We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed overnight for a conference, room was very clean and staff very friendly. Asked for a late check-out and the staff was very accomadating. I did not know there was a beautiful indoor pool, so I did not use it but it would have been very relaxing. Food for breakfast was very good also. I would stay there again. foleytblue

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foleytblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We so appreciate your comments and we hope to continue to satisfy every guest.
We hope to see you again if you are in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
11
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This location provided the quality I have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. A very good place to overnight when traveling. However, DO NOT order a pizza from Slyce. I waited until after 2:00 a.m. for an order made before midnight and never did get my pizza despite having called twice more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HummerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
THANK YOU, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will personally talk to SLYCE about your order but, on their behalf we would to apologize. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa Passes, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was great! the room was clean, the staff was very friendly, and anything we needed the front desk offered very quickly. The small "kitchen" was a very nice touch, as well as the cleanliness of the bathroom and jacuzzi tub. the bed was also pretty comfortable considering it wasn't home. the building was very secure, and we never had that "oh, crap! This is sketchy!" feeling! Overall, we really love this place and it's now our home away from home when we just need to get away and relax for a few days!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello, sometimes we don't understand them either. I want to thank you for your feedback. All feedback is important to us and it helps us improve and with your review it lets us give ourselves a small pat on the back. I'm so glad you shared your thoughts with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for some local activities. It was convenient and clean! Both required standards for me! Easy access to food and fun. Good local shopping. Only problem is the weekend traffic. I thought I was Black Friday shopping..... Don't know if it was due to the events surrounding or just the fact that it was a Saturday evening. If you can deal with the traffic... Try it! I would do it again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniedawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hello, yes the traffic gets a bit crazy on weekends. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback we so appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We found the hotel common areas to be somewhat dirty - the carpets were worn in the middle and not recently vacuumed. In my room, the clock alarm, which we did not set, woke us up at 5 AM and would not turn off. I had to pull the plug, which was difficult to do since it was behind a heavy fixture. Shortly after I stayed here, a guest died at this hotel in early 2012 due to carbon monoxide poisoning.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear J M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies the condition of our property and your room accommodation fell below your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that these will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
247 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

I am a Road Warrior and have stayed at this property numerous times over the past few years and I can honestly say that it is the nicest Holiday Inn Express that you will find anywhere around.
Updated rooms, excellent location for shopping and dining, ( all within easy walking distance) and the friendliest staff that you will come across. I get greeted by name when I am coming in or leaving for the day everytime.
No worries staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Mr. Wildcat,

THANK YOU for such positive comments. It is our goal to make all our happy and I am so glad we succeeded with you. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
345 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Fairly typical HIE, but needs attention: walls in the room had been patched, but not painted; deadbolt lock was extremely difficult to close; soap scum in the shower. I expected better for this price. Large room with fridge & microwave.

Many restaurants nearby, but all are lower priced chains (Applebees, etc).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear ClevelandJP,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
519 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge
Address: 95 R H L Blvd, South Charleston, WV 25309-8277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston-Southridge features 84 guest rooms five levels. We are conveniently located between two shopping plazas and two dozen restaurants are nearby. Additionally, we are convenient to downtown Charleston and Yeager Airport. Hotel features include: two meeting rooms equipped with high speed internet access, an indoor pool, hot tub, free local phone calls and a complimentary continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest room amenities include: coffee makers, high speed internet access, iron & ironing boards, hairdryers and two phones with two separate phone lines, mini refrigerator and microwave. Visit South Charleston, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge Hotel South Charleston
Holiday Inn South Charleston
South Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing