We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your typical buffet with better than average steak”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ryan's Family Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Chapmanville, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Your typical buffet with better than average steak”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

For a buffet restaurant the steak is not that bad. It actually had good flavor and didn't need help from a steak sauce. First time we had eat here in a longtime. We will be going back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamson, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really bad experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was very negative and tense. We had to wait on cashier who was chatting with a customer in the dining area, which continued throughout our meal. Our server was almost non-existent: no refills, straws unwrapped when given to us, 3 tables before we found a clean one, rude and I attentive staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krmoore2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The buffet has just about anything you could want. The salad bar is nice. Its a wonderful place to go for lunch. As well as the employees were friendly, and place was clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Heavily Worn Restaurant Building”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When this restaurant first opened several years ago, there was a line of people out the door to get in the place, but since another buffet restaurant opened nearby the business has went down. The good thing is there is no waiting in line.

The food they serve is very good and plentiful with full salad bar, meats and vegetables, taco bar, pizza, and steak.

The staff is friendly and helpful with plenty of refills on drinks.

The downside is the restaurant interior needs refurbished. The material on the booth seats is coming apart and your first reaction is, "Do I want to sit on that?" The restrooms are not clean and not very well monitored.

Overall, the food is good, the staff is friendly, the interior of the building is worn, and the restrooms aren't clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inez, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't be beat”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This place can't be beat if you are into all you can eat food bars. They have such a huge variety and it is beyond words

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mararel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryan's Family Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ryan's Family Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing