We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLOWN AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hatfield McCoy House
Ranked #2 of 3 Williamson B&B and Inns
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BLOWN AWAY”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

For my wife and me, this was our first experience in a B&B. Our daughter Lisa, however, has stayed in many of them and highly recommended it. She was right. We have never stayed in a chain hotel or motel where we were made to feel at home. Mike and Wendy treated us as members of the family and given the run of the house.
Sunday Morning we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast of sausage, bacon eggs, biscuits, gravy, coffee. and a great danish. Beats the heck out of a continental breakfast of coffee and donuts.
If in the future, we are within an hours drive of Williamson and need a place to stay, the Linkous House will be it..
Thanks Wendy and Mike for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

this b / b had a nice, hoomey touch to it. wish we could have fixed our own breakfast. wouldn't stay anywhere else though. i love that it brought back memories from my childhood home on Vinson Street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesimpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Wendy held a huge Geocaching weekend here centered around her bed and breakfast. She was an amazing host to over 500 people that weekend. No not all of us stay IN the hotel, but we were all buzzing around town and through the house at one point or another. If you are a geocacher and want to do the Hatfield McCoy trail this is the place to stay. Wendy is an amazing host and will treat you right. I betcha if you twist her arm that she would probably even help you find a cache or two. :)
Great weekend Wendy... THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were left a key and friendly note day of arrival. Rooms were decorated very cute just loved the antiques through out the house. I would agree with other reviews Luke Warm, gentleman of the house was very accommdating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, FL
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at the Linkous House Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights, and loved it. I stayed in the Pauper's room that was very comfortable although the wood slats did groan when I climbed on the bed and reminded me of the bed I stayed in at my Gparents old farm many years before. Mike and Wendy were warm, and welcoming, and I enjoyed talking to them and getting to know a little about them. I would highly recommend Linkous House, and will return someday.

Room Tip: In this room you cannot tell there is a train.5 mile away slept great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here during a huge Geocaching weekend in town. The place was full of geocacher and surprisingly our room was quiet and cozy. The house has been retrofitted with full baths in all rooms and has great decor with personal touches like quilts on the beds our hosts Mike and Wendy made us fill special as guest in their home even though they were entertaining 500 plus people on this particular weekend. Would stay here again and plan to do so in the future.

Room Tip: If you are a Geocacher you really want to do the Hatfield and McCoy Geocaching trail. If not and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My first impressions where Luke warm. The neighborhood looked a bit run down, and like others said, there was no one home when we arrived. Just a note and a key. I felt a bit awkward walking into someone’s house. And the place was a little rough around the edges. Bare wires hanging from the ceiling, missing faceplates on the wall sockets, dressers held up by PVC pipe legs, to name a few. Once I got past being a bit stuck-up it was really a nice place over all. Sure it could use some TCL, but when money doesn’t flow like wine, I can understand that projects have to wait sometimes. Rooms you will find small. They had bathrooms added to each so the guests don’t have to share a single bathroom, I assumed. So with the bed and dresser, this leaves the room very tight. But we won’t be living there, so it really didn’t matter. Besides, they were empty the first evening, so they gave our 17 year old son his own room at no charge. He was very pleased indeed. Beds were old and springy but comfortable enough to sleep all night. I’ve had worse and paid more for it. Breakfast was good, and plenty of it. I think my wife cooks better, as my waistline would attest, but we all ate well before we left for the day. Considering a hot breakfast came with the place to sleep, don’t let anyone tell you the place wasn’t worth the stay. You can lose the breakfast and stay in Pikeville for a good $20 to $40 extra EACH night.

Room Tip: Tourism "sends" you to Pikevilles, but here is really the center of what is going on in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamson
20.3 mi away
Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
20.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Logan
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatfield McCoy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatfield McCoy House

Property: Hatfield McCoy House
Address: 1 W 5th Ave, Williamson, WV 25661-3201 (Formerly Linkous House)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Williamson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Williamson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatfield McCoy House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hatfield McCoy House is an Inn in Williamson, WV. Our goal is to give the traveler a CLEAN and COMFORTABLE place to stay while in Hatfield McCoy Country but we also want to teach you about the history of the feud in a new and unique way. Every Room is named for one of the 5 most important people (in our minds) involved in the feud and decorated to tell the story of that person and their role in the historic family feud. Owned by Producer on the History Channels TV Series, Hatfield's & McCoy's White Lightning and WV Geocacher and owner of the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail, Wendy Hackney you are sure to find that you are in good hands while here. Not to mention that Wendy is the GGG Granddaughter of Preacher Anderson Hatfield and the GGG Granddaughter of Aunt Betty and Uriah McCoy. The House is the oldest standing home in Williamson and the second oldest in Mingo County, the county that Devil Anderson Hatfield was from. 120 years of history have gone through this house and we want you to come and experience it for yourselves. All the comforts of home. Free internet, Free Long Distance, Private Bathrooms in every room, Rates as low as any hotel in the area and we are Spotless Clean !!!!Come and Go as you please and enjoy your home away from home. If you are riding the Hatfield McCoy Trails we are only a short two block distance from the trail head and if you are here to do the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail you will be staying with the CO and can get your coin straight from the hands of Wendy. Come see us at the Hatfield McCoy House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hatfield McCoy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing