We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good learn to ski family vacation. Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Lodge Condos
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Wonderful, fun memories, fantastic ski vacation.

Stayed at Mountain Lodge--next time will pick upscale accommodations. Fit family of 5 fine, basic kitchenette for breakfasts, and nice ski in/ski out accessibility. Room was basic, Mountain lodge, built in the '70s, needs some renovations. Allegheny Springs looks fantastic. Beginners, or families with kids, should consider Silver Creek Lodge.
Slopes -- wonderful accesss to all slopes and good variety. Skiied in JAN/FEB timeframe, good snow, barely any lines.

Ski Instructors--awesome. 2 Kids in ski school for 3 full days. Patient, knowledgeable instructors from all over the world. Wonderful sense of humor, kids LOVED learning how to ski (even when we had a freezing cold day with driving snow, the instructors made it fun, and gave hot chocolate breaks).

Ski Rentals--easy, quick, painless, located right next to the ski school. Fastest return policy I have seen. Personnel--Enjoyed having all the nationalities at Snowshoe, we loved hearing their stories, learning about their cultures, and just talking to them--what a great way for children to learn more about our WORLD! They didn't speak English perfectly, but we took the opportunity to learn from them....and had fun doing it. Restuarants and shops were within easy walking distance and the "town center" feel is quaint. Ate out just about every night. All meals were good except Firefox-slow service, barely warm food, atmosphere is great. Would keep Firefox for adults. Food at the resort is expensive, but look at the treacherous road they have to get it up to serve you! Great idea to bring a crockpot, cook all day, come home to a warm meal, and then hit a restuarant for drinks or dessert. Save some $.

Pool-- a blast for kids and adults alike, indoor/outdoor swim-through passages, hot tubs with the most amazing sunsets. Childcare--its at 2 places on the mtn. Make sure you know where your reservations are for. The providers seemed conscientious. My 2 year old daughter was entertained and happy. (Call ahead to arrange childcare as it fills up. Be sure to ask what they require (shot record etc.)) Check in/check out--yep, just like others have said, it's a disaster. If there is one thing the management should focus on, it's definitely this. Plenty of personnel behind the serving counter, but only one individual was assisting us all, creating a large line, and over a 1 1/2 hour wait--the other personnel were scurrying about doing whatever it is that they do that is so much more important than checking customers in. Need the personnel trained on HOW to check folks in/out efficiently, need MULTIPLE computers working at the SAME time. For now, plan on 1 1/2 hours to check in and 1 1/2 hrs to check out--then you won't be disappointed.

Lets face it, a ski vacation is $$$ no matter how you cut it. As busy working parents, it was a welcome relief to leave my daughter with wonderful providers, my boys with awesome ski instructors, and spend some quality time on the slopes, and in the restuarants, with my husband--and not have to feel guilty about "getting away". After the ski school, the boys were excited to ski with us, not turned off because they were frustrated learning from mom or dad. We didn't let the check in hassle sour our whole week--and we had a blast. Every ski day was a wonderful, positive experience. Not only was this worth every penny, we felt like it was a great value for the $$$ we spent. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank flyinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2006

Snowshoe is the best ski resort in the southeast. Me and 2 others went in late
January and skiied for three days.

Pros: It is an actual resort, with slopes, lessons, restaurants, bars, stores,
and non-ski related stuff to do. Good ski runs. Fast lifts. Good lessons.
Good hotel (if your willing to pay for the good ones)

Cons: its hard to get to. Busy on the weekends. Some of the cheaper hotels are
a madhouse on the weekends.

We stayed in the "silver" mountain lodge which is slope side. The room was
nice with a kitchen and balcony. Bringing your own food from home is a
necessity because the only food store there is ridiculously expensive. They
provide plates and silverware, but don't forget coffee filters, coffee, and dish
soap and a sponge. You don't want to have to buy a sponge for $10 just to wash
your dishes while there. We brought our crock pot and dinner was ready by the
time we got back to our room each night.

Warning! the mountain lodge during the peak season weekend is a madhouse,
complete with screaming kids, teenagers cussing, dirty hallways, garbage in the
elevators, and other crazyness. Imagine chucky-cheese with hotel rooms. There
was a video game arcade in one of the wings of this building, right outside of
our hotel room. But luckily, they shut it down at night so it didn't bother our
sleeping. Overall, the experience in this hotel was good, and well-worth it,
but next time, I'm staying in the expensive condos in the village.

So overall, the whole ski trip was great. Skiing was good, lessons were
thorough, hotel was good. Only two problems arose, 1: any ski resort in the
east coast has a risk of rain during season, it rained the second day so we
skiied on ice, but that is a risk anywhere over here and is not exclusive to
snowshoe. 2: the road there and back is HELL if the weather sucks, My little
2-wheel drive Honda Civic barely made it down the snow-slush covered road after
5 inches of snow. I lost control 3 times even though I was going 10 mph. I saw
3 accidents on the way back.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank webdevmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amo_la_florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cuartos no cerca a pasillos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowshoe
0.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
11 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serenity Now
Serenity Now
#2 of 3 in Snowshoe
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Region: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range: £146 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Village Central adjacent to the Ballhooter lift with ski-in/ski-out convenience. Village shops, restaurants and the Split Rock Pool & Hot Tubs are nearby. Mountain Lodge features private adjacent parking lot, comfortable lobby with large fireplace and scenic overlooks. Complimentary building-wide Wi-Fi broadband internet access is provided. Also featured is a dedicated electronic game roomand indoors "Little Tykes" children's play area. All enclosed common areas and most condos are non-smoking. Auntie Pasta's restaurant and the Comedy Cellar share the Lower Level.Mountain Lodge offers one, two and (a few) three bedroom condos. Most have queen beds & queen sleeper sofas. All condos feature well stocked fully equipped kitchens and walkout balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing