We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm and quality”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm and quality”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This hotel was the fourth in our recent week-long tour of lincolnshire and Norfolk. Having been "on the road" for six days when we arrived we were somewhat frazzled....but after a friendly welcome from Chris and a cup of tea by the pool, the world seemed well again. Our room was large, well maintained and comfortable. The Bathroom well appointed and large......separate shower and bath!

Dinner in the evening was an event. Drinks in the lounge while we studied the menu (not a huge choice.....3 starters/mains/desserts......but well thought out and it changed each day. Excellent service of well cooked/presented food.

The whole ambience was one of a private house party with attentive and pleasant hosts.....we'd definitely go again.

Only one disappointment.....Breakfast. I have a cooked breakfast which was individually cooked to order and composed, largely, of locally sourced produce. However, my wife doesn't eat a cooked breakfast and there was no buffet of fruit/muesli/cereals/pastries etc. A choice of cereals/half a grapefruit served in the bowl. followed by toast is a poor comparision with the competition and left my wife feeling "short-changed". They found a banana for her to have with her breakfast, but the request for fruit seemed to surprise them! A shame, it was the only blemish on an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have road noise....but this dies down in the evening. As far as we are aware all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon_Laddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    36
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
201
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stated at the old rectory for 2 nights on business. It is located in an idilic private location and was easily accessible from my place of work. I was staying alone and was made to feel extremely welcome, 'at home', safe and secure. I was located in a room in the old coach house, which was close to the owners accommodation, this made me feel as though my lone stay had been considered! The whole building is extremely secure and residents are provided with their own keys and fobs for access - must admit I loved this, better than any 24 hour manned reception. Meals were cooked to order and drinks in the drawing room allowed for residents to comfortably sit and chat to eat other. The food was outstanding, my initial thoughts were that it was pricey, but upon tryin found to be more than good value for money - amazing quality products, you therefore get well more than you pay for and if you stay at this hotel and don't eat there at least once during your stay, you are missing something exceptional!! Marmalade and jam at breakfast are out of this world and I couldn't help
but make room in my case to purchase a couple of jars on departure. However, it's now eaten so I am considering contacting chris the owner to see if he would be willing to ship some to me :0) Unfortunately the weather was a little cool on the week of my stay, which was disappointing as the outdoor heated pool was very tempting, clean and well maintained. I was actually very sad to leave on the morning of my check out, I went home feeling very refreshed and like I had been on a short holiday as opposed to working away. I definately can't wait to visit Norwich with work again, there would be no other choice in accommodation. If your holidaying in Norwich, this is certainly the place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegemma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

this B & B is clean and comfortable, but is overpriced for what it is. Pool unavailable for time we were there (unheated and weather not that great - not sure it was as well maintained as could have been). Conference breakfast seemed to cause hold ups to the rest of us paying guests. Better value (by that i dont necessarily mean cheaper) with nicer ambience to be had elsewhere. Room service supposedly available according to paperwork in room but didn't seem to be on offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnesessex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked here 3 nights after reading reviews from TripAdvisor and because we did not have to make a deposit and could cancel without penalty if our plans changed. Driving from LHR with traffic and road work, it took about 3 hours. The hotel is convenient to the ring road with only 3 quick roundabouts to the gate or straight into Norwich on Yarmouth Rd. This is a busy road that parallels a canal with several pubs. When we arrived, one of the pubs up the road was jammed with live music and people; but once in the hotel, set well back behind a nice lawn & garden, we were unaware of any noise. The hotel is a very short drive to the coast. We easily drove the entire coastline from Cromer to Kings Lynn and back with many stops along the way. We also explored quaint villages in Suffolk as an easy day trip.

We very much liked the exterior appearance of the hotel which is warm and inviting. We arrived prior to dinner service & were quickly shown to our room without much explanation. The hallway to the room had an old beam running down it. Our twin room was in the rear corner overlooking the pleasant pool which was open during our stay. Although we were touring and did not have time to use it, it is a nice relaxing spot for a weekend away, well tended, off the conservatory. Our room was large with an old fireplace, pictured on their website, adequately furnished with relaxing colors of sea foam & pale pink. There is a telephone, TV, coffee/tea service with biscuits and an armoire - lots of space & creaky floors. The bathroom was very large with both a tub and a new shower, completely tiled, very clean and nicely redone, with a Pergo type floor. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We were emailed about linens & there were sheets and non-goose down on the beds when we arrived which was excellent.

There was a choice of breakfasts. We stuck with the full English which was like most others. We had 2 different servers while there. The first 2 mornings we were given 2 toasts each & standard breakfast and a pot of coffee for 2 that only held 2 cups. We kept asking for more coffee, feeling demanding. The last morning a different server asked if we'd like 2 eggs, gave us 4 toasts each and gladly refilled our coffee pot. We do suggest giving each person their own pot since they are small. Another couple [British] also asked for 2 refills the first morning so it wasn't just us.

We had a small problem with the hotel being locked early on Sun. evening & our paddles did not work to open the front door. After trying all the doors and knocking, the owner passed through the house and opened it for us., to our relief. Turns out our paddle wasn't activated for all 3 nights.

We did not eat here as we were on the road most of time & they do not serve on Sundays.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We recenlty stayed at the Old Rectory for arelaxing weekend, we had a wonderful light and airy bedroom, which was very tasterfully decorated with wonderful bedding and a comfortalbe 6ft bed.

The evening meal was all home cooked with vegetables and friut form the garden well worth the money.

The owners were simply delightful Mike and Sally making us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble .

The gardens are wonderfuuly kept with areas for relaxing and for those more energetic a new tennis court, next time perhaps!!!


Value for money and i would recommenfd anyone to visit. I am plannnig for my husband and our friend to spend his next birthdday at the Old Rectory . I know we will receive the very best hospitality

Many many thanks

Sandra

Room Tip: I tihnk all the rooms are great. we would have loved a room in the garden next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyphillips12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This little gem is close to the centre of fascinating Norwich and yet with it's secluded grounds and restful atmosphere it could be miles away from the hurly-burly. The restaurant food must be among the best eateries in the area, the standard was consistently high with attentive, friendly staff. Our standard room ( the only one left when we booked) was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The only criticism we could make was that though the tea was laudably fairtrade it wasn't strong enough for our taste.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A great family run 'posh' b and b with great location. The rooms are very clean, lovely staff, great breakfasts and even has a honesty bar - great touch.

Could not find any faults at all....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minsterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,143 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,600 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing