We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines meal”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Valentines meal”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Excellent friendly welcoming service in The Dining Room at The Old Rectory from a delightful waitor called Sam. Superb five course meal which was well cooked, well presented and delicious. Pre drinks and coffee in the comfortable lounge with a log fire. Everything made my husband and I feel welcome, relaxed and looked after. We will be back and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eversleigh120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
197
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I have been travelling around the country staying in hotels as part of my work. I rarely write reviews. This hotel has been an absolute find. I have found that everything about The Old Rectory and Chris to be 1st class. The food is outstanding. Just stay here and have an evening meal and you will see what I mean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the old rectory for one night as a stop over in the area. The hotel is fantastic. Chris and his staff are so friendly and the service was excellent. The building has lots of character and is well maintained. The quality of the food is first class with a great wine list. We had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed and it was so quiet. Will definitely return at some point in the future

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnrosslinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay at this lovely little hotel. The house is set in a lovely garden with a variety of interesting fern trees (according to my wife who is the gardener in our family). We arrived on the Saturday night. The staff had made sure that the room was warm when we got there. We had dinner in the hotel which was very nice. On the Sunday morning we rose early and went for a walk in the broad (East Anglian term for a wetland) opposite the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Old Rectory is a great place just a short way out of the centre of Norwich, quiet and serene. There are only 8 rooms, a lovely guest lounge and a pleasant dining room, set in a fine old house in a shady garden with swimming pool. The staff are uniformly excellent, with a truly welcoming attitude and a knack for being helpful. Everything about this place is first rate and the dinners served are wonderful. Buses in to Norwich pass right by the front entrance and make a trip into the city hassle free, which is a big plus as the city is congested with traffic.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so we were happy to be on the second (British first) floor in a lovely twin ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Really kind, helpful staff. Nice rooms. Food quality is really good, could do with more than 1 piece of bacon for breakfast though, but well cooked and presented, plates quite rightly were pre-heated - nice touch.
Wi Fi is being re-done as it was slow in room 5.

Overall I would stay here again without any doubts. More 3-4 stars than 2 !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A lovely looking period house with all the right decor and furnishing. All in pristine condition.
The hosts are very welcoming and eager to please. When questioned whether we felt cold, the heating was switched on.
The rooms were spacious and well furnished. Beds comfortable and bathrooms spotless.
The evening meals were imaginative and changed every night. Needless to say they were also delicious.
One small quibble; the cooked breakfast didn't live up to the evening meals. One morning I had 1/4 of a tomato,1/2 a mushroom and a single thin rasher of bacon This did let them down a bit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side could be quieter because one could hear railway noise from the south rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing