We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Norwich Hotel(Norwich)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Central Hotel(Norwich)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Restaurant
      • Bar/Lounge
      Reviews (344)
      Filter reviews
      344 results
      Traveller rating
      291
      38
      11
      2
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      291
      38
      11
      2
      2
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsdrawing roomcomfortable loungethorpe stthe main housecoach housea pre dinner drinkon arrivalevening mealcooked to orderlocal producestayed longerhuge bathroomnorwich centrebus stopstayed for two nightscooked breakfastweekend break
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      195 - 200 of 344 reviews
      Reviewed 15 June 2013

      We stayed here for one night when the weather was fine and it was lovely. We were met by the owner on arrival and shown to our rooms which were in the coach house. The rooms were large, well furnished and had really large and comfortable beds. The books and choice of CDs were nice touches. As it was very warm we sat outside by the pool, which we were too timid to brave as it was in heated. This was a lovely oasis of calm and we had well priced and very good house champagne as we worked.
      The meal (£28 for three courses) was excellent. The beef main was the highlight. Again the wine was very good. The staff were attentive and polite.
      The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was also lovely.
      This is a good hotel to get away from the hassles of work and relax. Yet it is only 2 miles from a fine city. Could not have chosen better for this occasion.

      Room Tip: The coach house rooms were very nice.
      • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank JRLOTBC
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 June 2013

      I stayed at the Old Rectory for a weekend break in February. We were due to go in January and had our weekend booked... However because of the snow we had to cancel at the very last minute. Chris was so helpful and understanding about our drive up in the snow and didnt mind at all when we said we weren't going to make it because of the bad weather.
      The hotel is lovely and has the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on! It induced sleep!
      We had dinner at the hotel on the Saturday night which was fabulous!!
      I can't fault this hotel and Chris was an amazing host. Anything we asked for was never too much. We will def be returning!

      • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ria S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 27 May 2013

      Cannot find fault with this outstandingly-good hotel.
      Easy booking, warm welcome from the owners, beautiful property, lovingly maintained, excellent bedroom with spectacular views over the garden, outstanding breakfast and dinners, including a nice compact and fair-priced wine list.
      Special mention for the staff - we're all only as good as our staff, and the owners here evidently have this one nailed - lovely people, and seriously efficient too, (not forgetting the first-class chef).
      Hotel is easily placed to take the bus to Norwich centre, or to drive the 30 minutes to Great Yarmouth.
      In summary, go, and experience The Old Rectory - for many reasons it's right up there with the nicest places we have stayed around the world, and extremely fair value for money too.
      Big congratulations to the owners - you have got this right, and you have a beautiful hotel!

      Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 May 2013

      We stayed in the Dowagers Cottage which is a self contained cottage but part of The Old Rectory. My booking experience with the hotel prior to arrival was exceptional. The communication and follow up was five star. We were met upon arrival by Chris. He and his wife are true hoteliers with hearts of servants. The location is perfect and tranquil. Norwich is a two mile, interesting walk away. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. We ate in the hotel one night which to date has been our best meal in England. I do not want to talk it up too much as I want to ensure next time I visit Norwich I can book accommodation here. England's best kept secret.

      • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Dewingsue
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 April 2013

      Picture the scene. It's Easter weekend, Saturday night. You're sitting in the comfortable lounge, log fire roaring. Curtains are drawn against the outside world. You have a drink in your hand and studying the simple menu. You know from last night's experience that dinner tonight is going to be superb. Where else would you rather be.

      This is a lovely, lovely hotel. Quiet and serene. The food is superb, drinks are reasonably priced (there is not bar as such but that's not a problem).

      All credit to Chris for running the place like clockwork (and he is no mean cook himself by the way - he was on duty one of the three nights and lived up to the standard set by the chef).

      Particular credit must go to Sam who is front of house in the evenings - this young man has a great future in whatever he chooses to do.

      • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank johngill
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews