We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
York, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great quiet Venue”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend preparing for the tough mudder. The hotel is right off the highway and easily accessible. Parking is spacious and right around the hotel. The main lobby is large plenty of room for any gatherings. The room we had, had two queen beds and a pull out couch. Large room plenty of space for 4 people. The bathroom was average, not a great design but did the job. Beds were very comfortable. Continental breakfast was your average hotel breakfast.. Nothing special here pool and hot tub were nice, along with a very nice patio area. Key cards for the doors to the pool and patio were not working which was probably the only negative I can say.. Overall this as probably the nicest hotel in wheeling.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are current working on getting patio and pool door locks fixed as soon as possible. We appreciate you and your group staying with us and hope you consider us the next time you stop in Wheeling. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    117
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
104
89
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at this property for one night at the beginning of a family vacation, and had a great experience in pretty much every respect.

The front desk service was friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. We found the beds to be uncommonly comfortable, and despite the fact that the hotel was at or near capacity, it was quiet and we all got a good night's sleep.

The kids and I availed ourselves of the fitness room shortly after we woke up. It was small and pretty basic, but it had each of the few humble things we would want in a fitness room on our travels and it was (like the rest of the common areas of the hotel) well-maintained.

Breakfast was a solid notch above the average offering at a hotel in this weight class. The food and drink options alike were more varied than one would typically find in similar hotels, and the "little" things like the abundance of condiments for eggs, waffles, and breakfast breads were great touches that suited our family well. Notably, the breakfast area was packed with people - we even had to wait a moment to find an open place to sit - but the staff kept everything clean and very well-stocked. In our experience, that doesn't often happen these days, especially in the last hour or so of a designated breakfast time.

We were very pleased with our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again should our travels bring us to the Wheeling area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing the positive feedback about our hotel and take pride in making sure that each and every guest enjoy their stay. We hope you consider us again next time you decide to stop in Wheeling. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Don't miss that Springhill Suites sign or you could drive right by the entrance which is located quietly above the local street and relatively close to the I-70 interchange. Construction is still going on in the area so be forewarned that road traffic could vary. Since our arrival was on Sunday, we didn't have any problems finding the hotel. Our room was on the 5th floor and nicely clean, comfortable and spacious for two people. A separate couch in an alcove away from the king bed, provided space to use a computer or watch TV while the other person slept. Adequate A/C and a window overlooking the parking lot provided an eye on the sky. A small refrigerator helped with keeping drinks or left-overs cold. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Included breakfast was sufficient with hot and cold items although the link sausages didn't look appetizing. However, scrambled eggs, cereals, yogurts and juices were appreciated. Busy but adequate seating was available.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the football field provides a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZSVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback about our hotel as we are always looking for ways to improve our facility. We take pride in making sure that all of our guest enjoy their stay. Thank you again we appreciate everything you have written about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Plenty of parking close to entrance. Entrance and lobby were clean, updated and pleasant. Staff were professional and friendly. The suite was all one area, but a partial floor-to-ceiling wall partially blocked off the living room and kitchen area. Provided privacy for friend using the pull out couch. Roomy and very pleasant. Swimming pool was clean and relaxing. Free breakfast was great. Didn't skimp on food quality or water down juices like a lot of hotels do.
Was set away from the road, so it was very quiet and peaceful. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We take pride in making sure that all of our guest enjoy their stay. Thank you again we appreciate everything you have written about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked this hotel a few days ahead of time and paid full price to ensure I got a good room to relax after a planned long day of driving (also am a Marriott rewards member so I thought that would improve our chances of a good room assignment since we knew we would be arriving late). We called that morning to verify our reservation and to ask for a quiet room. We arrived at the West Virginia border about 10 p.m. (this hotel is about seven miles from border) to find night construction which delayed our arrival by about 45 minutes. This construction included one exit closure and major work on the exit for this hotel, so it would have been nice if staff would have let us know about when we called that morning so we could have taken an alternate route. Once we arrived we checked in and went up to our room to find we had been assigned an accessible room with an odd, inconvenient layout. When booking through hotwire, priceline, etc. I have no problem being assigned this type of room but when I pay full price I expect to get the standard room. Accessible rooms are uncomfortable due to lower counters, showerheads, etc. I went back up to the front desk to request a change and was informed the hotel was full. At this point after driving 14 hours I was tired and just wanted to go to sleep so I let it go and asked to speak to manager the next day. When going to checkout at 9:30 a.m. manager still wasn't there and front desk person wasn't very helpful and didn't fully comprehend the point of letting visitors know about traffic. I think his statement was:"I usually don't drive that way." Manager did finally call later that day but I missed the call and then when I called her back I never heard from her again (that was four days ago). After traveling for the last 30 days and staying at several Marriott properties I'm truly disappointed with my treatment being a Marriott rewards member. I would have been better off staying at the Hampton where their promise is if you aren't 100% satsified it's free.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us and that we did not live up to the Marriott name. We strive to make sure all of our guest enjoy their experience here at this hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience that the construction caused you during your travel to here. We hope you would consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our daughter and her family live in Washington, D.C., so we have been looking for a good halfway point to stay to break up the long drive to/from Indianapolis. From now on I believe this will be it. This hotel is clean and fairly new. We like the suite arrangement, and the mini kitchenette with sink, refrigerator and microwave. We enjoyed a nice, full hot breakfast the following morning, although it was crowded and we had trouble finding a place to sit down to eat. The rooms are decent-sized for a party of two. The shower is separated from the bathroom sink and mirror, which makes good sense. This hotel is a little hard to find as it is not conveniently located right near an Interstate exit, and the signage to/from the Interstate is within a range I would describe as limited to none. So you will not likely stumble across these suites unless you have first looked up the directions online, however it will be worth the trouble.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvonIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time out to write about our hotel. Thank you once again for staying with us and enjoying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from Niagara Falls-just to break up our trip. The hotel looks nice and the view is really nice from our window we could see the whole football field and the surrounding town on the hills.
For a room that was supposed to be suites were quite small for a family of 4- suites to me usually are a private room and another room. This place had two very average double beds-depending on how big you are the more uncomfortable they were-- and a small sitting area-the TV was in a weird spot-if you wanted to sit in the sitting area you would have to turn the whole TV...if you didn't want to hear the TV there was no place to get away from it..This place was just how I rated it-Average.--the breakfast and coffee were good.
The good thing this place was right next to a Perkins restaurant and the food there is usually pretty consistent...It had a video gaming room for people over 21!
This place would be ok for 1 or 2 people.

Room Tip: Maybe they have adjoining rooms?--this hotel was just too small to be real "suites"-the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We apologize that our Studio Suites did not suit your needs. Our layout is an open concept. We appreciate at your feedback and appreciate that you did stay us. We do hope that in the future that you would still consider SpringHill Suites for your staying accomodations. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
1.8 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Property: SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Address: 908 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6441
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing