We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and relaxation in Door County”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfort and relaxation in Door County”
Reviewed 22 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend on our first trip to Door County. Blacksmith Inn is located on what many consider the quieter side of the peninsula, which was a bonus as far as we were concerned.

We stayed in the Harbor House portion of the Inn on the first floor. The other portion, the Zahn house, is where the inn office is located. Our room was very nicely sized, with a nice porch looking out at the harbor. The king sized bed was firmer then we are used to, but we have that issue in every hotel we go to since our own bed is not firm. The bed and linens were much better than almost every other place we have ever stayed. The bathroom was large. We each had our own sink. The whirlpool tub near the fireplace was large and deep, better than other hotels by far.

Breakfast was available from 8 to 10 am each morning in the lobby of the Harbor House, as well as the lobby of the Zahn House. The warm homemade muffins are delicious. The bowl of fresh cut fruit (strawberries one day, pineapple the other) were perfectly in season. I used the yogurt, fruit, and homemade granola to create my own yogurt parfait for breakfast one morning. In addition there were hard-boiled eggs and individual boxes of cereal available. The coffee was fresh and refilled frequently. Various teas and cocoas are also available.

The staff was very friendly yet unobtrusive. They constantly restocked the popcorn bowl and cookie jars in the lobby, as well as refilling breakfast items as needed. Our room was very clean and items there were restocked if needed.

While there were fewer shops and restaurants on this side of the peninsula, the other side is just a short drive away. It was nice to go over there, yet come back to a quieter, less bustling area to relax.

The Inn has a few different bikes available for guest use as well as kayaks and a small sailboat. In winter, they also have snowshoes available. We did not get the chance to take advantage of any of those items on this trip, but will the next time.

I strongly recommend the Blacksmith Inn for a comforting and peaceful stay in Door County. We will stay there any time we visit Door County.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraMomandWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
171
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We've stayed here for years! It never disappoints. It is a welcome escape from everyday. Being on the quiet side of Door County, you are already prepared to relax and once you enter the Inn it is inevitable.

It starts with the Oatmeal cherry cookies that I crave. The welcome from the professional but warm staff makes us feel like family. We've been in a number of rooms over the years and each has it's charm. The views of the bay are stunning with chairs beckoning at the end of the pier. At night you can do some quality stargazing from your balcony. Then there are the yummy muffins, fresh fruit and hot coffee which never ends to start the day. I have to force myself to get going or I could easily just spend the day on the deck with a good book and the coffee! I look forward to our visit here every year!

  • Liked — I can't pick one! Location, friendly staff & innkeepers, great room features....
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at Blacksmith Inn and had a wonderful time at the Inn & exploring Door County! We stayed in the historic Zahn house and found it to be much more than we expected! We loved the feel of the historic house, very comfortable room & bed, wonderful view of the harbor (we stayed on the 2nd floor), loved the homemade muffins with breakfast, loved that the Inn is part of the Green program and composts, uses recycled toilet paper, green cleaning products, ect. The Inn has kayaks for use, as well as bikes (including a tandem bike). The property was extremely well landscaped & maintained with beautiful flowers, rope swing, and dock out to the harbor. Great location to explore Door County and would highly recommend this Inn for relaxation. Staying on the "quiet side" or Door County during the off-season is a must!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AMI-GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Il
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2008

When you stay at the Inn, you will experience TLC with panache! They have missed nothing in their renovations, decor and attention to details on every level. The beds are fantastic, the location is perfect and the owner goes out of his way to accomodate any request. You will feel pampered, well-fed and well-rested as a result!!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Leaving the room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvySweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We selected the Blacksmith Inn on a whim-it can be a difficult choice with so many places available to stay in Door County. My husband and I weren't disappointed.

The Inn is a beautifully restored historic building with all the amenities. It sits on the main street of Baileys Harbor for easy access to shops and dining while the rear of the Inn faces the harbor. Each room has a private balconey to enjoy the scenic waters of Lake Michigan.

The continental plus breakfast including home baked pastries uses locally grown Door County cherries and is just right to start the day. Coffee is always on and the cookie jar is always full.

We loved this place and hated to leave.

  • Liked — Friendly, comfortable place to come back to after exploring Door County.
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing (maybe a little more sunshine during our stay).
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelinCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Blacksmith Inn for our first anniversary and loved every minute of it.

We were in Room 13 in the Zahn House. The room was, in a word, perfect. The decor was lovely, and even better than the pictures on the inn's website. It was just very inviting. The linens and bed were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also great. We had a double vanity and plenty of space. We loved the fireplace -- it was really convenient just to flip it on and enjoy. It was also fairly warm one morning, and so we got to use the hammock on our balcony as well. The grounds are beautiful and the lobby was very nice as well. Everything was also very clean.

It was also extremely private, which you don't always get at a small inn. Everyone was friendly, but generally left us alone.

It was great to be on the "quiet" side of the county and just take a short drive over to the other towns.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone interested in visiting Door.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Recently stayed four nights at the Blacksmith. We used it as a base of operations to go to a Packers game (just about an hour away), and explore Door County. This is a charming property!

First off, the inn consists of two buildings, the main inn, built in the late 1800s I believe, and the Zahn house next door, built fairly recently. Our room was in the Zahn house, in the far corner on the ground floor. This meant that we had very little water view. That was OK, but we had a chance to look at two rooms in the main inn and they are much nicer, IMO. All rooms have big whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, and our room had lovely wide plank wood floors and a nice queen size four post bed, but the bathroom was weird. It was almost institutional and although there was plenty of room, only one sink. The other rooms' bathrooms that we saw were nicer.

One advantage of being in the 'other' building, however, is privacy. A lovely, lovely breakfast is served in the lobby of both buildings every morning, and it's nice having that available with no innkeepers or a large number of guests milling about. The main inn has a large porch where guests can sit and I think the noise and activity there might have bothered me if I had been staying in the main inn.

The muffins, fresh fruit, organic yogurt, organic coffee, are all wonderful. The popcorn and cookies set out each night are a special treat. The gardens are beautiful.

The bed and linens were very comfortable and nice. But no bathrobes! This surprised us immensely as we stayed at two other inns in Wisconsin during our stay that were not as nice or expensive and they had robes. Also shampoo and lotion, but no hair conditioner, which was a little strange.

Room temp was a little bit of a problem. The fireplace causes the room to almost immediately get way too hot. But without it, the room is too cold. This left us with the option of keeping the fireplace on while opening the patio door, which was a little odd, but worked out pretty well.

We liked the bay side of door county, but found the lake side to be a touch warmer and more comfortable, and the dining options far superior. I would definitely return to the Blacksmith for the lovely rooms and breakfast, as well as the great amenities (bikes, kayaks), but I might consider the Whistling Swan in Fish Creek next time. We ate dinner there and liked it a lot.

  • Liked — Privacy, lovely room, breakfasts
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
6.8 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
744 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
8.6 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
203 reviews
18.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Inn
Beachfront Inn
#2 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Property: Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing