We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Asia

Taste of Asia
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Absolutely Wonderful. Taste of Tokyo Hibachi is more than enough for 2. The crazy roll is a nice way to be introduced to Sushi. Staff is excellent

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjgoherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place used to be soooo delicious. Not so much lately. What happens?? Food and service just OK and the place stinks now... I mean it really stinks?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdgySu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, West Virginia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good tasting Asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Taste of Asia offers great tasting food. I wish it were a little bit pricey, but it is very good Asian food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fpalmer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Typical Chinese takeout cuisine served in a semi-formal environment, which equals higher prices. The food was bland. There were six of us in the party and we all had the same opinion of the food. Service was fine. Food was just too expensive for what it was.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USFlyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I ate lunch at Taste of Asia today. It is a regular restaurant atmoshere but seemed very clean. It is located in a part of South Charleston that has other ethnic restaurants nearby. Also, tourists new to the area should walk to the historic Indian Mound located just a block away.
I had forgotten how extensive the menu is, comprising both Thai and Chinese food. We started with orders of Tuna and Salmon Sashimi, a "Godzilla Roll", and some soup. My Thai soup (Tom Yum Koong) arrived before the sushi, which was fine with me. This was a spicy soup made of shrimp and clear broth with lemon grass and tomatoes. It had a nice flavor to it. Next came our sashimi and the roll. The sashimi was very good; fresh and nice-sized pieces, served with the standard wasabi and ginger. The "godzilla roll" had a nice presentation on a banana leaf with the sauce drizzled on it. It had too many components to mention, but taste good. I thought it a little too busy but my son said it was "really good".
We also had the Kung Pao Delight which was chicken, beef, and pork. I would recommend this to couples, families, and business meals, but remember the menu is extensive so some choices may not be as good as the ones I ate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Asia also viewed

 
South Charleston, WV
 
South Charleston, WV
 

Been to Taste of Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing