We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The service is great at this hotel - the friendliest staff I have seen in a while. It is everything you would expect from a HI Express: clean, decent breakfast, friendly staff, and good value. It did have an indoor pool (that I didn't see advertised on the website). This was a pleasant surprise for the kids. The location is also great as it is in a large shopping center near restaurants and stores, and only a few minutes from downtown. The internet worked well and the amenities were all good. My only complaint was that the lobby area was small, making for an odd layout in the breakfast area and a tight fit to the pool with the vending machines in that hallway. A minor complaint to an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear kingmba,

I want to sincerely thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about your experience. We love to hear that the hotel was everything you expected and the pool was a surprise for your kids. We constantly strive to have all of our guest love our hotel as much as we do. We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,
Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I reserved the room online and thought I was booking for the HIX Civic Center on Kanawha Boulevard, however, when I went to check-in, I realized that my room was booked at the HIX Southridge on RHL Boulevard. The HIX Civic Center was not available at the time I made the reservation, but on the night of my stay, there were quite a few rooms available. However, the reservation I made through Get a Room.com was non-cancellable, so I could not change hotels. Furthermore, the HIX Southridge does not have a shuttle service, so I had to hire a taxi to go to my meeting at the Civic Center.
When I checked in to the Southridge HIX, there was no water. I checked with the front desk and was informed by the manager that it would be back on in about an hour. Approximately 2 hours later the water was still not on and I was told it would be about another hour. The manager was apologetic, very courteous, and even provided free drinking water due to the inconvenience. I went to my meeting at the Civic Center and when I returned later that evening, the water was back on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Frank R,

I want to thank you for staying at our hotel. Many times reservations booked via third party sites can not be cancelled. I want to again apologize about the water situation at our hotel, and thank you for understanding. We hope when you are back in the Charleston area you choose to stay with us.

Linda Porter; Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I used my points for a get away for my wife and I we chose this location for all of the nearby shopping ..we arrived and were greeted by a very friendly gentlemen lobby was clean and well kept room was clean and descent sized, bathroom was clean with a beautiful glass sink which I have never saw in any other HIE great water pressure endless hot water.. was not impressed with chair in the room not comfortable and had very low arms but that wasnt a huge issue now the only real problem was the bed I stay in motels over 200 days a year and stay in HIE on a regular basis and I must say this was the worst and hardest bed I have ever slept on..esp being a HIE I was disappointed usually HIE has the most comfortable beds of anybody..not here this was the worst ever..besides this all was good... people, breakfast and cleanliness..I would probably not stay here again unless speaking with manager first to see if mattress' have been replaced with standard HIE mattress...

Room Tip: I would check mattress comfortability before taking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear teamster175,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. I am glad to hear you were happy with the hotel with the exception of the beds. Guest feedback is greatly appreciated; we learn and improve because of what guest share. Again, thanks for your review.

Sincerely, Linda Porter, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My room was amazing. Huge bed, huge tv, desk....everything was clean!I As a woman traveling alone I felt very safe. Breakfast was amazing. I'll definitely stay here again.

I checked out the pool but didn't use it. VERY quiet hotel - I didn't see anyone but the parking lot was almost full.

Check in was very easy and the man working was very pleasant, nice and helpful. Checkout took about 5 seconds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello Jennifer B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We are delighted to hear your good words regarding our hotel We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Sincerely Linda Porter; Guest Service Manager; Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very happy with everything about this stay. The staff was outstanding and the room was very clean and well appointed. The free breakfast was nice and well-stocked. They have complimentary cookies and snacks throughout the day and plenty of newspapers to grab on your way out. The gym was small but had everything we needed. The pool is closed for renovation, but I wasn't interested in using that anyway. The location is fantastic, and while there is no restaurant on site, the Longhorn steakhouse next door was excellent. I was very pleased with this hotel, and even though it is a little farther off the highway that I would like, the convenience of having so many food options and shopping all within walking distance is really great. It is one of the few hotels in Charleston that is not loud at night due to highway or train noise, and I have stayed at close to every hotel in the city. I slept like a rock for once. I will stay here in the future on every business trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank FrequentTravels3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We are delighted to hear your good words regarding our hotel being in a superb location, helpful staff and clean rooms. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Sincerely, Linda Porter; Guest Service Manager; South Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice location for a one-night stay. Near the highway and lots of shopping and restaurants. Only a ten-minute drive from Downtown Charleston. Stopped here for an unplanned overnight, they manager was very accomadating and offered me a premium rates because of how late I arrived. Very helpful. Rooms were clean and in good order. No construction occur on the premises. All staff were cordial and helpful. Breakfast was also pretty good! I would definitely use this facility again!

Room Tip: First floor was nice and easily accessible. I would ask for a room closer to the front of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Ashley L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We are delighted to hear your good words regarding our hotel being in a superb location, helpful staff and clean rooms. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is easy! Jim, Mia, Michael, LORIA, the bartenders and everyone must have been trained at Ritz Carlton for nice people! i told the GM that the next time we bring our 250 group in, we are a lock. Embassy Suites downtown no more. Your people can't compare and our participants are raped by that ludicrous 12 dollar parking fee. #knowyoureconomy! really? what is so special about that scank garage? Welcome Holiday! Good by Embassy!! Many more thousands to book!!! See you soon!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank You So Much. It is all about the people!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
1,074 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge

Address: 95 R H L Blvd, South Charleston, WV 25309-8277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: £91 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston-Southridge features 84 guest rooms five levels. We are conveniently located between two shopping plazas and two dozen restaurants are nearby. Additionally, we are convenient to downtown Charleston and Yeager Airport. Hotel features include: two meeting rooms equipped with high speed internet access, an indoor pool, hot tub, free local phone calls and a complimentary continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest room amenities include: coffee makers, high speed internet access, iron & ironing boards, hairdryers and two phones with two separate phone lines, mini refrigerator and microwave. Visit South Charleston, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge Hotel South Charleston
Holiday Inn South Charleston
South Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing