We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Drove two hours out of our way to stay at the Greenbrier. What a waste! Grounds are beautiful, but the resort is in major need of renovations. Carpet in our room was dirty and had several tears. Windowsills had visible dry rot. And tacky large flowers on wallpaper, curtains, carpet would drive anybody crazy. The carpet in the hallways on the main floor was filthy with pieces of trash everywhere. We arrived around midnight, and decided to try the casino, which was empty, only to be told that my husband requires a jacket and trousers to get in. My husband had designer jeans on, Gucci shoes, $20,000. Rolex, and $400. cashmere sweater, but that wasn't good enough for their empty casino. They even offered to loan him pants and jacket that they apparently loan to other unlucky guests. Disgusting. Having arrived late the previous night, we came down the next morning at about 10:40AM, only to be told that the breakfast was over at 10:30, and lunch won't start till 11:30. The only place we could get coffee was some coffee shop down the hall, but when I paid extra to have their "specialty" coffee, it was so watery, I had to throw it away. We did proceed to get lunch at their restaurant overlooking the golf course, but the whole menu consisted of greasy burgers and deep fried food. I must say the staff of the hotel is very nice and helpful, but that does not compensate for poor quality of accommodations.
We were driving home after having yet another wonderful vacation at Palm Beach FL. Compared to The Breakers at Palm Beach, a truly magnificent historic five star resort, The Greenbrier only deserves one star.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PickyTraveller002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at The Greenbrier; and please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings and disappointments you shared. Your atypical experience regarding your room accommodations are of course unacceptable and there is no excuse that we can offer for these lapses in maintenance. I am following up with the appropriate teams to try to determine the exact room and ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. At The Greenbrier we are proud of our time honored traditions; such as our dress codes that have meant so much to generations of guests that have returned again and again to The Greenbrier. We do apologize that we did not communicate this information to you clearly prior to your arrival at The Casino. I have already spoken with our Director of Food and Beverage and we are both ashamed and embarrassed that our staff did not assist you with enjoying breakfast in the Main Dining Room. We are extremely disappointed that we failed to live up to our traditional standards of excellence during your recent visit with us. If you should decide to honor us with a return visit I hope you will contact me directly for assistance with all the arrangements, so that we might regain your faith in The Greenbrier. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com

Sincerely,
Robert A. Mickey
Vice President of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

For years, I've wanted to stay at the Greenbrier to see whether it delivered on it's acclaimed Southern, Old World Elegance.... and it did! A perfect getaway for my family of four (with infant and 3 year old) during some mild days in March. So much to do for the little ones ... my 3 year old loved the pool, the toy store, tea time, running around the grounds and playground, movie night with free popcorn and the ice cream parlor. We loved the decor, excellent service, quiet (during the week) and delicious food. Absolutely wonderful. Only two negatives - the bathrooms are a bit outdated and the afternoon tea service is nothing like the awesome free tea at The Homestead in Virginia (that one is extensive and wonderful).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit. Thank you for mentioning many of the complimentary activities offered. In addition there are nightly champagne toasts in the Casino Club, daily history tours and culinary demonstrations as well as regularly scheduled workshops and mini-seminars. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a weekend at the Greenbrier and was absolutely impressed. The hotel is a beautiful white columned, massive building with numerous cabins surrounding it. The resort is self-contained-no reason to leave. The list of activities rivals a day on a cruise ship. Looks of things to do, some included in the resort fee, others not. We staying in the Robert E Lee cabin. It was beautifully decorated and huge, with a dining area and galley kitchen plus a working fireplace (wood supplied). The large porch was great for reading and drinking coffee in the morning. The thing to do here is to take a Bunker Tour and also a tour of the interior and exterior of this historical place. I would recommend this resort without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique character - over 236 years in the making! The cottages, some built in the 1830s are the oldest buildings still standing and the central section of the current hotel was completed in 1913. Robert E. Lee did enjoy many summers here at The Greenbrier. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy The Greenbrier's long history and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first time at the Greenbrier was magnificent. We decided to get away for several days for our 20th anniversary. It's a 6 hour drive and well worth it. When we first arrived, you could immediately tell the staff was attentive and friendly. I have never been to a place where everyone there seemed to thoroughly enjoy their job/career, and actually cared about their guests. From the very minute we got there until the moment we left, top notch all the way. For those who enjoy golf, I've played better courses (U.S. Open venue) but the staff was friendly and the place was run like a well-oiled machine.

The food was excellent at both Prime 44 and the main dining room. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plague4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are honored that you allowed us to help you celebrate your 20th Anniversary! We believe that our first priority– no matter one’s official duties – is to sincerely care about our guests and their enjoyment of the resort. This is the essence of “ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen”. We truly are pleased that we exceeded your expectations! A warm welcome awaits you when you return to The Greenbrier, America’s Resort. We look forward to serving you for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is magnificent! We were able to get a last minute manager's "deal" for one night, which was all we were able to spend in our cross country trip. Beautiful grounds and rooms throughout! Wish we had had time to explore and enjoy its full array of amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! The Greenbrier is located less than 2 miles off of Interstate 64 and across the road from the White Sulphur Springs train station served by Amtrak. It is the perfect spot for a brief break from the road during a cross country trip. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Greenbrier in March 2014. We had a wonderful time! It was everything we thought it would be. We spent a lot of time walking around looking at all of the decor in the hotel and listening to the hotel singers, which performed at tea time and in the early evenings. The people were very friendly and the staff was very helpful! We enjoyed several restraunts while at the Greenbrier, however the Main Dining Room experience was less than expected. That is why I did not rate this a 5. The food was pretty but was not very tastey and we were still hungry when we left. The Greenbrier has more than one restraunt, and they do not disappoint. We also visited the spa while we were there and that was an amazing experience! I cannot say enough about how awesome the spa is! We went to JJ's Lounge and listened to kareoke music and that was a lot of fun. We also took a short drive to Lewisburg and visited a small shop called The Front Porch. It was very unique and had many items for the home that you do not find in box stores!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us in March. Thank you even more for mentioning The Greenbrier Spa. The Greenbrier Spa is one of the top spas in the world! We encourage all our guests to experience our signature Sulphur Soak and "take the waters" as guests have been doing for 236 years. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Though the resort and grounds were beautiful the food and service were over priced and not worth it. We aren't talking good fried food, more like the fryer wasn't hot enough. When I complained about the grease in my food I was left with a simple sorry. The auto gratuity of 20% was also a turn off. No need to strive for the best if your getting tipped that way anyway. The hotel staff was very nice even when they asked to see my room key to verify I belonged where I was. This was a business trip and gorgeous country but I don't know that I would hurry back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thehc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Vice President of Guest Relations at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of your stay as well as the unfortunate lapses in service and disappointments. We appreciate that you mentioned our staff and how friendly and welcoming they are. Your atypical experiences concerning the lapses in your dining and culinary experience were very disappointing to read and I am following up with that team to ensure that issues of this nature do not recur in the future. We thank you for your compliments and concerns because we will use both to continue to improve the overall experience for every guest. I may be reached at 304-536-7830 or robert_mickey@greenbrier.com if you wish to discuss your stay with us further. We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Robert A. Mickey
Vice President of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
483 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
204 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Region: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: £115 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv
The Greenbrier West Virginia/White Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing