We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently used the Wingate in South Charleston to reserve a block for my wedding guests. From the first time I contacted them, the staff was so incredibly friendly. Donna helped me set up my block, and she was just wonderful.

My now in-laws worked with Donna and the Larry (I believe he was the manager) to set up a breakfast for my out of town guests for the day after the wedding. The hotel offers a free breakfast, but basically they set up a room for us to use so that we could all eat together and congregate a little before all heading home. They were incredibly easy to work with on this. Then on Friday, our rehearsal dinner location was rained out, and Larry was so helpful in letting us relocate there. It really resolved a lot of stress on my part.

There were a lot of little things that really added up to big things that the staff demonstrated that just really showed that they cared about the guest experience.

Now onto the hotel itself - the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear AmandaJo614,

Thank you for the kind words about the staff. It really is all about our people. We were glad we could accommodate your guests, especially when we experienced rain and you had to move to someplace indoors. Think about us for your 1 year anniversary.

S. Arnold, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

All family member really on their rooms. We also had a reception, the staff went out of their way, the setup and cleaned up, very fair pricing. We also used to conference rooms that may before and after the wedding convenient for bride's and groom's parties.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Juanjohn,

We love having Wedding parties able to enjoy the hotel and experience the quaint areas for gatherings. Thanks for staying at Wingate in South Charleston, WV.

S. Arnold, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The beds were very nice, we had the children’s channel so we could relax after a long trip and the kids weren’t rambunctious, and there was plenty of other space for family to come by after dinner to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear John B,

So glad you found us to be family friendly. Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay.

S. Arnold, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Lochanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great place to stay from start to finish. Check-in was great and if you are a Rewards member, there's a welcome gift for you. The room is very nice and comfortable. Good TV and the wifi is as good as what one would get at home which is to say it's great. The breakfast is better than most hotels with fresh biscuits/gravy and eggs. Make your own waffles, cereals, fresh fruit. They even have a refreshment station if you want soda. The hotel is a couple miles outside of Charleston, but it is no more than two minutes from an expressway entrance/exit. I may never have to travel through here again, but if I do, this is the first place I'm looking at to book. Very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Daniel M,

You mentioned all the right things, you’re as good as our sales team. We appreciate you highlighting the services and amenities and yes we may not be downtown but the good news is your not downtown. Thanks and hope you do need to come this way again.

S. Arnold, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing