We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the North Woods”
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gordon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Gordon Lodge is located in North Bay, Door County, WI. It is a shinning gem in the middle of the forest. The grounds are as natural as can be, but the accommodations and activities are modern while reflecting their surroundings. We had a room in the original lodge (updated, of course) as we just spent a couple of nights this time. It is a wonderful retreat for families as well as couples who want to "get away" and have an exhilarating time, while still being with the woods and the waters.

We have been to Gordon Lodge several times, the 1st about 43 years ago. Since then, the new owners, John and Wendy Tinnon have put their heart and soul into upgrading not only the original lodge, but adding several cabins complete with every modern convenience you could want away from home. There's even a brand new five bedroom home for families who want to stay close together.

All in all, I highly recommend Gordon Lodge for families and those who just want to get away together.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms are a little retro. The bathrooms have been completely updated, with the exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armand2236129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our daughter's wedding reception was at Gordon Lodge on May 24, 2014. It is a beautiful spot for a wedding, with waterfront access and views and a huge lawn for lawn games during our appetizer/cocktail hour. The Event House is very nice, with huge windows overlooking the water and woods. It's spacious and up-northy, yet lovely. The food was excellent, service was flawless, and large dance floor was great fun for dancing to a band. At sunset, everyone walked out on the pier or to the outdoor fire ring to watch the sun go down--so cool! Amy, our event planner, was extremely helpful and easy to work with, and made the day go perfectly! We would highly recommend Gordon Lodge for an event!

Room Tip: Gordon Lodge has a variety of rooms, from motel rooms to cottages to larger houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just returned from our weekend getaway to Door County. We have been coming to the "Door" for 10 years. This was our first time staying at Gordon Lodge and we were very impressed. The staff was soooooo friendly and helpful. When we got to the lodge we had a low tire, someone from the maintenance staff directed us to the air pump and filled our tire for us and checked the other three tires as well. Doors were constantly opened for us and we were offered help with our luggage at check in and at check out. I met the manager and he gave my daughter and I a golf cart ride around the property and told us about the history of the property and all the improvement that have been made. He said so many great things about his coworkers and the owners, I got the overwhelming feeling from everyone on property that they truly enjoy the lodge and working there.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and so much more than we expected, great bacon and sausage, tons of pastries, different egg dishes (made with REAL eggs) fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. We had blueberry pancakes one day and biscuits and gravy the next.

The grounds were amazing, Lake Michigan and the Bay that Gordon's Lodge is on is so beautiful. The landscaping was impeccable, and the natural setting was so relaxing. The Restaurant served great food (for lunch I recommend the BBQ pork sandwich and for diner I would say splurge and get the filet!)

We stayed in the main hotel and the sunset view from from our patio was breathtaking. Our room was fresh and clean. They have duvets that are piano key white, and the beds are comfortable. The TV channel choices are limited by the wi-fi was excellent so we were able to watch Netflix on our I pad.

The kids loved the kayaks and even went on a guided tour of North bay with tour guides stationed at the beach (there was an additional charge for this) The kids also enjoyed playing tennis and basketball and fishing from the pier. We knew that the pool and Hot tub would not be open during our stay when we made reservations, we were told there was a chance it would be open but unfortunately it was not. I was told by the staff that they were making improvements to the pool and deck and that normally it at the end of May.

Gordon's also had many bicycles to ride. The five of us had fun riding on the path's and even went on the trails with them.

Our friends stayed in one of the Adult only cottages and had a great time, there rooms came with a fireplace. The Adult only cottages are tucked away and have an amazing water view. My husband and I may make a trip back without the kids, if we do we are definitely staying there.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are great, Cottages located near the water looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My boys (ages 12 and 15) and I stayed at Gordons Lodge May 25-30, 2014. It was our second trip to Door County and our first one with Gordons Lodge. The Lodge was clean and the grounds beautiful. It is located on the Michigan side of Door County and off the beaten path of the tourist places on the bay side. Its location makes it a quiet and great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds. Gordons Lodge offers things to do on the resort property which is great when you are tired of dealing with the crowds from the bay side and still want to enjoy nature. The employees (namely Zachary and Barbara) are outstanding. Not only are they welcoming, but they show a genuine interest in your enjoyment of Door County. They are a great resource for ideas of what to do and where to eat.

My advice for anyone planning a stay at Gordons Lodge is to call ahead and see if what you plan to do on the premises is available/functional. It was a HUGE disappointment on check in (we checked in on Sunday of Memorial Weekend) to find out that the "heated pool and hot tub" described on-line was not functional. The website clearly states that the pool and hot tub are functional May through October. We checked in at the end of May and the pool and hot tub were closed. Excuses were offered by the staff (late spring, too much ice, etc.), but we all know that websites can be updated in nearly real-time and scheduled guests can be called or sent a note. The fact is that when you have a "heated" pool and hot tub, late springs really don't matter. My boys have swam outside in Colorado in a heated pool in January. When the website says it is open from May to October, it should be open, or guests notified and the website changed. I was clearly misled on this important fact (if you have boys or kids you will completely understand). The lodge made no accommodations to use a different resort's pool or hot tub and there was no discount made on the accommodations (or upgrade for that matter which should have been entirely possible considering the resort was far from capacity).

Gordons Lodge also has equipment for activities on site - bikes, kayaks, one paddle boat, and tennis. The bikes are 'iffy' and need major maintenance. It took the 3 of us 20 minutes to find three bikes that were functional, albeit still with issues. Many of the bikes have no brakes or have under-inflated tires. We found three bikes which we could use, although the bikes the boys rode had only partial functioning rear brakes (the front brakes were completely non-functional); my bike had brakes but the seat kept slipping down during riding and I would have to stop and re-raise the seat throughout the ride. That said, the trails throughout the woods on the property are beautiful and fun to ride. Tennis was fun and the courts are good.

I did point out the issues mentioned above to the front desk staff, but evidently they are powerless to do anything about anything. When I mentioned the huge disappointment of the pools/hot tub and the safety issues of the bikes (not such a big issue for my older boys, but potentially huge for smaller kids), I was told to fill out a comment card. One would think the front desk could take notes and pass them along.

It is to be noted that when we were at Gordons Lodge, the resort was fairly empty. I am sure this is because we were there early in the season, but with that fact, I would have thought there would be more attention paid to making each guest's stay more comfortable (seeing how the staff had the time). This property needs some TLC and the staff should have been happier to relay to maintenance what needed fixed (such as the bikes' brakes) rather than telling the guest to write out a comment card.

We stayed in the lodge and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The room was dated and needed some updating (especially the bathroom), but this is northern Wisconsin, so it isn't a big deal. This is a rustic place and fits an outdoor centered vacation.

Overall, this is a fabulous piece of real estate with a great dock, beach and trails through the woods. The staff is friendly and helpful as to local attractions and restaurants. I would stay here again, but would definitely call ahead to see what amenities are broken or less than functional during my planned stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited for a wedding and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The staff were all very friendly - especially Barb at the Front Desk. She did a great job of explaining all the amenities that are on site and she provided excellent support for our entire stay. There are bikes and kayaks available along with an awesome set of trails through the woods. The pier is a great place to watch the sunset and the onsite sports bar was a bonus. The staff there went out of their way to find the Hawks game on TV for our party. Additionally, a breakfast buffet was available each morning and provided a wide variety of choices. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time and will hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: Cabins are available for an additional fee; however, the rooms worked out just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I got married at Gordon Lodge and have been going back ever since. The scenery there is second to none. The only "problem" is that with all there is to do in Door County; it is easy to never want to leave the lodge. When we were there last Summer, we got up, played an hour of tennis (complimentary), then had an amazing breakfast at the event center (also complimentary). After a few hours of laying by the pool, we went kayaking (also complimentary). After lunch we went hiking on their amazing trails, and ended the night with a great dinner at Top Deck, listening to the live music they bring in, and finally sitting around their fire pit meeting new people just as impressed with the resort as we were.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRTKKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Door County to enjoy the fall colors and have a nice relaxing weekend. We got exactly what we needed! The grounds are beautiful with miles of easy hiking trails. They also have a great bar/restaurant on site with sweeping views of Lake Michigan. Their breakfast is served buffet style and all of the food was quite tasty. We are looking forward to going back in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
830 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
414 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
12 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
228 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Address: 1420 Pine Dr, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9421
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: £137 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing