noise from the arcade. We overlooked the mountain, with a great view, so that helped. The property is literally slope side, so the convenience was fantastic. It is on the edge of Snowshoe Village, so you could walk to the outdoor/indoor pool and hot tub. Our unit did not have a ski locker. Bathroom was very, very small. Now for the negatives...you could absolutely not regulate the heat and it was so oppressive that we had to have the window open at all times. We complained to the desk and all they offered was that we could open the internal window that opened into the hallway and place a fan to draw the air from outside....well, that wasn't such a good option since the window was in the master bedroom. The pull out sofa was horrible, even after we took out the mattress and put it on the floor. It is also extremely loud and you could hear people in the hall at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coreypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
845 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed here just 2 weeks ago, and we couldn't have been happier with the location. You walk right out the back door and your on the slope! It was great incase we needed a break, we could just head inside and sit down for a minute.
The lodge itself is a little outdated and not as nice as some of the newer lodges like the soaring eagle. We were pretty bummed to find out the restaurant was closed and, basically anything fun to do was closed, but that just seems to be end of the season protocol.
We had a 2 bedroom, and it was pretty spacious. Not a bad room, although the bed wasn't the comfiest, it did the job. Overall a good stay, and again if you love walking 20 feet and strapping in, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed overnight on a holiday weekend. This is an older lodge. It has many sections with common areas. The common areas are just outside of some of the rooms. We had a one bedroom and a pull out couch. There is a place just inside the door to place you ski's. The bedroom was the first door in and had a glass window facing the hallway. You could hear the loud voices and the whispering voices in the hallways. Room 109 was the first room in from a common area. There was a bit of foot traffic throughout the evening. The bathroom was probably 5'X5'. They had a kitchen that had a stove, microwave, refridgerator, coffee maker. There were plenty of pots and pans, containers, place settings. I had read reviews about the rooms not being clean so I took my cleaning wipes and had no use for them. The room was quite clean. The mattresses were not brand new but were not trampolines either. Our balcony was a triangle wedge of wood that could easily be accessed upon leaving and right off to skiing. We received no service at this lodge. We had to check in at a different location. There was an individual at the desk that directed us to our room. The sleep quality was only a 3 because of the noise that came into the room from the hallway. I thought the price was a bit for these accomadations, but it was convenient for skiing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akunkel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Top of the World Condos at Snowshoe
0.2 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#13 of 24 in Snowshoe
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#21 of 24 in Snowshoe
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#5 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge Condos

Property: Mountain Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Region: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Village Central adjacent to the Ballhooter lift with ski-in/ski-out convenience. Village shops, restaurants and the Split Rock Pool & Hot Tubs are nearby. Mountain Lodge features private adjacent parking lot, comfortable lobby with large fireplace and scenic overlooks. Complimentary building-wide Wi-Fi broadband internet access is provided. Also featured is a dedicated electronic game roomand indoors "Little Tykes" children's play area. All enclosed common areas and most condos are non-smoking. Auntie Pasta's restaurant and the Comedy Cellar share the Lower Level.Mountain Lodge offers one, two and (a few) three bedroom condos. Most have queen beds & queen sleeper sofas. All condos feature well stocked fully equipped kitchens and walkout balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mountain Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing