We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Hatfield and McCoy House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hatfield McCoy House
Ranked #2 of 3 Williamson B&B and Inns
Crossnore, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love The Hatfield and McCoy House”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my fourth stay. Each time Wendy (the owner) makes us feel like we are staying with family. I love all the pictures and pieces that decorate each room. We sit on the upstairs porch each morning and drink coffee. Anything we need Wendy is willing to help us with. It has become my temporary "Old home Place". Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathylynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
11
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you are coming to the area to play on the trails or to learn more about the history of the area - this is the place to stay!!!! The owner's have recently redecorated the rooms, with each room being themed after a notable person from the Feud. The owner is a descendent of both the Hatfields and McCoys and her partner is a well known historian. They are both very knowledgeable of the area and will point you in the right direction of anything you want to see or know more about. The house itself is one of the oldest residences in the area and has all the charm you would expect from an "antique".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobrerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed 4 wonderful nights and it was awesome! Wendy and Bill have done an amazing job! Each room has a different person of the feud it is themed after. We stayed in the Roseanna McCoy room which was beautiful. You felt like Roseanna lived there and you were her guest. Make sure you look at the diary! Amazing attention to deltails! We loved sitting on the porch and just enjoying the evenings. We loved how there was this wonderful area in the hallway that had juices, water, soda and beer. They also had so thoughtfully placed a microwave and coffee maker there. This inn is perfect if you are wanting to experience the rich history of the area. Would definitely stay here again! Such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollygiesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as geocachers in the new Hatfield Mccoy House and loved every minute! ! The wonderfully decorated house is full of antiques and history of the famous feud. The hospitality of Wendy Hackney and Bill Richardson was wonderful. Would definitely stay there again!! We only stayed 1 night but the next time will be staying longer! !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed with Mike and Wendy for 2 nights, while visiting the area and taking advantage of the incredible mountain scenery that West Virginia and Eastern Kentucky offers. They were very helpful with giving us tips and information on the whole Hatfield & McCoy history, and the stay itself was very hospitable and quiet. The room and house had a charm and character all its own, and the history of the house and community itself was fascinating. Definitely recommend this experience to everyone!

Room Tip: Dannys room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glennville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

stayed with Mike for 5 days while house hunting in the area. It was heaven to be able to return to the B+B every day and release the stress. It was as comfortable as staying "home". Mike was a big help with area knowledge and putting us in touch with a realtor. Really hated to leave there, would have been nice to permanently move in. Can highly recommend if you are looking for cozy, comfy and leaving your stress at the door. Loved Mike's world famous pancakes too, was a great send-off.

Room Tip: loved Danny's room, quiet and in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jraye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast for two nights and could not have been more pleased with the facility, the atmosphere, the service, and the overall charm of the place. The owner is generous with stories about the area, including the history of the Hatfield and McCoy feud, and will gladly sit down and spin tales to entertain his guests.

Room Tip: I chose my room while making the reservation; there are very good photos on the website. I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamson
20.3 mi away
Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
524 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tug Valley Inn, Inc.
Tug Valley Inn, Inc.
#1 of 3 in Williamson
14 reviews
17.1 mi away
Brookshire Inn
Brookshire Inn
#1 of 1 in Inez
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatfield McCoy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatfield McCoy House

Property: Hatfield McCoy House
Address: 1 W 5th Ave, Williamson, WV 25661-3201 (Formerly Linkous House)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Williamson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Williamson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hatfield McCoy House is an Inn in Williamson, WV. Our goal is to give the traveler a CLEAN and COMFORTABLE place to stay while in Hatfield McCoy Country but we also want to teach you about the history of the feud in a new and unique way. Every Room is named for one of the 5 most important people (in our minds) involved in the feud and decorated to tell the story of that person and their role in the historic family feud. Owned by Producer on the History Channels TV Series, Hatfield's & McCoy's White Lightning and WV Geocacher and owner of the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail, Wendy Hackney you are sure to find that you are in good hands while here. Not to mention that Wendy is the GGG Granddaughter of Preacher Anderson Hatfield and the GGG Granddaughter of Aunt Betty and Uriah McCoy. The House is the oldest standing home in Williamson and the second oldest in Mingo County, the county that Devil Anderson Hatfield was from. 120 years of history have gone through this house and we want you to come and experience it for yourselves. All the comforts of home. Free internet, Free Long Distance, Private Bathrooms in every room, Rates as low as any hotel in the area and we are Spotless Clean !!!!Come and Go as you please and enjoy your home away from home. If you are riding the Hatfield McCoy Trails we are only a short two block distance from the trail head and if you are here to do the Hatfield McCoy GeoTrail you will be staying with the CO and can get your coin straight from the hands of Wendy. Come see us at the Hatfield McCoy House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hatfield McCoy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing