We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont get carried away...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
297 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Dont get carried away...”
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The plus points, a friendly, happy to do anything welcome, a comfortable bed and a very quiet location. But I would have loved to have had the radiators turned on in my room before arrival, the rattle of the bathroom fan silenced, the wireless internet to work in my room and some decent coffee, both in the room and after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
197
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Mum and I stayed here for a couple of nights and it was everything we could have hoped for. It's a lovely setting for a hotel, our room was large and very clean. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. Oh and the food is wonderful. A great place to return to after a busy day. We could not fault the hospitality and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damaskfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We have just returned from 4 fabulous days at The Rectory. The room had a very comfortable bed, with modern, clean bathroom and good quality furnishings. The whole hotel is in very good condition. The food is some of the best we have eaten anywhere! We meant to go out to eat 1 night, but enjoyed the meal the night before so much we ate in again. All 3 nights we ate there the menu was different...and delicious!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — dull bedside lights
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank devonyoungsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I must say - this is one place I'd certainly go back to as it was a real joy to stay there and I'm so pleased that Chris booked us a table in advance despite my concerns at not having any idea what the food was like beforehand.

It has to be one of the best meals I've had. From their own marinated salmon, through the main courses and onto desserts, everything was just perfect. The menu is varied, the wine list well thought out - not massive but a good mix - and it was a real treat to eat there.

Chris is a great host and he runs a very tight ship - everything is in the right place, service is friendly and thoughtful and it's a lovely location in all respects.

It's just outside the centre of Norwich so not somewhere just to step outside the door and then hey, you're in the middle of it all, but it's not far if you have a car or don't mind paying for a taxi.

To be honest though, I really don't see the need to go outside the place as not only is the food out of this world, but it's very reasonably priced too.

Chris is very helpful - he's a walking library of all facts and figures not only on Norwich but also the whole area. We didn't get the chance to test him on general knowledge, but I'd certainly plump for him on my pub quiz team if he's in the area. Just another thing that makes staying there much more enjoyable than the "chains" we have now in every city/town.

  • Liked — Service, Food, Room
  • Disliked — Small car park - hey, I had to think of something!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I was travelling with work in East Anglia and booked the Old Rectory to escape the usual chain hotels aimed at business travellers.

I cannot think of a single thing to fault the hotel. The welcome was very warm and I was made to feel completely at home despite travelling on my own. The room was fabulous: very comfortable, tastefully furnished and with a digital flat screen television. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a huge walk in power shower, decent 'freeby' soaps and a bath robe. The food in the restaurant was beautifully cooked: proscuitto and parmesan starter and a delicious duck breast for a main. Breakfast was equally fab: home-made muesli and a top quality full English breakfast.

In summary: charming staff, lovely hotel in a peaceful setting, great hotel, delicious food and very good value. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Liked — Really comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Anglia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I cannot understand the person who was angry not to be able to book a single night only.
This is a superb hotel, where you feel part of a house-party enjoying great food and wine. This is not the hotel to book if you intend to use it just as a bedroom!
The sense of occasion is enhanced by the spectacular drawing room and beautiful restaurant. Rooms are chic and are there to be enjoyed.
The chef is first-class and uses top quality local suppliers.
The staff are friendly and professional and there is always a great welcome from Chris, the host.

  • Liked — boutique nature and great food and wine
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteffyEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Having read all the reviews, i tried to book a room for 1 night on the 13 th sept ( saturday night ). I was told the hotel wouldnt accept a 1 night booking as it meant that the hotel would then struggle to sell the room for friday night ( the 12 th ). The only way they would take a saturday night only booking, was if someone had booked only friday night and were checking out saturday. Would you like to leave your name and number and we can call you if we decide to make a room availiable to you ....? My reply was, No Thankyou. Im attending a wedding and i need a confirmed booking. I dont want to find out a week before the wedding that i dont have a room, and then i cant get another one somwhere else. Have you got a room i can have? Yes i have a room and no you cant have it. I told him that In reality his suggestion of calling me if one becomes availiable is of no help at all. I will stay somwhere else then. Yes ok , well its our hotel and thats the way we want it. Weve been here 14 years and its the way we want to conduct our business. Good luck then youll never ever get mine with that attitude. I hate it when people treat you like they are doing you a favor. In fact im doing you a favor by paying you money in return for accomodation!

I wished him a good day and that was the end of the conversation. It might be rated No 1, and clearly i wont be staying there, however thats not the attitude i expect of any hotel.

Certainly for booking thats a 1 out of 10 from me, and it makes me wonder what else they cant do.

In total contrast, i phoned the Norfolk Mead Hotel and they couldnt have been more helpfull, so thats where im staying.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
10 Thank SevenoaksFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,083 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
193 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,412 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms
Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing