We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shakespeare in Door County Outdoors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Door Shakespeare

Door Shakespeare
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shakespeare in Door County Outdoors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is an awesome place to watch a Shakespeare play. The production was so very good. I enjoyed every minute of this experience/adventure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great King Lear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a great production of King Lear in a beautiful setting - Bjorklunden Gardens, BH, Door County. Impressed with the acting, affordable pricing and ambiance. A number of Guthrie Theater actors/alums as I recall, and returning actors from previous seasons. There's a reason they return, we will too, for the 2015 Season!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel that never disappoints -- great performances and kids' camps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A hidden jewel of Door County. We saw their sign on Highway 57 three years ago and decided to attend an evening performance. We have been returning every year.

The performances are highly professional and fabulously staged. For the quality, the prices are very reasonable. Beautiful outdoor setting, too.

The weeklong kids' camps are also exceptional and reasonably priced. Our children enjoy getting to know the actors and they learn so much from these talented performers.

I encourage you to see one of Door Shakespeare's performances. When we did, it was added to our "must visit" list for Door County every summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileysharborregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Maybe for those who aren't familiar with storyline, the play could have an intro, running down the basic plot? We saw "comedy of Errors" and were confused by the 2 sets of twins. Lovely play, great actors, friendly enthusiastic staff, great setting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariekoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Delightful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently saw "The Comedy of Errors" at Door Shakespeare. The acting was great, and each of the performers brought a lot of energy to the stage--even the minor characters were really involved in their roles. The setting is gorgeous, and it seemed even more magical as the sun set and the twinkling strings of lights hung from the trees were lit! I was able to attend on one of the "wine nights" held each season (tickets to the wine night were $25/person). The food (sandwiches and salad catered by Wickman's Restaurant and Stone's Throw Winery wines before the show as well as a decadent flourless chocolate cake and more wine at intermission) was terrific, and the ambiance in the Bjorklunden garden can't be beat. Do bring a coat or wrap, as it can get chilly after the sun sets. I appreciated that bug spray was provided at the box office, but I didn't find it buggy at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door Shakespeare also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door Shakespeare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing