We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really nice hotel.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Our room (No.4) was spacious and well presented, overlooking the garden. There was a large bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Breakfast was cooked to order if hot food was required, but there was plenty of other food to choose from. We also had dinner on one evening and the food was excellent. All the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. If we are in Norwich again this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
197
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lovely hotel for an overnight stay in Norwich. Comfortable, well equipped bedrooms and a lovely dinner - beautifully cooked and presented food. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors and altho we didnt go into the city, we were told the bus route in was right outside the door. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here visiting National Trust houses around Norwich. After lovely but tiring days out it was lovely to get back to the Old Rectory, which has a home from home feel. A huge log fire awaited us each night, followed by an excellent dinner reasonably priced with wines to match. The rooms are very warm and comfortable. We had room 3 with a large bathroom with bath and shower. Bliss. Overlooking the garden and swimming pool. This place has character and comfort, and above all delightful hosts, Chris and Sally, for whom nothing was too much trouble. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OldieDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an excellent three night stay here. Chris and Sally made us very welcome and the rooms were lovely: spacious and well appointed.

As other reviewers have said, dinners were excellent with decently priced wine to accompany.

The location is very convenient for Norwich with a bus stop virtually outside--however, as the weather was good we walked into town, an easy 2 miles next to the river.

It's definitely on the list for a return visit.

Room Tip: I think they're all quite but I really liked the one we had which had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Chris and Sally are exemplary hosts. Very welcoming from the start and all through our three night stay. A very well appointed small hotel our room was lovely and quiet and very well appointed for our needs. A had a old fashioned quality about it; in the very best sense and after an early meal in Norwich it was nice to come back and sit by the log fire in the sitting room, reading a book and enjoying a coffee. Breakfast included locally sourced food and set you up for a day of exploring. We had booked dinner for the Saturday night and my partner is a vegetarian who doesn't like goats cheese! I had let the hotel know in advance and they were able to draw up a special non-carnivore menu for him. It was all very impressive and I cannot rate this hotel highly enough for a relaxing, quality city break. Gold stars all round to Chris and Sally and their team.

Room Tip: The old coach house rooms where we stayed are maybe a bit quieter as they are away from the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hospitality here was outstanding, and our room was very well appointed, large and comfortable. There is also a parlor with a fireplace downstairs that can be used anytime for reading, relaxing, or having a pre-dinner drink brought to you. Chris' welcome was enthusiastic and on our last day he was nice enough to make us an extra-early breakfast since we were heading off for a drive to Heathrow. The location is set way back from a fairly busy road, and as a result is very quiet.

Getting to downtown Norwich from here is easy - although the bus that runs every ten minutes or so from right across the street (L2.50 per person) isn't all that much cheaper for two people than a cab (about L8). It's also fairly easy to drive out of town from here if you're using this as a base to explore some of the surrounding area.

If you are a railfan, a short walk away there's a footbridge you can use to watch the many trains heading east from Norwich Station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I have just spent three glorious nights at piece of English history. The Old Rectory dates back to the early 1700,s but nothing about it suffers from age. The owner, Chris, and his staff are truly helpful and it is obvious that they enjoy the company of the residents. We intended to have an evening meal on just one of the nights but the food persuaded us to eat ‘at home’ for all three nights. We would highly recommend The Old Rectory at Norwich to anyone who appreciates excellent service and the highest quality food.

Room Tip: We were in room number 1. I do not know what the other rooms were like but No 1 was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,411 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing