We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best coleslaw” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxfire Grille

Foxfire Grille
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Snowshoe
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best coleslaw”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everyone in our seven person group enjoyed their tasty dinners. The coleslaw was the best I've ever had, and I don't generally like coleslaw. The menu itself is unique.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily43082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    134
    60
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place -- tasty and excellent, consistent food, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ate here for dinner recently during a trip to Snowshoe, and liked it so much we went back the next night. The food is excellent quality, with well-prepared, hearty portions, reasonably priced for resort restaurants. And just a few steps from our lodging at Highland House! The staff at Foxfire were extremely friendly in a very natural and welcoming manner, and they patiently answered questions about dishes and made recommendations as we had kids in our party. We had a big group and no reservations, yet we didn't have to wait at all for a table. The drinks were good and cold, the service was fast, and the food was delicious. Not sure what else to say other than if you're staying at Snowshoe, you should definitely have dinner here at least once!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Adventures_of_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Decor, great food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was there in March '14 and honestly don't remember what I ate. What I do remember was I ate at the bar, the food was great as was the service and beer. Plus the decor was warm and inviting. Easily the best restaurant experience I had at Snowshoe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our very first stop on our very first visit to Snowshoe! It really set the mood for a mountain top vacation. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was delicious. Also, the service was, yet again, fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1023Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
535 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had dinner here twice during our stay in Snowshoe. Initially it's due to it being within walking distance from where we were staying, as it was quite cold (8 degrees – feels like minus 11!). However we really liked the place after our first visit so there was no reason not to go back as there were other menu items we wanted to try. Food was quite good, and price was reasonable. It was busy during dinner despite the low occupancy numbers at the resort so clearly a favorite with many others. The soups were delicious – we tried black bean and clam chowder (rich flavors), the burger was good, and so were the salad with grilled chicken, mushroom raviolis (tasty and cooked just right), and the BBQ ribs (we had a half rack and wished we got a whole one). Nice hearty portions, perfect for after a day on the slopes. Will go back again for sure on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foxfire Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing