We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park with many activities”
Review of Oglebay Park

Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1,500-acre municipal park with a hotel, a petting zoo, swimming pools, a planetarium and museums.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great park with many activities”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The park itself is free to access and there is a lot of free parking around. I would call ahead before attending any activities as we found the some were cancelled but no updates posted. A lot to do here though, including swimming, skiing, golf, riding, woodland and paved walks. There is a variety of shops and restaurants as well. The mansion and the zoo are worth a visit, as is the nature center. And of course there is the lovely light display at Christmas time. Not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_L_R_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    136
    62
    28
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our company picnic was being held at the levinson picnic shelter in Oglebay park. The shelter was clean, nice location and well maintained. The grounds of the park are manicured and you can tell a considerable amount of time goes into maintence there. The park is quite large with walking paths winding throughout connecting everything. It can be a lot of walking depending on where you are going so be sure to grab a map. The visitor center was not overly helpful with directions re: which path to take where. I felt like they were a bit unorganized. The flower bed are gorgeous and my children especially loved the fountains. Great paths for runners!!! I was jealous watching people run by! I wanted join in! The park also has a lake with paddle boats, mini golf, zoo, museums and a hotel with pools and spa. There are many locations of washrooms throughout the park which was great when you have little kids with you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ugh, Will not Return”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I want to start by saying the outside beauty here is amazing! Rolling hills, beautiful flowers ect. The free attractions, paddle boats, mini golf pass the time. The outdoor pool closes early and is over crowded. The indoor pool closed at 10 pm and so did the bar on the night of the fireworks which ended at 9:30. The bar was full and money was coming in and they told us last call at 11:15. The kitchen closed at 10- the fireworks ended at 9:30 and we had hungry kids!
Waiting in line just to give our names for 25 mins, then an additional 20 mins till the called our names for breakfast....I guess it was free so I should not complain.
There were activities for the kids to do a few times during the week, they were not free. There was a free wine tasting Friday night....I did enjoy that ;) . The trolley ride was enjoyable but runs on the hour (depending on where you were the time was different- 11:30 here 11:20 zoo..ect.) that was a nice treat and worked out well. OVER CROWDED and not convenient hours for the restaurants nor the pool for a HOLIDAY week/weekend. A bunch of baseball kids took over the place at night and acted like a bunch of jerks- loud and obnoxious. Not my cup of tea

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jennmarr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“greatpark”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The park is wonderfull, not just for the christmas lights. The floral arangements change for the seasons. We go there just to relax, and see the sights. they have a zoo and glass museum. We haven't been to the hotel or cabins yet but think we will someday.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family fun!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Plenty of things to do for everyone--- walking, swimming, paddle boats, putt putt, Zoo, Mansion Museum, Glass Museum, Par III golf course & 2 others, shopping, eating, nature walks, crafts, high tea time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglebay, General Manager at Oglebay Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you! Our staff works hard to make Oglebay special for every family so your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oglebay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing