We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and Spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Recently spent two nights at this hotel and recommend it, especially if you can find a good deal on the price. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable, with a semi-separate seating area - nice if you like to net-surf while your roommate is sleeping. We decided to relax and make a late morning on our second day, and asked the housekeeper if she could do our room after 1:00 PM. She actually made a 1:30 appt for cleaning, and did it with a smile. I've never had a housekeeper be so accommodating. We had a couple of women in the room and so we asked in advance for additional towels. They were waiting in our room on arrival. Kudos to your staff! Only suggestion I'd make is to lose the scary looking egg patties on the breakfast bar - not at all appetizing. A bin of scrambled eggs is really not that hard to do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

My wife and I have stayed here monthly for the last 2 years. There are virtually no negatives about this place. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and roomy with refrigerator and microwave in each, flat screen TV, wide array of breakfast items, etc. etc. The only negative is that it is a little hard to set the thermostat correctly as it is set across the room from the air conditioner/heater. Other than that, no problems whatsoever. Staff even puts out fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Be careful, however, if it is icy out and the driveway (a long, steep hill) hasn't been cleared yet-can be very very slippery!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakeedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

From the moment we entered the bright and clean lobby of this hotel, we knew we'd made the right choice! Not only was the atmosphere welcoming, the two staff members behind the desk were exceptionally courteous and friendly.

Being Marriott Rewards members, our preferences are always on record. Without having to ask, we were given exactly the type of room we prefer (i.e. highest floor possible, away from elevators, etc.).

Having completed a quick and painless check-in, we went up to our room where we were greeted by the sight of a spacious studio suite complete with a small kitchenette (microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, open shelving and cupboards for storing food items and a sink). One caveat here, it is literally a refrigerator--there is no freezer compartment--so if you happen to be the type who likes to prepare frozen meals in your room, be sure you buy the item(s) directly before use!

For those who don't want to make anything in their room and don't want to go out, there are a number of local restaurants that do deliver to the hotel.

Connected to the kitchenette was a comfortable, tastefully-decorated sitting area with a couch, chair and writing desk with table lamp. Our room featured two queen-size beds with a generous selection of pillows of different sizes and firmness levels. The night table also boasted a clock-radio with an iPod dock. The carpet was spotless and made walking around barefoot a comfortable proposition. We were also fortunate to have breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains (see photos) from the windows which can be completely opened without any of those annoying stops which restrict full access.

If we had any "complaints" it would be the set-up of the bathroom and the location of the TV. In the former case, the suite has a bathroom where the sink is located outside of the toilet and tub/shower room. Thus, the person using the sink doesn't have the complete privacy a traditional bathroom affords. In the latter case, the set-up of our room was such that the TV could only be placed against a wall located at the foot of one bed. While it could be turned so anyone seated in the sitting area could see, the same couldn't reasonably be said about turning it so that anyone in the other bed could see without having to turn his/her head at an awkward angle. This may have been unique to rooms in the exact location as ours--I couldn’t say. Oh--NO PAY PER VIEW MOVIES and a very limited channel selection made for a BORING night of TV viewing.

The free continental breakfast offered all the standards i.e. coffee, milk, juice, cereal, bagels, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and do-it-yourself waffles. Nothing fancy but certainly plenty to choose from and the dining area can accommodate quite a few guests at any given time.

Although we didn't use these facilities, there was a business center, pool and exercise room. We did use the hotel's complimentary WiFI and had no problem with connecting or maintaining a fairly-speedy connection.

There was a small problem when I tried to purchase a drink from the vending machine on my floor and had my money disappear without getting the product. A quick trip to the front desk saw me walking away with a full "refund," no questions asked and a note from the man behind the desk to get upstairs to address the situation ASAP.

This SpringHill Suites location also has a small "canteen" area by the front desk where a very limited selection of frozen dinners is available, along with all sorts of snack items and toiletries.

All-in-all, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and we would definitely reserve a room again should we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cemetery_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We needed a hotel to give us room for our family with 5 young ones and my mother. This place was perfect. The rooms provide ample space. Imagine your standard hotel room with an extra room off the side including a sofa bed, small kitchenette, table, desk and chair. Great space so we weren't on top of each other. The toilet/shower were separate from the sink area too.

The pool and exercise areas were great. Breakfast was fantastic with hot entre offerings like pancakes, sausage, eggs, etc.

The hotel staff recommended a local restaurant around the corner in the quaint, older part town that we would have never found on our own, but it was perfect. It had some Irish name that I can't recall now but the meals were delicious and ample.

The hotel was on a main highway off the interstate and we felt safe all the time. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMommy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at the Springhill Suites for one night with a group of friends. Our room was extremely spacious (our group had 6 rooms, for some reason 2 were this size and the others were somewhat smaller). We had two queen beds, a large flat screen TV, a separate sitting area with a couch, a refridgerator, microwave and small sink. The bathroom vanity area was separate from the bathroom (not all the rooms were like that). We ordered pizza for our group and were able to gather in the lobby area to eat together and watch a basketball game on the large screen TV there. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, the pool was TINY but not crowded when our kids used it. The morning breakfast spread was plentiful and tasty.

I only have two negative comments. One, the bedding was plush and comfy but the mattress was hard and uncomfortable. Two, we were awakened by noisy people talking loudly at 3:00am for about 30 minutes. I thought it was from the room above us, but my husband said it was from outside (our room was directly over the entrance to the hotel). Not sure how often that would be a problem. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Room 101 airplane next door, that's what the mechanical room sounds like next door. I stay here often and love the location, rooms, and front desk staff. The breakfast is average and slow. This hotel is frequented by family to college and wedding guests. I would stay again just not in this room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpkin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We were watching my son play basketball at Bethany College about 25 minutes from Wheeling and took he and his girlfriend out to eat at TJ's Sportsbar in Wheeling. We stayed one night at the SpringHill Suites. We were so impressed with the nice staff and the beautiful room. The decor and comfort was very very nice. We got up and had the breakfast which was a nice little spread too, You could even make your own waffles from waffle iron if you wish. Overall I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozy288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
1.7 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Address: 908 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6441
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing