We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wife and I wanted to visit Door County and found reviews for the Blacksmith Inn to be favorable and the description sounded as we would like it. Located right off the main drag highway 57 in Bailey's Harbor. The Inn is actually two buildings separated by a parking lot and lots of flowers. Upon checkin we were provided with a tour of the property describing the free use of the kayaks and paddle boards and ending up in the suite and descriptions of how to use the TV, refrigerator, jacuzzi and air conditioning. We were shown where the daily breakfast would be available and where the cookies, popcorn and coffee were located. The breakfast highlight is the fresh cooked muffin of the day as well as the home made granola, fruit, cereals and juices. Yummy home made cookies are always available 24/7 as is the coffee and tea. The rooms were spacious with a nice balcony overlooking Bailey's Harbor. The staff was great and the grounds had abundant flowers and were well cared for. We had a great time and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rd55127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were very warmly greeted by Mary on arrival and she was very eager to be helpful and make sure our stay was perfect. The restaurant she recommended was fantastic, the Harbor Fish Market and Grille, within walking distance of the inn. I only have a few small complaints, but for the price of the rooms, I feel that these things are quite important. The first would be a new bed in room #6, as the bed was quite squeaky whenever someone moved. The second complaint would be that obviously whoever planned the continental breakfast menu likes sweet things, because the only choice of something not sugary was an egg or processed cheese. I would expect for 300 dollars a night at a B&B either a cooked breakfast, or if need be, a continental breakfast with more choices for people who don't have a sweet tooth. At least plain yogurt or bread should be offered in addition to everything else. The only thing the inn cannot improve upon, and in my opinion would deter me from coming back in the future, is the close proximity to the road which has quite a lot of traffic. I couldn't hear the traffic inside the room, but it was a factor when we were on the very nice balcony. We longed just to hear the waves, but the traffic noise was much louder. So, for someone who has traveled a lot like me, in comparison to other B&Bs across the world, I would have to say the Blacksmith Inn is very nice, but too expensive for what they offer for breakfast and for the close proximity to the road.

Room Tip: The balconies on the top floor of the Zahn house are the biggest and have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Door County. We were only able to stay one night at the Blacksmith Inn but we had a wonderful time and it was well worth the stay. The inn keepers were very kind and helped us feel at home. The inn was great- loved that it was on Lake Michigan. We used their kayaks and enjoyed the view from the deck. There were bikes to ride but the rain kept us from them. The inn keepers were very nice and offered us the kayaks and bikes after we'd checked out. The oatmeal cherry cookies were great and breakfast hit the spot. It was a little rainy but we lounged in the hammock together and had a great time. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We spend three nights in Room #6. We were happy to find out the rooms have AC as it was unseasonably warm. We were on the third floor and had an amazing view of Lake Michigan from our large porch (with chairs and a 2 person hammock). The breakfast was a grab and go options from 8 to 10 with a pastry, Naked juices, hard boiled eggs, and homemade granola and a fruit option. Staff were personable and knowledgeable. We took advantage of the paddleboards (make sure you note the wind direction when you head out, getting back took twice as long), which was a fun way to check out the bay. It was nice to be on the quieter side of Door county and appreciated an outdoor concert across the street, and drinks at a nearby bar. They also have bikes and kayaks, which are free to use. The three galleries/shopping experiences we really enjoyed were The Blue Dolphin House in Ephraim, Edgewood Orchard Gallery in Fish Creek which is a must see (happened upon a free wine/apps evening with the artists), and Fine Line Designs Gallery in Ephraim.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahsoka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent three nights in Room #10 in Harbor House. Had a hard time trying to decide what room to take. All rooms have a great view of the Harbor so I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms. Our room was ground floor but still had a great view. We enjoyed the afternoon cookies. A few mornings we missed breakfast because we went out early Kayaking. When we returned the oatmeal cherry cookies took the place of the the muffins we had missed at breakfast. Enjoyed the popcorn in the afternoon. I would recommend going to the Pennisula Players to a see a play and taking the trolley wine tour. The wine trolley goes to four winerys then stops for lunch. You can sample the wines and don't have to drive. Also stop for a drink at Gordon Lodge which is not to far away. It has great views of the water.

Room Tip: Harbor House all rooms have hammacks. We had a ground floor room and it was fine. Zahn house only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jupitertravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Inn in Room #2 and it was fantastic. Everything there accents the "Up North" experience. The view of the water was great, the room was comfortable and nicely decorated, the fresh-baked muffins, cookies and such were superb. This was a honeymoon trip and we are definitely going back. It's a couples only environment and the staff is intentionally transparent. They are there if you need them, but generally invisible. Bailey's Harbor is on the Lake Michigan side and has more of a laid back feel than the western side of the penninsula. If you just need to unwind as a couple, this is a great place to do it.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings. We stayed in the Zahn House. The Zahn house doesn't appear to have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place met exceeded all expectations! I do recommend the 2nd floor rooms in both buildings. Great breakfast, great lemonade, and great water available for activities. We brought our own kayaks and bikes. They do have both for all customers. We will for sure be going back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor great. Newer building has bigger decks and shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
409 reviews
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
809 reviews
18.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
242 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Inn
Beachfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: £110 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing