We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Up in Norwich”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I wanted to surprise my other half with a night to celebrate our tenth anniversary in the city where we fell in love. Trawled the internet for a hotel that would give us a bit of luxury and a good base for Christmas shopping. Found the Old Rectory, made contact with the owners who couldn't have been more helpful. Had originally planned to go to a restaurant in Norwich for the evening but read rave reviews of the hotels own chef so opted to eat there. The food was absolutely stunning, best meal i've had in a long time. Service was unhurried and relaxed.

Can't work out why this place only has two stars? We stayed in room 7. Spotlessly clean, very welcoming, a real treat. Professionally run, friendly, warm, couldn't want for a better service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

This small and cosy hotel is a real find. Welcomed by the friendly owners with a complimentary pot of tea by a roaring log fire as snow fell - idyllic. Beautiful bedroom with balcony, large bathroom with a shower that actually works efficiently.Spotlessly clean. Didn't have dinner but other guests said how wonderful it was.Awoke next morning having felt that I'd slept on a cloud-what a wonderful bed-literally the best we'd ever experienced. Usually we want to rush home to sleep in our own bed-oh, if only I could have taken this one with us! Has a definite 'house party' feel about the place with everyone chatting to each other with a bit of an Agatha Christie set thrown in. Can't wait to go back and will eat in next time. A lovely, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylazysunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We only realised we had been three years before as we drove into the drive . Enjoyed it both times and will stay again. We had a great last night (and morning) with the other guests -sorry Chris for keeping you up! . Most of the other guests had been many times before, nuff said!
We stayed in room No. 7 best in the coach house, I checked the others out. Previous guest had got the number (and his review) wrong

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne havard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Very pleasant stay at the Old Rectory, made to feel very welcome. Comfortable bedrooms and a wonderful 'Full English'. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLYFOGS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in August . The setting and our room were both wonderful. Nice furnishings and a good bathroom (although we weren't keen on the Netrogena toiletries).

We didn't eat in the evenings but from what we did sample catering wise I wouldn't go quite so overboard as some of the reviews suggest. Breakfast was nice enough but my porridge and berries was more like a porridge and berry. LIkewise the one mushroom in the cooked breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, The waitress was great though - so chirpy. Having read about the possibiltiy of afternoon tea on trip advisor, we went for this on the day we arrived. We would not recommend it at all. We got one scone each, no choice of jam and the scone itself was dry and tasteless. We were not offered any more which was just as well if it had been form the same batch. And we were charged £4.50 for it. We've been to much more modest B&Bs where we've been given a delicious slice of cake and cup of tea on arrival and not expected to pay for it. We walked a few minutes towards the town and found a good Chef and Brewer in a nice spot by the river where we got a lovely meal which was good value too.
The ambience in the lounge was very cosy and the wine was nice although a glass was verry pricey - be warned. There was also a conservatory although without anyone else about (other than a rather spendid cat) it didn't feel that welcoming, so we stuck to the main house for relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EurogirlBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

superb building, elegantly refurbished and spotlessly clean. Personal, responsive service. Excellent food at a reasonable price. This stay lived up to and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satisfied010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. The Old Rectory was perfect, we had room 7 which was quite big, the bathroom was big. The room had all the amenities one would want i.e. tea, coffee making facilities etc. We even used the WIFI with no extra charge! The breakfast was excellent everyday. Be sure to have the yoghurt with fruit and nuts etc. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this place. Nothing was too much trouble for Chris. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PShah16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe St Andrew
2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 103 Yarmouth Road, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 OHF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Thorpe St Andrew
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe St Andrew
Price Range: £114 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory, Norwich's only AA 4* Gold 'Restaurant with Rooms' is a beautiful Georgian House, with adjoining Victorian Coach House, standing in an acre of mature secluded gardens on the eastern fringes of Norwich, overlooking the Yare valley and Thorpe Marshes nature reserve . We offer warm hospitality and friendly service in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Every morning, you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, cooked to order and served to your table. Our menu features local sausages, bacon, ham and eggs, Chef's own toasted muesli, thick yoghurt with home-made fruit compote, and thick cut toast. Our Dining Room is open Tuesday to Saturday evenings (closed Sunday / Monday), with a daily changing 2 AA Rosette menu featuring freshly prepared, locally sourced, seasonal produce. The elegant intimate, Georgian panelled room has just six tables so be sure to book dinner in advance as we regret we cannot guarantee availability of a table, nor a particular time, where dinner reservations have not been made prior to arrival. The Old Rectory is 2 miles from Norwich railway station (services to London, Cambridge, the Norfolk Coast and intermediate stations) and the city centre with its Norman Castle and Cathedral, medieval churches, excellent shopping facilities and open air market. Norwich International Airport (flights to Manchester, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and international flights via the KLM hub at Amsterdam Schipol) is 5 miles. The Norfolk Broads National Park and the sandy beaches of the east coast are a short drive, and many historic houses, nature reserves, gardens etc are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Norwich
Old Rectory Norwich
Old Rectory Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing