We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Blacksmith Inn on the Shore was a great experience. Bryan Nelson and the staff made us feel so welcomed and cared for. Every T was crossed and every i dotted. The B&B has such a charming character to it and the views of Bailey's Harbor from the room are breathtaking. This is definitely one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at, we will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calebymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
169
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moon, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had a lovely time and thought the room was fantastic. From our room we looked out over Lake Michigan through the trees. One evening we walked out to sit on the private dock and found that even the deck checks there were a nice quality. Large bathroom, great whirlpool tub, hammock on the balcony, a mini-frig and the piece de resistance--a great fireplace! Additionally, although we didn’t use them, both bikes and kayaks are available gratis.

If I had any suggestion it would be to add a light in the closet. We both found it difficult to see inside due to the open closet doors cutting off the light from both sides.

A comment about breakfast: I noticed in many reviews that breakfast was a point of contention. I actually worried about this a little because my husband is a big breakfast fan. Well, ignore all of the detractors! The Inn very fairly explains exactly what to expect on their website and when making reservations; and what we received exceeded our expectations. Plus, my husband would trade nightly popcorn and cherry cookies for hot eggs any day of the week!

After checking out at the end of our stay, the receptionist noticed me gazing longingly at the coffee pot and handed me to two take-along cups for our ride home. Excellent service to the very end!

I have already passed your information on to numerous other people and you’ll most definitely be seeing us again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirlUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have stayed in both the Zahn and Harbor Houses. Both are great but we prefer the Harbor House rooms with their slightly more secluded feeling, wood floors, and view through the trees.

We have been visiting Door County for about 20 years and in my opinion this is the best place to stay if you aren't travelling with kids or need a pool. Previously we stayed more than a dozen times at a different inn (in Ephraim, another small town in Door County) but when the breakfast, ambiance, etc. went downhill, we decided to try the Blacksmith Inn. And are we glad we did!

The Blacksmith Inn is beautiful, cozy and spotless inside and out. The people that run it are really nice and helpful too. They offer free kayaks (it is a very short walk to the water) and bikes, and the included breakfast is very tasty (try their muffin recipes on the website to see what you are in for). The other breakfast items provided (including granola, fruit, coffee,and juices) are also of very high quality. The only suggestion I have would be to offer a hot egg dish in addition or instead of the hard cooked eggs. We love Door County and can hardly wait to return to this warm and inviting inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liketobake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Situated on the lake side of Door County (the non-touristy side), the Blacksmith Inn is a true gem. Quaint rooms with whirlpools, the deck overlooking the beach, and great breakfasts make this a must stay. Go in the summer, and you may be lucky enough to watch a real blacksmith working iron in the restored forge. If not, just grab a kayak and enjoy the quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilCzarnecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

If you are looking for the nicest, most friendly place to stay in Door county, this is it! Very relaxing, hot tub in every room, fantastic breakfast (and cookies). It has a beautiful view of the bay from your balcony. Walk out on the pier, ride bikes....it's all good. They will assist you in finding restaurants, shops, anything you need.
If you want cheap, I'm sure there is a Holiday inn somewhere with screaming kids....your choice.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. Check website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

A gorgeous setting, so tranquil looking out at the bay. The room was wonderfully appointed and the inn keepers are so helpful. They can steer you to fine dining or cross country skiing. I always love a romm with a fireplace and the double sinks in the bath please me. I also love the option of eating breakfast in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COTravelerBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This review may seem unfairly harsh, but it is based on our experience with B&Bs in the high $200/night (+$300 with tax) price range. Our room was on the third floor of the Zahn House and had a great view of Baileys Harbor (a plus) but if we had been on lower floors the view would have been reduced. Also, if you stay in the Harbor House your water views will be obstructed by trees, especially on the lower floors. I'll give their architect credit for managing to squeeze a room into what probably used to be an attic. A bit of a hodge-podge.

While it is very quiet, sleep quality is only average: beds just OK, and we should have brought our own pillows. About equal to a Marriott Fairfield.

The property is very small, with only one one interior common area, so if you are used to a B&B with a number of places to stretch out, read a book, or visit with friends, you won't find it here. The porch facing the lake is nice, weather permitting.

For us, the breakfast at a bed and BREAKFAST is a major feature. At this price, a full, hot breakfast, with at least some variety from day-to-day seems to be the norm. Every day at the Blacksmith Inn is the same continental "Carb Fest." (How many hard-boiled eggs can you eat to get some protein?) Yes, we loved the cookies and muffins, but their breakfast falls short of properties in this price range.

The staff was very nice and helpful and we used the laptop in the common room every day, another useful feature.

Overall, it boils down to the issue of value. We splurge 2 - 3 times a year and have no problem paying what we paid here. Just like to get a good value.

In case you think we are unfairly demanding, please see our review of The Carriage House at the Harbor, South Haven, MI. I guess we judge all B&Bs by this property, which is outstanding in all categories.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe_Drutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlacksmithInnkeeper, Owner at Blacksmith Inn On the Shore, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We thank this guest for his criticism. As hard as negatives are to swallow, they are frequently just as helpful as the positives. We did the "poof" test for down pillows and sure enough, their poof had pooped out. Every pillow in the inn has just been replaced with new 600 fill premium goose down pillows from Eddie Bauer Home.

We do serve a continental breakfast, but knowing this is not the expectation of all B&B guests, we make a concerted effort to ensure every guest is made aware in advance. Our web site has a full page devoted to the nature of our breakfast and our reservationists verbally point it out as well. We have friendly competitors who do serve made to order, sit down breakfasts and we are happy to recommend them when this is a priority for a potential guest. Our apologies if we somehow did not convey this information.

I would "pick a bone" over his comments concerning the views from the rooms he did not experience. Views of the lake from the Harbor House are through a stand of pines and birches, something we point out on our website and relate verbally, but we have many repeat guests who choose those rooms over and over again because they love the woodsy feel as well as the bird activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.6 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Property: Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing