We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet tucked away Door County Gem”
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I got married at Gordon Lodge and have been going back ever since. The scenery there is second to none. The only "problem" is that with all there is to do in Door County; it is easy to never want to leave the lodge. When we were there last Summer, we got up, played an hour of tennis (complimentary), then had an amazing breakfast at the event center (also complimentary). After a few hours of laying by the pool, we went kayaking (also complimentary). After lunch we went hiking on their amazing trails, and ended the night with a great dinner at Top Deck, listening to the live music they bring in, and finally sitting around their fire pit meeting new people just as impressed with the resort as we were.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRTKKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Door County to enjoy the fall colors and have a nice relaxing weekend. We got exactly what we needed! The grounds are beautiful with miles of easy hiking trails. They also have a great bar/restaurant on site with sweeping views of Lake Michigan. Their breakfast is served buffet style and all of the food was quite tasty. We are looking forward to going back in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The lodge was beautiful. Everything was very well maintained. The staff was very helpful, and inviting. The food was amazing at both the Top Deck restaurant, and the included brunch. It was so nice to have on site trails to go running. The room was very clean.

Room Tip: We where in the lodge not one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with great views of Lake Michigan from your room or cabin. Second visit for us, both happened to be weddings. Perfect place for that, never need to leave for the weekend. Top Deck bar and restaurant had great food and nice staff.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank JnDtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just returned from Bailey's Harbor where we spent the weekend for a family wedding. We were in one of the quaint cottages flanking the main lodge. We had the rehearsal dinner at the Event Center on Friday and enjoyed the fire pit later in the evening. Since it was a small wedding, we enjoyed dinner in the boat house for the wedding reception. The food was excellent both evenings and the rooms included breakfast buffets. The property sits on 100 plus acres and is far enough away from the touristy areas of Door County to be relaxing. They have kayaks, bikes, tennis courts etc for guests use along with hiking trails. For a truly lovely vacation or possible wedding/reunion venue, Gordon Lodge has a lot to offer in Door County. If you are a fan of mid-century modern design, the lobby area has a real Mad Men vibe.

Room Tip: Cabin #1, Linden, has great water views, a small living room with fireplace, two bedrooms and one ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We found this pretty much by accident, and after reading the positive reviews, decided to try it. Being a little off the "beaten path", it was a risk I'm glad we took! It's beautiful, quiet (at least when we went), clean and service is excellent. Had dinner two nights at their Top Deck Restaurant, and couldn't have been more pleased (our server, Avery, was top notch!). I'm partial to a nice dinner with CLOTH napkins - lol! Would recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins, and it was clean and fully equipped (GLASS beverage glasses too).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My daughter and I just spent an idyllic weekend in Door County at the Gordon Lodge. Our room was a bit dated but very clean and on Lake Michigan with views that defy description. The grounds are beautifully manicured with many flowers and shrubs, pool and hot tub, tennis courts, and 4 miles of walking trails through a pine forest. How you get every single person on your staff to be so customer focused is amazing. Lovely restaurant and bar, kayaks and bikes to use. Lots to do in neighboring towns - lots of spas too. We will return! There were a couple of weddings this weekend and they are exceptionally well set up to manage these events beautifully. What a gem.

Room Tip: All of the lodge rooms have water views. I did not see them, but it looked like the cottages have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieG823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
406 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
240 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
805 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
406 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: £56 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing