We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
West Sunbury, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent one night while visiting Oglebay. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The king room suite was great with the rooms being separated with a wall and the TV can be turned to either the sitting area or the bedroom. Breakfast was great with a nice clean breakfast area. We did plan on using the hot tub, but it was full of kids all night. Made a suggestion that they give adults only time, maybe after 10pm. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you could enjoy your time at our hotel. We will pass your comments on to our corporate office about the hot tub hours. Once again, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    113
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
103
87
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

All the reviews are correct about the staff. Everyone was very nice and friendly. Unfortunately that is the end of the good things I can say about this hotel. We stayed on the first floor, which may have contributed to the two bugs we found in our room. The sole purpose of our trip was to have a nice relaxing weekend getaway and enjoy the pool and hot tub. We spent a total of 25 minutes in the pool area the first night before becoming overcome with chlorine fumes. Eyes watering and chests hurting from coughing from the fumes, we admitted defeat and retired to our room, hoping the next two days would be different, since we had immediately reported the problem at the front desk. The second day we stepped outside our door into a hallway filled with chlorine fumes. We checked the pool area a few times over the next two days, always with the same result. The first morning after we arrived we were relaxing in our rooms when we heard a loud gurgling sound coming from the toilet. Afraid of plumbing problems, we called maintenance. He arrived very quickly to discover that the toilet bowl was filled to the top of the rim with laundry detergent soap suds. We got a repeat performance again the next morning, and by the time we checked out we had learned that the problem has been occurring for awhile. The beds were hard but not as uncomfortable as we thought they would be. TV faces one of the beds, although it can be turned sideways if done carefully to watch from the sitting area. We were a little surprised to discover that if we opened the dresser drawers to put our clothes in it, the drawers almost hit the end of the bed. Not a problem, you just have to be careful. Lack of good lighting over the sink is a problem putting on makeup, etc. and should be taken into account. The breakfast was very good: we are just not a big fan of turkey sausage and sugar-free syrup, although there was plenty of other delicious things to choose from. The day after we arrived back home was spent in an urgent care facility treating my friend's diagnosis of "chemically induced bronchitis" from the chlorine, with the doctor in charge adding that she had seen a lot of these cases from the many natural gas well workers in the area. My friend is now recovering, although the red scabby rash on her legs is a lingering reminder of her reaction to the chlorine, and the antibiotics she is taking should clear it up shortly. I fared better, just having some light chest tightness and coughing the first night. This is a good hotel for a short stay if you are travelling and meets the basic needs to find shelter. Just AVOID THE POOL AREA at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We take pride in making sure every guest enjoys their stay. I'm sorry that wasn't the case with you. We will look into your comments. We appreciate your comments so that we can better ourselves. Once again, thank you for words and we will look into everything that you mentioned. We do hope you will give us another try to prove that we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a family reunion. I will definitely comeback when visiting again. The staff was courteous, the breakfast was great, & the rooms were very nice and comfortable.the location was convenient as well. Plus there is a very nice view in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenj0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Our associates take pride in ensuring our guest enjoys every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We were passing through and really loved this hotel. Away from hustle bustle of the city but a beautiful sight over looking a college. I noticed on the door AED sticker so I assume they have the device on premises and the staff is trained. This is a wonderful idea. I am a retired nurse and AED have saved many lives since introduced to the public. It would be wonderful if every hotel would have and staff that were trained. (Very easy to use) and would help till EMS arrive. Don't know if we will be back in this area but if we are we will stay here. Loved the free breakfast and coffee in the lobby.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you staying with us as you were passing through. We hope that you would come back and stay with us in the near future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Well maintained premises and common areas. Speedy check-in and check-out. Efficient and friendly staff. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Excellent breakfast selection. Staff helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Vanity lighting could be a little brighter.

Room Tip: I always request a room in the quite area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingORF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate hearing from you, our guest. Thank you for your comments about our vanity lighting. I will discuss this matter with our corporate office and management team. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I like that this hotel sits at the top of the hill by itself, you feel like you're in the country. Very clean, staff was wonderful. Val sent me off to work with a good breakfast and was very sweet. Stayed in two different rooms, 203 seems like it had thermostat issues, 209 was better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_perigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you letting us know how your stay was. I will have our maintenance look at the thermostat in room 203. Once again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here on our way back from attending the 9/11 memorial in Somerset, PA. The room was very nice, large sitting area with a kitchen/bar with a microwave, refrigerator and sink. Comfortable king size bed walled off in separate section and divided bathroom so one person could use the sink while the other showered. It's right next to a university, the Jesuit something.
Breakfast was a decent variety with a pleasant area to sit in with nice tables and couches and a fireplace.

The hotel staff was very helpful and polite. They printed out directions to downtown and also gave us a map.

Room Tip: You can ask to face the university. The view are nice anywhere as there are hills surrounding it. Dr...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Property: SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Address: 908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing