We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ wowie!”
Review of DC Deli

DC Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BBQ wowie!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We were just looking for a light nosh for ouch and came across this place. Was not expecting pulled pork amazingness. Holy oh my! It was so good - probably the best I have ever had.

Why was the place empty?
Eat here. Seriously.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garrison, IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our first visit to this wonderful restaurant but it won't be our last. We make an annual trip to Door County in the summer and this place is now on our "must return each year" list. The food was great. The word deli in the restaurant title is misleading. This place does BBQ and it does it extremely well. My husband had the brisket sandwich and I the pulled pork sandwich. Both were delicious. My husband loved the fries. Very pleasant place, friendly owners and with a view of Lake Michigan what more could you want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCalum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Bright Clean Fun Atmosphere - Will be a Hit!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Opening in May 2013 this new deli operation is really a very cool place. It's brightly newly painted walls are tastefully decorated with used musical instruments and tasteful door county artwork from recognizable door county landmarks and buildings. There is a small service bar counter that looks like fun to have a cup of coffee at or a quick breakfast. The owners are energetic, pleasant, polite and attentive. Our lunches were solid in quality - fresh and ample. The garden salad was very fresh crisp with blackened chicken that had wonderful seasoning. The pulled pork sandwich was a smoked cherrywood base that was really a great bbq alternative taste. Wonderful. There is an outdoor patio area with ample seating. This is a fun new place and they are planning to be open year round.. .great... !!!! I can hardly wait for a snowy day to drive over for a breakfast or lunch!!! What Door County fun. They take credit cards. Price point is typical for Door County. Give them a try!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful as ever!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We are so glad the DC Deli has reopened, and we love their new location in Baileys Harbor with its welcoming rooms and broad outside deck with views of Lake Michigan. We have eaten here three times since they reopened in the spring, and we always go away happy. The bluegrass jam session going on in one of the rooms last night was a bonus while we ate our pulled pork sandwiches. The fries were hot and crisp, and the coleslaw was tangy with a bite that complemented the mellow flavors of the perfectly smoked meat. Best wishes for a wonderful year!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillinroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant with huge kitchen talent”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

DC Deli used to be in downtown Sister Bay with more of a Deli menu. This is anything but a deli and wish they would change the name to reflect what they truly offer. About the best barbecued ribs we have ever eaten and that includes the Deep South and Chicago. Cherrywood Smokehouse Ribs. And if you want a super fish meal and don't want to deal with a long wait at some of the larger restaurants around, try the fried shrimp and the fried perch dinners. Excellent breading on them, we wanted to return the next day for more. And if you are in the mood for Creole gumbo they have it here in different styles. The one I chose was less spicy than my husband's. Truly exceptional food on the peninsula, nothing is overly salted or full of flavor enhancers and you can tell it is just excellent quality. Even the fries appear to be homemade with their skins intact. The menu is limited as is the wine selection, which is fine, the quicker to order your food! You have to wait a bit since most of the items are made fresh. The restaurant is in a former coffeehouse. The owners took some time to re-do it and it shows. It offers a spare and clean wooden interior and a wrap-around wooden outdoor deck that faces the water right across the street in downtown Bailey's Harbor. Look up to find it, it is hidden back a bit up a couple short flights of stairs from the street. If needed you can drive around the back to a level parking lot. We get our food to-go although sitting out on the deck with a drink while waiting for it to be made is a luxury on a sunny afternoon. Don't miss this place, you need to give up a fancy, pricey dinner for a night and try it because the cook in this kitchen loves what he does.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelduoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DC Deli also viewed

 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to DC Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing