We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, but avoid the annexe..”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2009

The absolutely wonderful thing about this place is the food. Simply fabulous, and they were incredibly flexible catering for the dietary restrictions of someone in our group, which was very much appreciated (and all too rare). The staff are great too, welcoming, warm and very willing to help.

And now the niggle...it is a small one, but worth passing on. On arriving, we were somewhat disappointed with our room, although clean and pleasant, it just did not match the price tag. We were in the Annexe, and when we asked for a tour of the main house we dicovered the cause of our disappointment. The rooms in the main house are great, exactly as a small, high end boutique hotel should be. Tastefully decorated with period features, and are really worth the price. The annexe is really not of the same quality. In summary, we would stay here again, definitely, but only in the main house. The annexe lets this place down.

One other point worth noting - the radiators are turned off in the rooms as part of the hotel's environmental policy - if you let them know time of arrival, they will heat the room before you show up - essential in winter!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank alizac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2008

Beautiful, elegant building - lovely peaceful setting, easy 5-10 minute ride into Norwich. Warm staff, made us feel welcome. Took coffee in the garden: garden - lovely, coffee `instant awful`! Food was lovely in the evening and the dining room intimate. But the reason we won't return is the quality of the bedroom. Very small bed - sleeping there was just unpleasant and we could not wait to return home, such a shame. Standard, rickety pine furniture and tiny shower with poor quality of toiletries. Bring your own. Still, stop for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jasmin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The plus points, a friendly, happy to do anything welcome, a comfortable bed and a very quiet location. But I would have loved to have had the radiators turned on in my room before arrival, the rattle of the bathroom fan silenced, the wireless internet to work in my room and some decent coffee, both in the room and after dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Mum and I stayed here for a couple of nights and it was everything we could have hoped for. It's a lovely setting for a hotel, our room was large and very clean. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. Oh and the food is wonderful. A great place to return to after a busy day. We could not fault the hospitality and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damaskfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We have just returned from 4 fabulous days at The Rectory. The room had a very comfortable bed, with modern, clean bathroom and good quality furnishings. The whole hotel is in very good condition. The food is some of the best we have eaten anywhere! We meant to go out to eat 1 night, but enjoyed the meal the night before so much we ate in again. All 3 nights we ate there the menu was different...and delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank devonyoungsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I must say - this is one place I'd certainly go back to as it was a real joy to stay there and I'm so pleased that Chris booked us a table in advance despite my concerns at not having any idea what the food was like beforehand.

It has to be one of the best meals I've had. From their own marinated salmon, through the main courses and onto desserts, everything was just perfect. The menu is varied, the wine list well thought out - not massive but a good mix - and it was a real treat to eat there.

Chris is a great host and he runs a very tight ship - everything is in the right place, service is friendly and thoughtful and it's a lovely location in all respects.

It's just outside the centre of Norwich so not somewhere just to step outside the door and then hey, you're in the middle of it all, but it's not far if you have a car or don't mind paying for a taxi.

To be honest though, I really don't see the need to go outside the place as not only is the food out of this world, but it's very reasonably priced too.

Chris is very helpful - he's a walking library of all facts and figures not only on Norwich but also the whole area. We didn't get the chance to test him on general knowledge, but I'd certainly plump for him on my pub quiz team if he's in the area. Just another thing that makes staying there much more enjoyable than the "chains" we have now in every city/town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I was travelling with work in East Anglia and booked the Old Rectory to escape the usual chain hotels aimed at business travellers.

I cannot think of a single thing to fault the hotel. The welcome was very warm and I was made to feel completely at home despite travelling on my own. The room was fabulous: very comfortable, tastefully furnished and with a digital flat screen television. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a huge walk in power shower, decent 'freeby' soaps and a bath robe. The food in the restaurant was beautifully cooked: proscuitto and parmesan starter and a delicious duck breast for a main. Breakfast was equally fab: home-made muesli and a top quality full English breakfast.

In summary: charming staff, lovely hotel in a peaceful setting, great hotel, delicious food and very good value. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jimbo7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,239 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#12 of 50 in Norwich
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range: £92 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing