We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Really kind, helpful staff. Nice rooms. Food quality is really good, could do with more than 1 piece of bacon for breakfast though, but well cooked and presented, plates quite rightly were pre-heated - nice touch.
Wi Fi is being re-done as it was slow in room 5.

Overall I would stay here again without any doubts. More 3-4 stars than 2 !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
195
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

A lovely looking period house with all the right decor and furnishing. All in pristine condition.
The hosts are very welcoming and eager to please. When questioned whether we felt cold, the heating was switched on.
The rooms were spacious and well furnished. Beds comfortable and bathrooms spotless.
The evening meals were imaginative and changed every night. Needless to say they were also delicious.
One small quibble; the cooked breakfast didn't live up to the evening meals. One morning I had 1/4 of a tomato,1/2 a mushroom and a single thin rasher of bacon This did let them down a bit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side could be quieter because one could hear railway noise from the south rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Having moved away near London a few years ago, we visit Norfolk 2 or 3 times a year to see family and friends. The Old Rectory is a lovely place to stay, better than most because of the attention to detail. Our room was on the first floor, it was very large with french doors which opened up onto a sunny balcony which overlooked the beautiful landscaped gardens. Although at the front of the hotel, we slept fine with the window open as all the trees took away all the expected road noise - bliss! The food is very, very good indeed - we had three courses and cheese, as it was comparable with London but at a fraction of the cost! The terrace area outside is lovely to sit with tea, feels like you are a million miles away from the city, but in actual fact just a short stroll across the road is the river and it's beautiful waterside pubs and restaurants. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALittleBitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Rectory. The room and house was lovely and the breakfast and dinner were wonderful. There is an unheated pool, but it is not really big enough to swim in - good to cool off if the weather is hot.

If i had one complaint, we were charged for tea/coffee when we took the expensive DBB option - we thought this would be included and it felt a bit mean.

Lovely lively waitress at dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden, and this was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorriemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have not stayed at any other hotels in Norwich, but my recent experience would make me support its number one placing.The welcome was warm,the rooms are large and very comfortable.The staff are friendly and helpful,and Chris is an excellent host. The food is very good, with a different menu each night.The grounds are quiet.There is a small outdoor swimming pool.Breakfast can be taken put on the patio weather permitting.The home made muesli is very good, as are the locally produced bacon and sausages. The dishes produced by the chef for dinner are imaginative, well cooked ,and nicely presented.
The hotel is just outside Norwich. You could walk into the city along the river,and there is a frequent bus service .The river is a short walk away.
The only possible niggle is that there is some noise from the nearby railway line, which is effectively masked if the secondary glazing is closed.
We very much enjoyed our stay, and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed with my husband recently and was very impressed. If your a Coeliac and Lactos intolerant this is the Hotel for you, nothing was too much trouble for their chief and staff. Lovely room, garden and pool. Will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

All the details well looked after. Excellent personal service. Food for dinner first rate. We stayed in room 1 on the first floor with a large balcony over the garden that had as much space as many suites in some hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service to discerning travellers in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and artisan bread from a Norwich baker. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing