We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Consistently a good experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We've stayed at this hotel about a dozen times while visiting family in the area. Wheeling is short on hotels and aside from Ogelbay resort ($$$), it is probably the best bet going (though I've heard the Hampton has been renovated and is nice).

The price is a little high for what you get, probably because Wheeling doesn't have a lot of hotels. However, the rooms are always clean, the kids love the pool, and the breakfast has gotten a little better - now with scrambled eggs and bacon rather than those fake "egg patties" hotels of this class often serve. Also, the views of Wheeling College from some of the rooms are nice.

The hotel sits way up on a hill (a consideration in winter) but the location is good. It is near a Sheetz, Kroger, and CVS for the essentials. It is near I-70 and Oglebay, about midway between downtown and Elm Grove.

My only real complaint was during one stay (when our younger son was an infant) we were put across the hall from a bachelor party and the hotel staff would do nothing to quiet the noise which went on until about 4 am. That was a rough night and they did give us a huge discount, but I would've rather had a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Consistently good experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taraehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    117
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
104
89
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We loved it here, it is a short drive to the casino and the free breakfast is great in the morning. The rooms have a wet bar and a couch, great for relaxing before heading to the casino. Great weekend rates when the casino is sold out. Don't forget to bring your swim suit for the hot tub and pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alimay2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We travel to Wheeling every year to attend the Heritage Blues Festival. For the last three years we've stayed at Springhill. It's clean, modern, spacious rooms and best of all, the staff is about the friendliest, most helpful staff I've come across at a hotel. We love staying there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesBoy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great clean new rooms. Good front desk service. All amenities. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stay in wheeling one weekend each July and we stay at the same hotel each year, except this year our normal hotel was booked! But, based on the trip advisor reviews I booked a room at springhill and was not disappointed! Hotel is super easy to get to from route 70 and is surrounded by several restaurants, pharmancys and gas stations. The hotel is brand new and very nice! We traveled with 3 children and 2 adults and the room had ample space for a hotel room. The pull out sofa was perfect for our 3 year old and the boys shared one of the two queen beds. Comfotable beds, lots of pillows, nice mini fridge/sink area. I pool needs some attention, the cholrine smell is unbearable, my kids were asking to leave within 10 minutes of getting to the pool because they were getting sick from the smell. The breakfast is good, however it also needs some work-they ran out of meat by 8:30, we waited 20 minutes for eggs, ect... but the nice lady there was trying really hard, she was just overwhelmed. We slept in late the 2nd day and missed checkout and the front desk folks were super nice about it. It's a new hotel so hopefully the few problems that they have they will be able to correct. But, the pros deffenetly outweight the cons! Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAsFab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stay here often and would recommend hotel to families.
Clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. The lady that runs breakfast is one of the most friendly people you will meet and so helpful.

Pool needs attention. High chlorine smell almost to the point of making you feel sick.

Stay here when you go to wheeling.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I don't think you'll be disappointed with a stay here. On our drive cross country we've stayed in a couple of hotels with good trip advisor ratings/reviews which have left me scratching my head... but not this one. Nice , clean , updated from the front door to the suite/room.

The room was very clean, beds comfortable, bathroom spotless, breakfast similar to hotel breakfasts, eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit, cereal.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful when I came in late. The guy on the desk helped me with the printer/computer and offered to fill the hot water maker with fresh water so I could make a late night cup of tea.

A problem with noisy teenagers running in the middle of night (2am)! was dealt with and taken very seriously by the hotel. At breakfast I found that the omelets they serve all have a slice of american cheese in them.. i really hate american cheese but was so wishing for eggs for breakfast.. the staff person who ran the breakfast made me a plain egg..and was very nice about it...didn't make me feel guilty about asking!

All in all this is a hotel I would stay at on my way back across the country.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zephyrgirl335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
1.8 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Property: SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Address: 908 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6441
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing