We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful experience! Douglas Falls B&B”

Douglas Falls The Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thomas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Douglas Falls The Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Thomas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First time to Thomas West Virginia. Our daughter and son in law have been to Thomas and surrounding area annually since they moved to DC. We decided to spend the post Christmas holiday season experiencing this winter wonderland. Diana and Tim's B&B is warm, welcoming, unique, very clean and just simply wonderful. You can hear the waterfalls outside your bedroom windows. The trails to go see the waterfalls are right outside the front door. Definitely will do this again, maybe a spring or fall trip. Dogs are welcome. The views are amazing and if you are up for a good people, good food (Tim is an excellent cook) and a place to simply let all your stress go out the door, this is the place. Off the beaten path but so worth the trek, local sights to see or visit within walking or short drive from Douglas Falls B&B are Downtown Thomas Art galleries, shops and coffee cafe's, The Purple Fiddle - a music filled bar/gathering place that is a must to see, Canaan valley for skiers, snow tubing, ice skating, down hill skiing etc., White Grass café and ski hill has family friendly cabin style home cooked meals, ( Chip "the owner" is a hoot) and live entertainment (our entertainment for the evening meal was Diana from the very same 'Douglas Falls B&B') and so much more to mention but not enough space to list - what's not to love? This casual place charmed me with character you won't find anywhere else but here in the countryside mountains of West Virginia. Unique and wonderful experience! Definitely will spread the word to friends and family to consider this as a trip to add to their bucket list of places to see and enjoy. We did, and we look forward to another family trip to this secret gem. Thank you Diana and Tim for such a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed here 3-4 times in the past 2 years. Each time was an outstanding experience! Very clean and nice. The breakfast is outstanding. Fresh and different each time. If you like to fall asleep with the sound of a crashing waterfall, this is the place. Tim & Diane are very warm & friendly. We now consider them friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a great place to spend the night if you are in the Canaan Valley- Thomas-Davis area! The B&B is NOT Victorian (thank goodness!) but is very New-Age and contemporary. I find this atmosphere relaxing and one that meshes well with the beautiful sounds and views of nature. Outside our window was a huge pine tree with lots of bird action. The waterfalls on the river lulled us to sleep outside our window. A gourmet breakfast of healthy grains and fresh veggies and fruit was beyond belief. The owners- Diana and Tim - are so warm and hospitable! We immediately felt like good friends spending the night! Negatives - the drive back to the B&B is off-putting due to the burned-out houses along the way! (Not sure what happened there but don't want to speculate either!) Go visit this place soon - or whenever you need some peace and quiet and a nature "fix!"

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Appalachianwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hey, I can only say that when I walk on a floor I like it to be warm. Well, this place accomodates that with hydronicaly heated floors!! The breakfast are nothing to sneeze at either, with a secret family recipe apple dumpling. OMG, to coin a phrase. The folks here make you feel like its youre house, and it just happened to be their turn to cook breakfast. Did I mention that its less than 100yds to the Rails-to-Trails system and whitewater rafting? It snowed overnight, about a foot, so if you go in the winter, so if you go to WV in the winter, you know you need your AWD vehicle. ps..travel was in 2009, but 2012 was the earliest date available to choose.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Douglas Falls The Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Falls The Bed and Breakfast

Address: 62 Shay Ln, Thomas, WV 26292-8011
Region: United States > West Virginia > Thomas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thomas
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing