We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but pricey”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Staff is friendly, room was nice but no fridge or microwave. Thought the bed was going to be nice and comfy but it is hard as a brick, and the pillows are firm. my neck and back ache. I am on vacation from chicago so it doesn't look like we would recommend a stay overnight here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    532
    102
    25
    21
See reviews for
445
658
117
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Rooms are spacious, simply furnished and very clean. Bathroom was immaculate and very stylish with glass amber washbowls and a very IKEA- like faucet. The standard coffee machine is a one cup Keurig with a selection of coffees.
The pillows need some help- very soft and flat. Bed was comfortable, but I like a firm mattress.
I booked their "Play and Stay" package. Room rate was $99 per night plus tax and $25 in play credit. If you are a first time guest, sign up for the player's card (free) and they add another $20. This rate is $50 less than the Springhill Suites and about $40 less than the Hampton.
Valet is $3 and very prompt.
Food is very high priced and is just so-so. I never eat in hotels anyway-but was starving and had a tolerable pastrami sandwich -1/2 sandwich and some really good pasta salad and a black cherry soda was $9.25.
For an overnight visit, this travel professional highly recommends the Wheeling Island Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globetrotteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here one night while in town for the casino. The room was very nice and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and looked to be recently remodeled. The only compliant with the hotel is there is not a fridge in the room. The room is relatively expensive unless you visit frequently and receive a discount, so to not have a fridge for that price is really unexpected. We were fortunate to dine downstairs at The Point and had several items we would have loved to take with us, but with no fridge in the room, we had to waste a large amount of really good steak. Overall, we would stay here again, but would bring a cooler so we could have cold beverages and a place to store leftovers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central city pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I used to come here a lot and I live over 2 hours away, used to come 3 or 4 times a month. Each time I visit this casino it gets worse and worse, and today I went to what will be my final trip here, They give you free play, but forget about winning anything with it! Slots are soooo tight! The buffet is simply awful the food is like they saved all the leftovers all week and put them out on the weekend. The smell of cigarette smoke will make you sick. No big winners or happy people anywhere, just glum faces. I look for this place to go under very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank julia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTTOWN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Wheeling Island over the 4th of July and had an absolute blast.GREAT FUN!!!!!! The staff was wonderful,friendly and courteous;from check-in at the front desk; security personal,house-keeping,and at the buffett. Every one was so nice. Our casino hostess made our room reservations; got us free meals. The room was clean and comfortable, king size bed so easy to fall asleep in! Best part was the winning! Played the slots;won 9 jackpots,my first one I won using my free play. Don't waste your time at the Meadows or the Mountaineer,Go to Wheeling. Fantastic ,YOU Will Have Fun!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Be aware this is a heavy smoking casino! We were able to get a non smoking room- which was a nice size- semi comfortable bed.. Our room did not smell like smoke as I've read in other reviews. The bedding had a few old soiled spots ( which was clearly ignored by the maid staff) - the window shades had marks ( almost looked like someone had wiped their dirty hands on them) - this was taken care of promptly upon our complaint. The staff seemed very nice and courteous. It is an older casino on a slow economical area. Don't expect 5 star!! We had fun playing the slots/tables and betting the dogs... May or may not get a room here again but overall we had fun.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Amarieb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed for one night in April 2013. The room appearance was nice and clean but smelled terrible of stale smoke. I was also to have a king bed and ended up with two queen beds due to a error on their part. This was also supposed to be a non-smoking room. I told the front desk when I checked out and she said I should of said something and they would of put a machine in to rid the smoke odor. The room should of not smelled to begin with and housekeeping should of taken care of the problem when they cleaned the room earlier. This hotel has no pool or hot tub or any other extras. For the price, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DannoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,157 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.6 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
6.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Property: Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Address: 1 S Stone St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing