We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Would recommend this hotel, it has great amenties and awesome hotel staff, have stayed in a lot of IHG properties and this one in this area is the best! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Awesome area!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Chris T,

I was so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to thank you for staying with us and all of our IHG hotels. I am glad you were happy with all the amenities and that the staff made your stay wonderful. We hope to welcome you back when you are in the area.


Sincerely,
Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here once before and the review wasn't so good because of a billing issue. I stayed here again over the weekend and it was very nice. Only one guy in check in, very nice and professional. The room was very modern and clean. The hotel smelled clean, which is a plus for me. Best thing was the shower, the water pressure was great with a large shower head. The TV was big too. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good, no special tips needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouAnnJustice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear LouAnnJustice11,

I was so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay the second time around. I want to thank you for giving us another chance, it is our goal to make all of our guest happy. I hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were just traveling through & stayed here over one evening on points. The hotel staff was friendly, the room was clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was typical for HIE. The hotel was located a little off of our path, but worth it. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Muchfuntravelin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We are delighted to hear your good words regarding our hotel's staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you.

Sincerely,
Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager; South Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family has stayed at several hotels in Charleston, normally in the downtown area. This was the first time we stayed in South Charleston and will definitely return. While this hotel is a short, 10 minute drive to Laidley Field, the Civic Center and the mall, it is also surrounded by much shopping and restaurant choices, including the Longhorn Steakhouse right next door. The rooms were clean, beds very comfortable (including four pillows on each bed), the showers refreshing. The complimentary breakfast was hotel standard, but still a very convenient start to our full days at the state high school championship track meet. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and out was smooth. The HI Express-Southridge is definitely our new go-to hotel when in the Charleston area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoMountaineers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Gomountaineers85,

Thank you!!!!!! I am so glad to hear that our hotel is now your favorite place to stay when in Charleston. I am really glad to hear that all aspects of the hotel were to your liking. We all work very hard to give great service and product to our guest and it warms my heart to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. We all love our hotel and we are happy to hear you loved your experience with us. We look forward to having you back hopefully for your next track meet.

Sincerely,

Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites; S. Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My family just finished up a 6 day trip from Georgia to Canada, and this hotel was our first stop en route.
We have agreed that it was the best hotel experience we had on the trip.
Front desk/check in/check out: Friendly, efficient, and the clerk went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. He was able to take care of a room situation that was my fault during booking, which was unbelievably helpful after 8 hours on the road with 2 small children. He also changed us to a ground floor room at my request to facilitate dragging in luggage for 4 people. He made sure to fill me in completely concerning breakfast and the swimming pool. We also received 2 bottles of water for being Platinum members.
Room: The room was quite large (2 Queen Beds on the ground floor). We found the beds to be comfortable, the bedding to be more than sufficient, and as always we love the variety of pillows.
In room amenities: The fridge was wonderful to have available. And can I just say that I immediately ordered the same shower head found in the bathroom when I returned home? Plenty of towels and I loved the unique sink.
Cleanliness of room: Room was sparkly clean.
Hotel amenities: The indoor heated pool was wonderful after a long drive. No jacuzzi. The pool was an excellent temperature and very clean. There were some rowdy teenage boys in the pool while we were there, but these things happen and are not reflection on the hotel.I loved that the exercise room was separated from the pool facility by a large window, so my husband was able to work out while still being able to see us. Pool towels were abundant.
Breakfast: Plentifully stocked with multiple options, we enjoyed breakfast immensely. This hotel did not contain the famous pancake maker that I have read so much about (unless I missed it), but you couldn't ask for a better variety of milk, fruit, cereal, eggs, bagels, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Lauren P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We are delighted to hear your good words regarding our hotel being in a superb location, helpful staff and clean rooms. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Great place! Truly hospitable staff.

They seem to have put a lot of money back into this property.

I booked a suite and it was above average, for a Holiday Inn. Very nice!

Make sure you request a room on the opposite end of the building from the RR tracks unless you have a train fetish.

My room was in the middle of the building and noise was not an issue.

Awesome pool and a free breakfast Buffett!

I highly recommend this place. I would rate it a 5/5 within the HI brand if the location was better.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank UnitedMillionMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear UnitedMillionMiller,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your recent stay with us. I am so glad you noticed our changes and enjoyed the hotel. We sincerely appreciate you kind words and hope to welcome you back soon.


Sincerely,
Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here 1 night on business. This is the nicest Holiday Inn Express I've ever encountered. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Located in a great and convenient part of South Charleston. Room was in great shape. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLTravelDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scwvexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello STLtraveldave,

I was so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I also think we are the best Holiday Inn Express; but I am biased. I am glad our staff was helpful and the room met all of your expectations. I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to let us know . We hope if you are in the Charleston area in the future please stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Linda Porter
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites; Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
266 reviews
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
605 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge

Address: 95 R H L Blvd, South Charleston, WV 25309-8277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: £93 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston-Southridge features 84 guest rooms five levels. We are conveniently located between two shopping plazas and two dozen restaurants are nearby. Additionally, we are convenient to downtown Charleston and Yeager Airport. Hotel features include: two meeting rooms equipped with high speed internet access, an indoor pool, hot tub, free local phone calls and a complimentary continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Guest room amenities include: coffee makers, high speed internet access, iron & ironing boards, hairdryers and two phones with two separate phone lines, mini refrigerator and microwave. Visit South Charleston, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston / Southridge Hotel South Charleston
Holiday Inn South Charleston
South Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing