We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Real Estate with Knowledgeable Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Real Estate with Knowledgeable Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boys (ages 12 and 15) and I stayed at Gordons Lodge May 25-30, 2014. It was our second trip to Door County and our first one with Gordons Lodge. The Lodge was clean and the grounds beautiful. It is located on the Michigan side of Door County and off the beaten path of the tourist places on the bay side. Its location makes it a quiet and great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds. Gordons Lodge offers things to do on the resort property which is great when you are tired of dealing with the crowds from the bay side and still want to enjoy nature. The employees (namely Zachary and Barbara) are outstanding. Not only are they welcoming, but they show a genuine interest in your enjoyment of Door County. They are a great resource for ideas of what to do and where to eat.

My advice for anyone planning a stay at Gordons Lodge is to call ahead and see if what you plan to do on the premises is available/functional. It was a HUGE disappointment on check in (we checked in on Sunday of Memorial Weekend) to find out that the "heated pool and hot tub" described on-line was not functional. The website clearly states that the pool and hot tub are functional May through October. We checked in at the end of May and the pool and hot tub were closed. Excuses were offered by the staff (late spring, too much ice, etc.), but we all know that websites can be updated in nearly real-time and scheduled guests can be called or sent a note. The fact is that when you have a "heated" pool and hot tub, late springs really don't matter. My boys have swam outside in Colorado in a heated pool in January. When the website says it is open from May to October, it should be open, or guests notified and the website changed. I was clearly misled on this important fact (if you have boys or kids you will completely understand). The lodge made no accommodations to use a different resort's pool or hot tub and there was no discount made on the accommodations (or upgrade for that matter which should have been entirely possible considering the resort was far from capacity).

Gordons Lodge also has equipment for activities on site - bikes, kayaks, one paddle boat, and tennis. The bikes are 'iffy' and need major maintenance. It took the 3 of us 20 minutes to find three bikes that were functional, albeit still with issues. Many of the bikes have no brakes or have under-inflated tires. We found three bikes which we could use, although the bikes the boys rode had only partial functioning rear brakes (the front brakes were completely non-functional); my bike had brakes but the seat kept slipping down during riding and I would have to stop and re-raise the seat throughout the ride. That said, the trails throughout the woods on the property are beautiful and fun to ride. Tennis was fun and the courts are good.

I did point out the issues mentioned above to the front desk staff, but evidently they are powerless to do anything about anything. When I mentioned the huge disappointment of the pools/hot tub and the safety issues of the bikes (not such a big issue for my older boys, but potentially huge for smaller kids), I was told to fill out a comment card. One would think the front desk could take notes and pass them along.

It is to be noted that when we were at Gordons Lodge, the resort was fairly empty. I am sure this is because we were there early in the season, but with that fact, I would have thought there would be more attention paid to making each guest's stay more comfortable (seeing how the staff had the time). This property needs some TLC and the staff should have been happier to relay to maintenance what needed fixed (such as the bikes' brakes) rather than telling the guest to write out a comment card.

We stayed in the lodge and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The room was dated and needed some updating (especially the bathroom), but this is northern Wisconsin, so it isn't a big deal. This is a rustic place and fits an outdoor centered vacation.

Overall, this is a fabulous piece of real estate with a great dock, beach and trails through the woods. The staff is friendly and helpful as to local attractions and restaurants. I would stay here again, but would definitely call ahead to see what amenities are broken or less than functional during my planned stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    44
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited for a wedding and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The staff were all very friendly - especially Barb at the Front Desk. She did a great job of explaining all the amenities that are on site and she provided excellent support for our entire stay. There are bikes and kayaks available along with an awesome set of trails through the woods. The pier is a great place to watch the sunset and the onsite sports bar was a bonus. The staff there went out of their way to find the Hawks game on TV for our party. Additionally, a breakfast buffet was available each morning and provided a wide variety of choices. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time and will hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: Cabins are available for an additional fee; however, the rooms worked out just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I got married at Gordon Lodge and have been going back ever since. The scenery there is second to none. The only "problem" is that with all there is to do in Door County; it is easy to never want to leave the lodge. When we were there last Summer, we got up, played an hour of tennis (complimentary), then had an amazing breakfast at the event center (also complimentary). After a few hours of laying by the pool, we went kayaking (also complimentary). After lunch we went hiking on their amazing trails, and ended the night with a great dinner at Top Deck, listening to the live music they bring in, and finally sitting around their fire pit meeting new people just as impressed with the resort as we were.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRTKKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Door County to enjoy the fall colors and have a nice relaxing weekend. We got exactly what we needed! The grounds are beautiful with miles of easy hiking trails. They also have a great bar/restaurant on site with sweeping views of Lake Michigan. Their breakfast is served buffet style and all of the food was quite tasty. We are looking forward to going back in the summer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The lodge was beautiful. Everything was very well maintained. The staff was very helpful, and inviting. The food was amazing at both the Top Deck restaurant, and the included brunch. It was so nice to have on site trails to go running. The room was very clean.

Room Tip: We where in the lodge not one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with great views of Lake Michigan from your room or cabin. Second visit for us, both happened to be weddings. Perfect place for that, never need to leave for the weekend. Top Deck bar and restaurant had great food and nice staff.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JnDtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just returned from Bailey's Harbor where we spent the weekend for a family wedding. We were in one of the quaint cottages flanking the main lodge. We had the rehearsal dinner at the Event Center on Friday and enjoyed the fire pit later in the evening. Since it was a small wedding, we enjoyed dinner in the boat house for the wedding reception. The food was excellent both evenings and the rooms included breakfast buffets. The property sits on 100 plus acres and is far enough away from the touristy areas of Door County to be relaxing. They have kayaks, bikes, tennis courts etc for guests use along with hiking trails. For a truly lovely vacation or possible wedding/reunion venue, Gordon Lodge has a lot to offer in Door County. If you are a fan of mid-century modern design, the lobby area has a real Mad Men vibe.

Room Tip: Cabin #1, Linden, has great water views, a small living room with fireplace, two bedrooms and one ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.7 mi away
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
Maxwelton Braes Lodge
#4 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Property: Gordon Lodge
Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing