We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had an excellent time at Oglebay! The three children-- 14, 17, and 20--- had a great time as well. There was plenty of different activities for them to do--- swim, golf, putt putt, paddle boats, walking trails. We really enjoyed the daily activity sheets that provided more things to do--- nature walks, crafts, watching ice sculpturing, movie night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you! Our staff works hard to put all the activities together so your comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family goes to Oglebay every two years. We always stay in one of the larger cabins for a week. Over the years, I have seen quite a few changes. Some of the cabins are getting older and they management has updated the televisions, bedding, and there is now WiFi in the cabins. However, there is still some work to be done. The beds in the cabins are sinking in the middle (everyone in our six bedroom cabin complained of this). I have three children and their feet were black within two hours of arriving at the cabin(they had not left the cabin, when they do leave they must wear shoes due to the location). The floors had not been mopped in between guests. The towels are very small and they do not give you enough of them for such a large cabin. You are able to go to the laundry exchange to get more or exchange the towels you have but they are only open for two hours a day.
Once you are in the park almost everything costs money. You can buy a wristband for $16 each a day. They do have deals on wristbands for multiple days. Read carefully what activities the wrist bands cover. We always plan our days around the wristbands so we get the most for our money.
I was very disappointed this year because the nature center charged for any of the Naturalist Programs they conducted. These have always been free in the past and are free everywhere else we go. My kids love these programs and learn so much from them. After spending so much money on the cabin itself and the wristbands I feel they should be free.
On the positive side the park in beautiful and has quite a few things to do with small children (mine are 4, 7, and 10).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have gone to Ogelbay as a couple and family for the Christmas lights many times and loved it. This was our first summer visit - there's so much to do! The great family escape package was wonderful 4th of July weekend. The fireworks and entertainment were great. The gardens and paved walking paths are beautiful. We love Ogelbay and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have stayed at Oglebay Resort and Cottages since before I could remember. I basically grew up here! We would rent cabins for family gatherings in the summer time and around the holidays. There are lots of activities around for the entire family to include the Good Zoo, Festival of Lights at Christmas time, trails for hikes, etc. Many wonderful family memories were made here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshne43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We rented a "cottage" which was little more than glorified camping. The cabin (as it more aptly put) was dirty and smelled like smoke. We left early as I couldn't take it anymore, For the price I paid I would have been better off at a nice hotel instead.

Room Tip: Please call them and ask to see a picture of your actual cottage, as the website does not show corre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We were disappointed to see your recent review and apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We offer several cottage categories in various price ranges and a deluxe or premium cottage may be more to your liking. Details on the cottages are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. Many guests prefer the newer, more costly cottages but other guests prefer the traditional cottages with a rustic feel and return year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After reading some of the reviews on this website, I was a bit nervous about staying there. My sister and I traveled here the end of June to attend the wedding of my brother who was getting married in the Caddy Camp Cabin. Though this is an older resort, the ambience and nostalgic feel to it was quite charming. As we were driving into the resort, we were stunned to see many deer laying in the ruts on the side of the road. They are everywhere, so take your time driving around. The grounds are impeccable. The pool was large and clean. Our room in the older section of the Wilson Lodge, though dated, served us well for our weekend stay. The staff was pleasant and we had no complaints. We opted for the bed and breakfast package and the breakfast buffet was delicious with enough selections to please everyone. We dined one night at the Glassworks Lounge and found the food to be good.

We visited the Good Zoo and were amazed at the variety of animals - some of which are endangered species. Instead of taking the train to get around, we opted to travel on foot which took us about 1-1/2 hours but allowed us to take our time at each exhibit. Well worth the $10 admission.

The Caddy Camp where the wedding and reception were was well-maintained and air-conditioned, which was a must for the end of June. It was comfortable and the surroundings were very pleasant, even though it was in the middle of the golf course.

All-in-all I would visit this resort again. There is something for everyone here and it is a year-round resort.

Room Tip: There are older and newer sections in Wilson Lodge. The older is more dated and rustic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I have gone here every winter for the Festival of Lights and it's been such a great memory each year. We love oglebay! Would recommend it to any family :) there is so much fun things to do and lots of things for the family. The buffet is great and such a wonderful low key but fun filled thing to do!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank CadySanicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,270 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#7 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: £90 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing