We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned for a business trip / workshop. Really cute lodge with clean rooms, good service, and friendly staff. The Christmas decorations were really lovely.
I was not able to see the Festival of Lights (unfortunately too much work) but I was able to "sneak" in a quick walk one afternoon, and I could see that there were lots of lights: I am disappointed that I was not able to see them. The lodge is located in a very pretty area (of which I was able to see a small snippet on my short walk).
Each evening had a singer(s) in the upper longe / "living room area" which was nice to hear.
I did go to the gym almost every morning: it was clean and good for what I needed however, the tv remote was no where to be found (except on day 1) and on several days, the tv's were not on (makes the treadmill really boring) or the tv behind the treadmill was on (not the ones that I might view) or something that I did not want to see was on but I could not change it because there was no remote (no other people were in the gym so changing channels would not have inconvenienced anyone).
The food was good: desserts were YUMMY!
One downside was the temperature in the room that we were meeting: the temperature fluxuated and at times was really cold.
I would come back and even recommended it to my husband for his parents.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    243
    101
    61
    39
See reviews for
348
246
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We just returned from the Wilson Lodge. We booked the Festival of Lights package along with the dinner show and had a room in the level 8 building. The room we were in had two queen beds. The room was excellent. The dinner show was quite good and the associated buffet was very good. The drive through the 1,000,000 lights of the Festival of Lights was "awesome". The staff at the lodge were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I had dinner in the Lodge dinning room on Saturday night November 2. Beautiful room, good waitress, great ambiance, but the buffet was very disappointing. The Prime Rib was a rib cut, but surely not Prime meat. Several of the dishes were overly spiced and nothing was truly good, except for the rolls and the desserts. At $29.95/per person we expected much more. Perhaps we would have enjoyed something from the menu, but we saw nothing there that sounded any better. Based on the fact that desert was included in the buffet, we probably made the better of two poor choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, Food & Beverage Director at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience in the Ihlenfeld Dining Room. It is our intention to provide the many guests enjoying our buffets with the highest quality ingredients available. Our Executive Chef works hard to bring the latest trends in taste and presentation to our guests and our newly implemented A La Carte menu provides many choices from sharable small plates to exciting entrees featuring Oak Grilled Steaks and Seafood. We hope you will come back and give our new menu offerings a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford,ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We recently visited for 4 days/3 nights during the Oglebayfest. We actually never left the resort from Thursday until Sunday as there were enough activities to keep us busy. Our room was just above the spa, overlooking the lake. It was gorgeous! Great view of the amazing fireworks! Golfed a couple games, love the courses and the fact that the deer wander thru at their leisure. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itscoldhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
411 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Wilson Lodge and came with another couple for a few days of golf. Our room was a little dated but generally clean. The king bed was comfortable. We had a little patio and two chairs with a good view of trees. We had a Keurig single serve coffee maker and a mini fridge but no microwave. But there were places where the finish was lifting from the wood paneling. The room darkening curtain panels were too small and almost covered the windows. The bathroom was different with no separate door between the shower and toilet and the vanity. This slowed us down a little. If you are playing golf on the property be sure to ask about a package deal. We saved a little with a package including king room, two rounds of golf with two buffet breakfasts over two days.

Room Tip: There are plenty of stairs and I didn't see any elevators. Be sure to ask if stairs are a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldBoyScoutFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a king suite breakfast package for $211 a night. The area and main lodge is beautiful. Great for those who like to golf. Breakfast was good, dirty cups though. However, the room itself was highly disappointing. It had cobwebs in a couple corners and we saw a large bug crawling across the floor. The "robes" they provide are kinda gross actually. We have been traveling a lot lately and stayed in much nicer places for 1/3 of the cost. Unfortunately we Wouldn't return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Our staff works very hard to exceed our guests’ expectations and the fact that you did not enjoy your stay is disappointing. We strive to maintain very high Housekeeping standards in all areas of the hotel and it appears that we fell short. Our sincerest apologies. It is so rare that our guests don’t like our plush high-end robes, but we certainly appreciate your feedback. I truly hope that you will consider visiting us again so that you can experience the best of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Friends were staying at Oglebay, and we met up with them to eat at Oglebay's GlassWorks Grill. What a GEM! Two of us enjoy fish or vegetarian dishes, and the other two in our party were heavy meat eaters. We were ALL very pleased with what we ordered! There were plenty of healthy choices and fun splurges as well. The prices were quite fair and the service was fantastic. The atmosphere is nice, as well -- with many blown glass pieces artfully on display. GlassWorks Grill is worth trying, even if you aren't staying overnight at Oglebay Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing