We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience I've had in a very long time”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience I've had in a very long time”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel - the house and grounds are lovely but the best things about staying here (for 2 nights including dinner & breakfast) were the friendly but not-obtrusive staff and the fabulous meals - quality ingredients beautifully prepared (not rocket science is it, but hard to find). Good location too - easy access to Norwich city centre and a short walk across the road to a nice little nature area. If you like walking around residential streets there are some wonderful properties in the area as well. All-in-all, we had a great time at this place, Chris is an excellent host.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    36
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
201
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stay at the Old Rectory on a fairly regular basis and always feel very much at home. Chris, Sally and staff are always very welcoming. The bedrooms are very well appointed, the food is always excellent. I have yet to try the outside pool, never the right weather. Very easy access to the City.

Room Tip: Very hard to pick one and if I told you then it might not be available for me, all are good. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianS2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This spectacular old building houses some wonderful antiques, lavish furnishings and offers superb gourmet meals. Our room was an assortment of furnishings, part of the Old Coach House the ceiling was very low and the sparkly wallpaper seemed inappropriate. The facilities, tea making, bath robes etc were thoughtfully supplied and the owner Chris was friendly. It is situated a short bus ride from the city centre in attractive gardens.

Room Tip: Probably best on first floor of Main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandJill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddock wood
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not the plushest, not the fanciest, nowhere near the most expensive (in fact excellent value) but this hotel was the most welcoming place I have visited for years. Travelling for work normally means the bland sterility of premier inn or travelodge, but after finding on trip advisor, the Rectory was top notch.

The massive bed was amazingly comfortable for my 6 4 frame and the bedroom and bathroom were equally spacious and comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

I will be going back in my own time and expense with the family.

Well done

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a small hotel set in lovely grounds with a swimming pool, the unfortunate thing was that the weather was indifferent. However, the room was spacious and the en-suite bathroom equally large with a corner bath. We stayed in and ate a very well presented evening meal. The beef medallions were superb and cooked exactly to the desired degree. The wine was a good quality and not too expensive. Breakfast could be the continental or the full English. When staying in a hotel of this quality it has to be the full "monty", it did not disappoint. The service was polite and attentive without being overly pampering. A walk along the river bank across the road is attractive and could be used to work up an appetite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Our room (No.4) was spacious and well presented, overlooking the garden. There was a large bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Breakfast was cooked to order if hot food was required, but there was plenty of other food to choose from. We also had dinner on one evening and the food was excellent. All the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. If we are in Norwich again this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horseeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Lovely hotel for an overnight stay in Norwich. Comfortable, well equipped bedrooms and a lovely dinner - beautifully cooked and presented food. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors and altho we didnt go into the city, we were told the bus route in was right outside the door. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing