We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed with my husband recently and was very impressed. If your a Coeliac and Lactos intolerant this is the Hotel for you, nothing was too much trouble for their chief and staff. Lovely room, garden and pool. Will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
195
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

All the details well looked after. Excellent personal service. Food for dinner first rate. We stayed in room 1 on the first floor with a large balcony over the garden that had as much space as many suites in some hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I took my partner here in late June 2012 for his birthday. We found it because of the reviews on TripAdvisor, and I wholly second the five stars most have given it!

We stayed in Room 1, which is definitely the one to go for, with its ivy-covered balcony and spacious bathroom. The whole room was comfy, and the food in the restaurant memorably good. The swimming pool is fun if you don't mind sharing with the white duck which seems to 'own' it! Owners really friendly, took time to chat to us. Excellent location for getting into Norwich centre, but far out enough that you're not in the metropolis.

I think my one, tiny criticism would be that the menus for dinner are not that veggie-friendly, so if you are veggie, make sure you let them know in advance.

We will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had the most fantastic stay at this beautiful hotel. From the moment we arrived (offered tea and biscuits in the drawing room) to when we left, the service was faultless. Our room was immaculate with plenty of those little touches that make a difference (e.g. fresh fruit when we arrived). The food was some of the best I have ever tasted and easily on a par with a number of the London starred restaurants that charge 3x as much. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H&RKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel with great charm and character, and just minutes from Norwich city centre. A warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. We stayed in room number 1 which has a balcony. Room and bathroom both spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable.

The food was of exceptional quality served by a friendly team and we would definitely recommend staying here. Didn't get a chance to check the pool out because it rained, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here on business a number of time in 2010 and it was amazing. Couldn't fault the service/food/owners etc...one of the best places I have ever stayed at.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a lovely, comfortable small hotel providing excellent service and wonderful food. We usually like to try different restaurants when we're on holiday, but after dining at The Old Rectory on our first evening, we decided that we couldn't miss out on the chance to eat there again. The food is really exceptional, and it is a delightful start to the evening to peruse the menu over a drink in the hotel drawing room. There's an excellent and well-priced wine list too. Breakfast is equally good - everything freshly cooked to order. The owners, Chris and Sally, have created an informal but very attentive atmosphere, and we were very sad to leave - the sign of a good holiday. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the attention to detail was very good, including the toiletries being replaced when needed - so many hotels skimp on little details like that. The hotel is a beautiful old house, in very attractive grounds with a heated swimmming
pool. A perfect setting for a trip to Norwich or The Broads. We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service to discerning travellers in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and artisan bread from a Norwich baker. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing